We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
186
177
64
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
177
64
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalibutnight breaklovely islandself cateringitison dealshort breakwelcoming staffbed was comfortabledinner menuenjoyed our staywell worth a visitvery pleasant staylovely foodthe hotel is cleangreat wee hotelsmall islandachamore gardens
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I had a one night stay on Gigha using a great dinner +B&B offer deal the hotel had on. My room was cosy with a great view over the water. The staff were friendly, the dinner and breakfast were both very tasty. And the bar stocked some unusual ales.
The Island was a delight to explore by bike over 2 half-days, and the ferry over was fun. All-in, I had a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Views from Rooms over the water toward the mainland are gorgeous - esp sunrise.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Swaff_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GighaHotel2015, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you I hope we will see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

The Gigha Hotel isn't upmarket or luxurious, but is ideally located (2 minutes from the ferry, 1 minute from the shop/post office, with craft shop next door), and the staff and locals made us feel really welcome. It offered us what we needed - a base for exploring the island, a clean and comfortable room, good food, a bar, a snooker room, TV, juke box, friendly and helpful staff - ideal for a one or two night stay. We were on a deal from '5pm' which made our trip really good value.

Room Tip: Most rooms will have a nice view, and there's not enough traffic for any of them to be noisy, so just take your pick !!
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PeterGardner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Booked last minute get away and it was the best value for money we have had in a long, long time. The new chef is superb and the hotel has a great menu and wine list. Do yourself a favour and jump on the ferry to Gigha!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kennym225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GighaHotel2015, Owner at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you for such a nice feedback. We planning a lot more events for you so keep in touch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Cottage was well equipped. However the advertisement boasts “sit in the lounge with your favourite tipple and watch the ferry coming and going and yachts coming into the pier”. Oh dear!! This was not possible due to the height of the unkept hedge in front of the window. The view could only be admired from the upstairs windows or walking out onto the road.
The advert swung my decision to book the cottage and to this end my husband and I were very disappointed. The Gigha Hotel or owner of the cottage seriously need to trim back the hedge and maintain the garden. Please see attached photo from lounge window.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mags10129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GighaHotel2015, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Hello

We are well aware that the hedge needs cutting back. But the Hedge is not our to cut back. It a farmer that say the hedge need to lake that to keep stock in.
We are still trying to reason with him. The Garden is another task that has been stopped by poor weather this year and the ground man on the Isle stopped work this year and we have not been able to get a replacement yet. Very Sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Great Value 5pm deal . Tasty food , nice wee bar with very friendly locals . The bedroom very tired . Easy low cost fix with a lick of paint and replace dirty stained carpet with vinyl . What a difference that would make .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stuart168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GighaHotel2015, Owner at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for feed back. We have started a full refurbishment on all bedrooms and Bathrooms. 32 new windows and a new boiler have been fitted. We took over a failing Hotel in 2015. We have been working on making the hotel wind and water tight first. Now the bedrooms and Bathrooms with new plumbing required. If you know of any cheap quality suppliers. We do not intend a low cost fix. So I am sure you will see a different hotel when you return.
But we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews