We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When things go wrong!”
Review of Gorse Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gorse Hill
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Woking
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“When things go wrong!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I believe a good hotel should be judged on how they put right failures in service delivery and the De Vere staff did just that. Our buffet breakfast on the first morning was awful. Cold food which had not been refreshed and was past its best. The acting manager was disinterested in our complaint but the Food and Beverages Supervisor did all she could. Complementary cheese board and prosecco were followed by deduction of the offending breakfasts and bottle of wine on the house.
The hotel is pleasantly located in the Surrey countryside with a terrace facing tennis courts. Free wifi and tea/cofee machine in the lounge and complementary biscuits. We were in the Lodge and whilst it looked a little tired and the double bed was just that but which was very comfortable, things were more than adequate. The bathroom had bath and shower.There was tea and coffee making facilities. We were facing a busy lane but the traffic noise was minimal. The staff were very friendly and Angela made our stay enjoyable despite the bad start! We were there on a De Vere deal so all in all it turned out to be a successful trip.

Room Tip: Stay in the main House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    128
    122
    56
    37
See reviews for
83
183
22
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 2 nights for a friends wedding. I was booked into the courtyard building which was the middle priced room, £69 per night which I think was a wedding discount price. The room was ample enough, however ridiculously hot with only one very small window and in the middle of the heat wave. Reception very quickly provided a tower fan when I asked if there was anything they could do. The bathroom was huge, a big plus, however the toilet roll holder a little to far away to reach, but other than that I was very pleased for the price. The main part is where the wedding itself was held with the reception, wedding breakfast and evening disco all in the same room but completely transformed between each thing and it was also breakfast in the mornings too! The gardens are lovely, however I expected them to be a lot bigger. Some friends stayed in the main building and I have to say those rooms are very garish and do not suit the country mansion thing that is the image that is given across. The staff were absolutely amazing, and special note to the lady that seemed to be in charge of organising the whole day who said she left at 3am after the wedding, she must have been there from at least 10am, I suspect a lot earlier, and was back in at 6.30am, she was so helpful and kind throughout the whole day.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A nice, upmarket hotel owned by the DeVere group and used by many large organisations for conferences.

The rooms are comfortable, although my room was rather small. Bed was great and bathroom facilities fine. Breakfast was included and adequate, rather than outstanding.

I was based in Surrey on business for 4 months but did not return to this hotel often as they were not prepared to offer a market-based business rate - I found better hotels in the area, with nicer rooms, better views, better breakfasts for a better rate. Negotiating business rates with this hotel chain has to be done through their head office, the local hotel manager seemingly has no jurisdiction, and the process is very impersonal.

I would only stay here if the others hotels were full.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

have stayed in woking a number of times and always choose this hotel. not in the town centre and surrounded by trees and quiet roads - along with lots of wild life.
not the most amazing hotel in the world, but the best Woking has to offer.. if only it had a gym...

Room Tip: the lodge is away from main house and generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaciecadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel choices in and around Woking are not great, however I chanced on the captivating De Vere Gorse Hill, just 2-3 miles from our office in Woking. A truly delightful hotel with wonderful architecture and a magnificent, almost parkland, setting. Very quiet and intimate, the service is discrete and confident and all of the old charm of this magnificent place has been kept. I stayed in the "old House", part of the original building and my room (number 11) was perfect. Not a great view, as looked out onto the courtyard (room 12 has the better view across the corridor) but the room was great. Dinner was a revelation. A limited fixed 2 or 3 course offer at around £19 or £22 per head. The choices may have been limited (5 or 6 for each course) but more than adequate and the quality of the food was excellent. A real bonus as so often hotel restaurant food is a disappointment. Breakfast was great too. I must mention the lady who looked after us (a colleague and a business guest) for dinner. Her service was impeccable and she was a rel credit to the hotel and her industry - quiet, polite, knowledgeable and a good sense of humour. The room was cheaper than the local Holiday Inn in centre of Woking. Overall, a great little find. Only one complaint - last week is was hot for the UK, damn hot in fact. No air con and no fan in the room was a struggle - the only improvement I can think of? Store a fan in the wardrobe for hot nights, it will be greatly appreciated and is a small investment for guest comfort on those odd barmy nights we sometimes get in the UK :)

Room Tip: Old house, front of the hotel for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Was lucky to be booked into the hotel for one night through work. When the can pulled up I was delighted. The grounds superb. Booked in after 21:00 and was told the kitchen was closed so couldn't order a snack. Asked if breakfast was included and told no it was just room. When received booking confirmation at work the next day it included a evening meal and breakfast. I know that as I was there for 1 night and booked through work I wasn't a regular or stayed in more expensive room but still should have got their facts right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachdrifteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding reception, and had no reasons to complain. The setting for the Hotel is very nice, with ample grounds to go for a walk. The tennis courts were being used for parking, so not sure if that is temporary or not? The hotel has a main building and also a lodge with several rooms at the entrance to the drive in. We had a room facing the road and as we would be sleeping about 2mtres from the road we expected some noise. But, to be honest we had no noise problems at all, even though it was a Monday morning the road was still very quiet. These hotels do have a lot of large parties, i.e. wedding receptions, conferences so not sure how it would be for a couple on their own.

Room Tip: If you have a room in the lodge, park at reception to check in, then move your car to the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike504170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woking
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
1.8 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
382 reviews
6.1 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Woking Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorse Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorse Hill

Property: Gorse Hill
Address: Gorse Hill Hook Heath Road, Woking GU22 0QF, England (Formerly De Vere Gorse Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Woking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gorse Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gorse Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorse Hill Woking, Surrey
Gorse Hill Hotel Woking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing