We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value break”
Review of Emlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emlyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a mid week family break here with a Groupon deal. Family room big enough although sofa bed wasn't too comfortable. Hotel very well run and clean. Breakfasts were first class and cooked to order. Staff friendly and helpful and the town itself was interesting. My only gripe would be the absence of a children's menu at dinner time. We ate in the bar both nights as the restaurant menu for a family of four would have cost almost £120 each sitting without drinks. The bar food was great and good sized portions. The cheese platter went down extremely well and would have served two normal people - my hungry hounds however ate one each! Would certainly recommend this charming little coach house - never tried the hot tub as there wasn't any water in it when we looked! Not a deal breaker, however!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumsTheWord57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review we hope you return again shortly .Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I booked a 3 day holiday visit to West Wales using this Hotel as our base. From the write-ups we had read, this hotel had a lot to live up to. It did not disappoint!! The Hotel and its facilities were absolutely excellent, coupled with very friendly, efficient but clearly well-trained staff. Whoever had overseen the choice of decor and design when the hotel was remodelled did a first class job. Managed to combine a clean, modern feel whilst retaining its old world charm. Easy to obtain a good WiFi connection for my laptop. Our room on the first floor of the old coach house was very clean, spacious & well-appointed - as well as being quiet and peaceful. Hotel prides itself (justifiably) on using local suppliers when it can. Excellent breakfast, with a good choice. Dinner wasn't cheap - but for the UK was pitched at the price you have to pay to get a really good, interesting meal. "Locals" clearly like it. Slightly disappointing that the menu is only changed weekly.
Finally the small market town itself was a pleasant surprise - quite a bustling community - well worth a wander around.
"Well travelled Mature Couple from Reading"

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 (Executive Double) First Floor, Old Coach House. Cannot be faulted.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BobandJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review we are so glad the Gwestyr Emlyn lived up to your expectations.Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Had a last minute business trip with my husband, and on our way to Wales we booked this Hotel, we were a little apprehensive but should'nt of been.
We arrived late around 9,30pm and was given a warm welcome, and shown to our room which was number 25. The room was very clean, the bathroom absolutely gorgeous. Flat screen tv, hair drier everything you need.
We went down to the bar where we had asked for sandwiches on our arrival as the kitchen was closed, they were well presented and hit the spot.
After a five hour drive to get here we were exhausted and ready for a good sleep, alas this wasn't going to happen there was a drumming noise all night, we were very hot but couldn't undo the window as the noise got louder. In the morning we found the culprit , which looked to be an air conditioning unit on the flat roof. Of course this was not the hotels fault, but was a little annoying.
The breakfast was all beautifully presented with fresh fruit, full English breakfast was all locally sourced and tasted Devine.
Would recommend and go for a second visit hopefully for a little longer next time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Kitchener50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind review we hope to see you again in the near future.Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here with my Mum for one night. It was a lovely surprise to find a hotel this good in the middle of west Wales! We were given a very warm welcome and the service (and food) in the restaurant was also fantastic.

The room decor was chic and the whole hotel was clean and fresh. I particularly appreciated the eco-credentials and locally sourced produce in the excellent restaturant.

If you need to stay in this neck of the woods, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellenfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your break at the Gwestyr Emlyn and for taking time to post such a kind review.Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we were gifted the stay as a birthday present through Groupon and I must say it was a fantastic present. We greeted very nicely by the staff and shown around the hotel and to our room rather than just been given the key. We had a drink in the bar and were served by a very pleasant barman who seemed to know some of the guests very well and spoke to a number of them in Welsh. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the meal, though quite expensive, was absolutely fantastic. The service was very good and the waitresses smiled and were very helpful throughout and the following morning during breakfast, which was also very nice indeed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 which, at present, has no opening window, which meant it was very hot. We did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marie-claireCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much FOR YOUR GREAT REVIEW.I will pass on your comments to my Staff.Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed there Saturday 24th May and it was great. The hotel itself has been beautifully decorated, our room was clean, well appointed comfortable and beautiful.
All of the staff were very welcoming, friendly, helpful and smiling which was lovely and a pleasant change from a lot of hotels I have stayed in.
Both the menu in the restaurant and bar were very good, we choose to eat in the bar which was superb with a very good choice of reasonably priced wines. Breakfast again was great and all locally sourced, the sausages were the best I have had for a while.
Well done on a beautiful hotel with happy helpful staff and great food, our stay was an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gwestyr Emlyn we do hope you return to see us soon.Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a Bank Holiday break from this amazing hotel where you receive 4 star service from this beautiful hotel which only has a 3 star rating. The staff are wonderful. The service second to none and the ambience is fantastic. We had the Sunday Carvery (reservations are advisable) and have never had a carvery like it. No frozen food here. Every thing is local fresh produce. The breakfasts are first class too

Room Tip: From speaking to other guests all rooms are very comfortable and the street is so quiet you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyq1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Amazing from Amazon what a review Great to here you had such a nice time with us hope you return again shortly.Keep an EYE out for our deals.Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
10.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
870 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
10.7 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
740 reviews
14.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
477 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range: £72 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emlyn Hotel Newcastle Emlyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing