We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & comfy, helpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarinish Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Scarinish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Isle of Tiree
Perthshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean & comfy, helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

In a great location overlooking the harbour, from the outside the hotel shows the signs of many years facing the onslaught of Atlantic storms. Inside, however, the bedroom was very clean, recently redocrated, with comfortable beds and tea/coffee facilities. No en-suite for our room although we had sole use of the bathroom over the hall. Bathroom really could do with an upgrade but it was clean. Breakfast, simple but plenty of it, was spot on for our day of cycling around the island in glorious sunshine for the weekend. The staff were really helpful, took care of our kit until our rooms were ready, and allowed us to lock our bikes away each night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    41
    34
    15
    15
See reviews for
24
45
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Excellent very clean room overlooking the beautiful harbour at Scarinish.
Ideal base for exploring Tiree
Food was excellent, particularly the seafood.
Hearty breakfast and efficient helpful staff.

Stayed over the weekend 24th -26th August 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Review as a non resident for restaurant and bar only. The restaurant has stunning views over Scaranish Harbour and Bay and a window table is recommended. Our meals were of good quality, in particular the smoked haddock fish cakes, although we felt that is was slightly overpriced. The service was average but felt that the staff could be more attentive and smile more when greeting guests. (A smile does not cost anything!) The bar is very homely and welcoming. The locals make an effort to engage with the tourists. I was slightly concerned about previous reviews written on trip advisor regarding the bar but have found these to be inaccurate based on my own experiences. The bar staff are great, especially Caroline, who always wears a smile! Well worth popping in for a pint or wee dram.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Only used the bar and not for food as even the bar is pretty dismal. The impression that the shabbiness of the building gives did not make me want to eat there. Only one type of beer and even that poured really slowly. Barmaid was polite but definitely not friendly and looked absolutely miserable every time we were in over the week we were on the island so it wasn't a case of having an off day. The building has several ugly extensions and it's an absolute carbunkle in such a stunning location, there are so many extensions that you can't immediately work out where the entrance doors are. Problem is, there's really no competition on the island, so it seems not much effort is put in to making it a great place to visit. However, I only drank in the bar so only had drinks, no food, didn't stay in the rooms and only met the bar staff. To be fair the barman was friendly and pleasant, it was just the barmaid that was dour. Place is underwhelming in an overwhelmingly beautiful location, such a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had the misfortune of staying at the Scarinish on business and was really very disappointed. Tiree is a beautiful island and should do all it can to attract tourists from the mainland. Instead I was greeted with a dirty and run-down reception area and an even worse room. Everything about the room was terrible, from the broken fixtures and fittings to the trickle of water that constituted a shower. It was quite possibly the worse room I have ever stayed in. The television could not even be plugged in to the wall without moving the desk 4 feet towards my bed! My breakfast was average but took over half an hour to arrive. The location of the hotel is beautiful and the Scarinish could really transform itself in to a lovely place to stay. But it needs to undergo major refurbishment first….

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuriousdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We ate twice at the Scarinish over two weeks - both times we were pushed to a later sitting and both times various courses had run out. The first dinner the Crab Claws were finished - on the second most of the main courses had run out - leaving one of four options on the "specials" menu left.

On the second meal the starters were absolutely excellent (two Crab Claws and one Smoked haddock soup - with maple syrup); the Crab was fresh, juicy and loads of claws ..... really excellent; the soup (my choice) was very, very good and the maple syrup actually added a lot to the taste despite my initial misgivings! For the main courses - the lamb was finished, there was only one portion of the Gammon left and my daughter and I were offered steaks "without the £5 supplement". So out of two steaks, one Gammon and one poached salmon the main courses were universally disappointing - rather like eating out back in the 70's. The steaks felt as if they had been frozen (despite the flowing description of local beef and if Argyll beef could not be sourced then Scottish beef would be used), the Gammon was pretty boring with 1/2 a canned peach on the top and the Salmon so dry and uninspiring my wife asked for some mayonnaise to liven it up. The menu descriptions were wonderful but the menu artiste had clearly not had to eat what we were served. Very sad - and I left glad I did not have to have an argument about having the £5 supplement added.

As a contrast - the last meal I had out was in Kigali, Rwanda .......... I had lamb chops and paid for myself and 7 guests. The food was excellent and the price about one-third of what I paid in Tiree for 2 adults and 2 under 16 year olds'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

It is true to say that from the outside the Scarinish is a little bit rough round the edges but it is situated in the best location on the island, absolutely idyllic. Inside you will find a warm welcome from the friendly staff, clean and very comfortable rooms and excellent food. Watching the moon rise over the harbour from the upstairs residents lounge was just amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Tiree
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Iona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dervaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Scarinish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarinish Hotel

Property: Scarinish Hotel
Address: Isle of Tiree, PA77 6UH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Tiree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Isle of Tiree
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Scarinish Hotel Isle Of Tiree, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing