We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gigha Hotel's 'Steadings' Self Catering properties”
Review of Gigha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gigha Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Gigha
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Gigha is a secluded island retreat in Scotland less than 30 minutes ferry journey from the mainland.
Its silver coral sand gives the beaches a tropical quality as a blanket of peace lands on you melting away all the frosty dark cares of the outside world. Subtropical plants are dotted around the island with a formal garden at Achamore.
It still has a quality of being unspoiled and could fool you into believing that you have been transported back in time away from the maddening world of today.
There are a number of self catering properties on Gigha, but the hotel has three very new abodes called The Steadings.
We stayed in The Byre. Sleeps six. It is minimalist in its design and offers every standard convenience and a low maintenance interior.
The road to The Steadings is not tarmacked but this gives a hightend sense of having trully escaped from the motorway of life. There is a fork in the road to The Steadings, if you walk down it and then across a couple of hills to the right you find yourself looking down on a very secluded white sandy cove. It takes about 8 - 10 minutes from where we were staying. A great place to enjoy a relaxing sunny afternoon.
A golden eagle gave The Steadings a fly past on at least four occasions.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. They did everything to to ensure a comfortable enjoyable stay, including a welcome hamper when we arrived.
On our last full day, a helicopter landed at the hotel, its occupant stopping for lunch.
We were blessed with beautiful weather every day.
A beautiful escape, that I look forward to repeating.
Their website; http://www.gighaselfcatering.co.uk/steadings.asp

Room Tip: The Byre sleeps six, the Barn sleeps four and the stable sleeps two [with a jacuzzi].
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonMcGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

I was walking the 'kintyre way' and took a day off to visit Ghiga. This was the first accommodation I found on the island and luckily they had a spare room. Lovely clean room, well equipped, very friendly staff who allowed a weary hiker to check in early to allow me to dry my clothes and to get a hot shower. Dinner was nice but I feel was overpriced. The bar area is very traditional and you get to meet plenty of locals. Everyone is very friendly and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Gigha Hotel has self catering accomodation about a mile from the hotel, we stayed in the Stable which is a lovely little bolthole v luxurious with a jacuzzi bath and v tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppygrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed in the hotel with my brother. Had three day window off work, and initially planned a climbing expedition to Skye. Due to ghastly weather forecast saw that Gigha appeared to be only good spot within reach. We were not disappointed, great weather, and treated ourselves to a proper roof over our heads. Hotel is as described by previous postitive reviews. Clean, friendly, great value, excellent food for two hungry blokes, and the best tasting (and priced) pint I've had in a long time. Not quite the wife's usual choice (no hot tub, or leisure club!!) but excellent for a last minute "Man-cation" Small island so limited to wandering, swimming, visiting Garden's etc. All fine by me!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prolugless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We called into Gigha Hotel for lunch, despite being able to smell the deep fat fryer from outside. The soup of the day was Celery, Celeriac, Broccoli and Cauliflower with Gigha bread and it was absolutely tasteless. So much so we couldn't finish it. When we mentioned that it wasn't good we were asked if we had told anyone, which seemed a strange thing to say when that was what we were doing! If this an example of the standard of food on offer on the island then it very disappointing to say the least. We certainly would not advise anyone to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gighahotel, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Thank you for allowing us to look a the problems you had with your meal at the Gigha Hotel. We endeavour to provide quality food which we would like everyone that eats at the hotel to enjoy. Unfortunately we did not meet your needs and for this we apologise, and will look into the matter at once.
We do take all complaints very seriously and will discuss this with the team members to see what went wrong. Once again our apologies for your dissatisfaction.

Kind regards

Colin & Rachael Johnston
Gigha Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

What can I ay about this hotel,it's small,rooms v clean but a wee bit dated but this is a very small - point,
My room was very good for the price,bathroom had a bath and over bath shower,the shower was a wee bit weak on power,Food great all local produce, bar prices ok, breakfast was superb,The staff were great,but on arrival was met with an hello and here is your key and the room is that way.
The Hotel location is very good, close to golf course.
Value for money 11 out of 10.

Room Tip: one facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gighahotel, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we must apologise that you were not shown to your room on arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Gigha and of course to the hotel.

Kind regards

Colin & Rachael Johnston
Gigha Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Hotel easy to get to - within walking distance of ferry. Well maintained gardens to sit outside. Met by friendly staff and pleased to find that despite late booking we had sea view. The bedroom had been wel loved and was a little tired but it was perfectly comfortable and clean and had all facilities to make our stay pleasant. Food was excellent, well cooked fresh local produce (sea food delicious). Viewed the island in all weather conditions -sun and rain - enjoyed it all - very quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Perfect break away tonic.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a18frg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Gigha
21.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
60 reviews
16.7 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
281 reviews
19.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
467 reviews
18.2 mi away
Port Askaig Hotel
Port Askaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Askaig
230 reviews
23.7 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigha Hotel

Address: Argyll, PA41 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Gigha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Gigha
Price Range: £19 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly hotel on small, quiet Scottish island 3 miles off the west coast on the Kintyre peninsula. 20 minute crossing from mainland on regular Calmac ferry. Locally sourced produce used in our kitchen, also local products sold within the hotel. Just 2.5 hours from Glasgow. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gigha Hotel Isle Of Gigha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing