We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful place to relax and enjoy with privacy”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SamKelly2...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful place to relax and enjoy with privacy”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is the second time we have been to Yr Hen Llaethdy and loved it both times. Situated adjacent to the owners' farmhouse it remains private, with help to hand if needed (not that we did), and a very warm welcome from the outset. There is no expense spared in the furnishings or comfort with everything we needed to hand. The hot tub is a favourite, and the canopy means that meals outside are lovely even when its a bit chilly or damp. This suits us because we like to be a little remote but not too far from local amenities and attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped/furnished
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon heaven”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We decided on this barn as our honeymoon. It was perfect. The barn, the surroundings, the garden..... Everything!!! We took our little pug Colin and the garden was perfect for him. It is fully enclosed so he could wander around. Although it is a working farm you do not get disturbed. I have seen some negative comments about the wifi. We didn't even try it as we were on holiday and had no need for it. Joy and rod were always there when needed but didn't intrude. I would highly recommend this holiday let to anyone. And one last thing... Buy the eggs!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful,modern barn conversion brilliant for children of all ages.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at this beautiful barn conversion mid- August, with two children aged 8 & 16 so it's not easy finding somewhere they will both like.
The location is very remote but this only adds to the feeling you away from it all.Surrounded by cattle,donkeys and other farm animals it's a brilliant location for people who enjoy wildlife and love being outside.
The barn itself is stunning, no expense is spared the kids loved jumping in the hot tub in the evening then playing on the swing in the lovely courtyard while I cooked our evening meal in the massive kitchen.
The bedrooms are spotless and extremely comfortable.There is a utility room great for muddy wellies and washing clothes.The main lounge is lovely with a 3D TV and a wood burning stove which was gorgeous crackling away at night.
As for things to do there's loads, newcastle emlyn itself is so pretty with lovely tea rooms and gift shops. New Quay is about 30 mins away a lovely seaside town with dolphin spotting boat trips. Folly Farm is around 50 mins away but a fantastic day out for kids and adults alike.
The owners were so kind leaving my daughters a goody bag filled with biscuits,chocolate, sweets and jam which they were thrilled with.
We cannot wait to return it was so relaxing and stress free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and swing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mole-1978
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing! Did not want to come home!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our first family holiday in the UK and wow it was great. From the minute we stepped into the barn we knew we would have a good week. I am a bit "fussy" when it comes to properties and cleanliness etc but I needn't have worried, it was the cleanest and most luxurious property we have stayed in in a long time. We loved the hot tub, 3d television and the massive shower to name but a few. The kitchen was enormous and had everything you'd ever need to practice your culinary skills. It was reassuring to have an enclosed garden as with small children it can be a worry about them wandering off into the farm. We all loved saying hello to the animals daily and Rod (property owner) was even kind enough to show us around the farm and take us on a short ride to his nearby field to see his sheep and lambs! Although it is a working farm once the doors are closed the house is sound proof so the kids and us slept very well in the huge beds. There is plenty to do in the local area from stunning beaches with seals to theme parks, castles etc. the list is endless! Wifi in the property is a little hit and miss but what do you expect in the middle of the country, we were there to holiday after all and if we wanted to spend all day in he internet we'd have stayed at home. Thanks to Rod and Joy for making us feel so at home. I'm sure we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Macclesfield
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing