We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emlyn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Boar's Head Hotel(Carmarthen)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spilman Hotel(Carmarthen)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
377
147
30
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
377
147
30
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelhigh standardwest walesfunction roomthe main hotelbreakfast was excellentmodern bathroomstayed here for one nightmarmaladeevening meallarge roompublic areasno liftnight staysunday lunchcoach houseenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here with my Mum for one night. It was a lovely surprise to find a hotel this good in the middle of west Wales! We were given a very warm welcome and the service (and food) in the restaurant was also fantastic.

The room decor was chic and the whole hotel was clean and fresh. I particularly appreciated the eco-credentials and locally sourced produce in the excellent restaturant.

If you need to stay in this neck of the woods, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellenfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your break at the Gwestyr Emlyn and for taking time to post such a kind review.Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we were gifted the stay as a birthday present through Groupon and I must say it was a fantastic present. We greeted very nicely by the staff and shown around the hotel and to our room rather than just been given the key. We had a drink in the bar and were served by a very pleasant barman who seemed to know some of the guests very well and spoke to a number of them in Welsh. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the meal, though quite expensive, was absolutely fantastic. The service was very good and the waitresses smiled and were very helpful throughout and the following morning during breakfast, which was also very nice indeed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 which, at present, has no opening window, which meant it was very hot. We did approach the staff about this matter and they said that they were aware of the problem and that the matter was going to be dealt with shortly, so, if you were to book, check which room you are being given, and, if it is room 20, check whether the window issue has been sorted out or not.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marie-claireCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much FOR YOUR GREAT REVIEW.I will pass on your comments to my Staff.Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed there Saturday 24th May and it was great. The hotel itself has been beautifully decorated, our room was clean, well appointed comfortable and beautiful.
All of the staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful and smiling which was lovely and a pleasant change from a lot of hotels I have stayed in.
Both the menu in the restaurant and bar were very good, we choose to eat in the bar which was superb with a very good choice of reasonably priced wines. Breakfast again was great and all locally sourced, the sausages were the best I have had for a while.
Well done on a beautiful hotel with happy helpful staff and great food, our stay was an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gwestyr Emlyn we do hope you return to see us soon.Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a Bank Holiday break from this amazing hotel where you receive 4 star service from this beautiful hotel which only has a 3 star rating. The staff are wonderful. The service second to none and the ambience is fantastic. We had the Sunday Carvery (reservations are advisable) and have never had a carvery like it. No frozen food here. Every thing is local fresh produce. The breakfasts are first class too

Room Tip: From speaking to other guests all rooms are very comfortable and the street is so quiet you don't here any street noise even with the windo open
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyq1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Amazing from Amazon what a review Great to here you had such a nice time with us hope you return again shortly.Keep an EYE out for our deals.Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We visited on bank holiday Monday after booking in advance. The menu was completely different to the one online, which we were told 'we've never served that food'. What we did have was very good, but service was very slow, bill was also wrong. Would return in hope this was a one off bad day for service.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Citystrolling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review Sorry our service was not to your satisfaction we normally get it spot on Perhaps one of my team had an off day for once ..,sometimes this can happen on busy periods as we are only Human after all.Hope you return to see us again and judge us at our best.Keith Eaton GM,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews