We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, friendly staff.”
Review of Gigha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gigha Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Gigha
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Had a couple of lunches here, nice toasties and baskets of chips with a view to die for. Staff were pleasant and service was reasonably quick (even though we hit the lunchtime rush). Outside picnic benches with a view over the water to the main land are worth just stopping for a drink or a coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilThomas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed in the ardminish suite and have to say the room was fine nothing special and my pet hate is two single beds joined together masquerading as a king size! Please will someone get the message that if doing that at least use a mattress topper to at least help mask the join. The addition of a separate lounge was very nice but to be honest we didnt use it as we stayed out until quite late but it did look ok not luxurious just ok. The bathroom however is awful a mixer tap thst doesnt quite work and the because of the slopping ceiling made it difficult to stand up to shower either ditch the bath or ditch the shower but dont try and combine both plus the absence of a shower curtain means it really is just meant as a bath. The food was ok not great and arrived under cooked but I know its the locals who are running the hotel so feel bad about being so negative so to end on a positive this is not a bad hotel I just don't think the money for the suite is worth it so book a room instead. The staff are lovely very friendly and definetly go to gigha and stay here as it's not called God's isle for nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeanyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We recently spent a night at the Gigha hotel, and although agree with other reviewers the rooms were a bit tired, they were clean and comfortable. The staff were all lovely and friendly, from Valerie in reception to the attentive waiting staff. We spent the latter part of the afternoon, in the spacious beer garden, looking over the beautiful clear water, as the Cal Mac Ferry sailed to and from the mainland, on a beautiful sunny day.
We had booked for a party of 4, but due to last minute work commitments, we were only 3, and although we were more than happy to pay for 4, we were only charged for 3, what a lovely gesture.
Breakfast was superb, freshly cooked local produce,
Added bonus for us, was the opportunity to take our Golden Retriever, to a lovely hotel on a beautiful island. "God's Isle"
Thanks- we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Staying on the isle of Gigha, I found out that the shop was definitely closed and I had no other options but to eat at the over expensive Boathouse or in the hotel. I found the food there rather poor and ordinary, not much vegetables, frozen industrial chips etc. But I did appreciate the kindness and helpfulness of the staff and the cook, who made a special dish for me with rice and vegetables.
What I am less happy about is that In the absence of the shop, as they advertise that they provide some goods to take away, I came one afternoon to buy a bottle of water as a take away and had to pay more than 3£ for it. It must have been the most expensive water I ever bought, that was an expensive alternative to the tap water which has an awful chlorine taste.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank PipingAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

What a great place to visit. Although the rooms are a bit in need of decorating the hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. The food is absolutely fantastic better than any 4 star hotel I have visited.the island is beautiful with great walks and fantastic views

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Friendly staff. Food good enough but not great. Public rooms and bedrooms are very dated and bedding is in need of an update. However, the setting if brilliant and the cost reflects the room standard.

Room Tip: Room 3 is sunny and has brilliant views over the harbour and bay - even from the bathroom window! Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

3rd trip to the lovely Isle of Gigha and the Gigha Hotel. Such a friendly place people make you feel so welcome. The hotel serves excellent freshly cooked food and the room was clean and comfortable. Staff go out of their way to be helpful. As they are all local they are a mine of useful information and advice. The location is stunning. There is nothing nicer and more relaxing than sitting outside with a cool drink watching the boats in the bay and the wonderful scenery. We really chill out and relax there. The island is stunning and we can highly recommend the hotel, the Achamore gardens and the gallery where there is usually an exhibition on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank confer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gighahotel, Front Office Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Gigha
17.8 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
455 reviews
21.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
48 reviews
18.6 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Campbeltown
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
276 reviews
23.7 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigha Hotel

Address: Argyll, PA41 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Gigha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Gigha
Price Range: £66 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly hotel on small, quiet Scottish island 3 miles off the west coast on the Kintyre peninsula. 20 minute crossing from mainland on regular Calmac ferry. Locally sourced produce used in our kitchen, also local products sold within the hotel. Just 2.5 hours from Glasgow. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gigha Hotel Isle Of Gigha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing