We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait until August” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse Cafe Bar

The Boathouse Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small waterfront café and restaurant situated a five minute walk from the ferry terminal on the Island of Gigha.Wines, beers, ales and a varied menu with an emphasis on local seafood.Showers and laundry facilities also available on site from adjacent campsite.
Stockport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't wait until August”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having been regular visitors to The Boathouse for the last 7 years we were worried that the new owners would spoil the main selling point - delicious fresh simple local seafood in an idyllic setting. Nothing to fear. The choice is vast and everything is beyond delicious. The chef is extremely talented and is able to let the main ingredients shine whilst providing spectacular accompaniments.
A bit more expensive than previously but worth it.
My only worry is that we won't be able to eat here as much as we want due to the deserved popularity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaFerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    42
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Try this once, remember it for years...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This must be close to the top of the many excellent west coast restaurants. We stopped for just a light lunch off the boat and what we had and what we saw at other tables made us want to stay for more. A delight of harvest from the sea and our second visit. Great staff, great service as well. Make this your measure of what seafood should be like and how it should be served. And sit outside if you can, with the waves lapping on the shore and a taste of the sea on your plate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCAW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and wonderful food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful island Gigha is and the Boathouse is a hidden gem. Two of us arrived for lunch. The choice of seafood and other dishes was exceptionally good. My wife had warm salmon with scrambles eggs and I had the smoked fish dish with salmon, trout and mackerel. Delicious! I would recommend the Boathouse to any visitors to the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is one the 'hidden gems' you often hear about which we were very lucky to find. Visited Gigha for the day, the ferry was only £14 return for the car and passengers £4.20 which is very reasonable for the 20 minute trip. The menu is very extensive and you will find something for all pockets. We had the 1/2 lobster for £12 and the prawn platter for £9. When the food arrived we were very surprised to find such top class food on an Island at a very reasonable cost. As mentioned in other reviews the only problem is trying to choose something from the extensive menu, but whatever you choose you will not be disappointed. Staff very friendly and if the weather is OK you can eat outside which has a fantastic view over the bay. Well worth a visit and we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

On a wet and rather miserable day we decided to head off and explore one of the closest islands to the Scottish mainland, the Isle of Gigha. Following a short ferry trip from Tayinloan we arrived on Gigha. As we drove off the ferry the rain was very evident, however we were not deterred. A short journey later we were at the north end of the island. Even in the rain it was spectacular and we could only imagine how the is;land would look in glorious sunshine. Our solitude was broken only by the arrival off shore of an otter playing in the water and as we watched it throw fish into the air and catch it in its mouth we ourselves turned to the need to eat. The Boathouse was where we ended up and we were not to be disappointed. With a very extensive menu we chose both the lobster and the rib eye steak. Both were cooked to perfection and the staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Excellent food, pleasant surroundings and staff, made the trip all the more worth while. Stunning scenery and only a short trip away makes this a worth while visit to make.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanthesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Cafe Bar also viewed

Isle of Gigha, The Hebrides
 

Been to The Boathouse Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing