We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Emlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emlyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We only came for 1 night and I wish we had booked for another, the staff are very friendly, the room was quite small (room 18 top floor) but plenty for what we needed. The bathroom was very nicely done with a very much needed power shower after a walk around the beautiful town and nearby castle ruins. The town has some lovely quirky shops and you get a real sense of a community sticking together with nearly everything locally sourced. We had breakfast in the morning which was 1 of the best I've ever had. Very impressed and will definitely return soon. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyfromBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing the Gwestyr Emlyn we are deleighted with your comments and hope you return again soon.Keith Eaton GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    138
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
88
298
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We live only 30 miles from Newcastle Emlyn and had to go there this morning and decided to book lunch here - what joy.
The hotel is in the main street but not easy to spot (white building), it has a great secure car park and easy access to the restaurant. As this was Sunday lunch I think they were using the function room, which, our only criticism is tghat it is a bit dark and some blinds could have been opened.

On arrival we were very impressed with the room and especially the warm welcome we received. We don't know too much about the hotel but it seems that a great deal of money has been spent on it and it shows.
The décor is modern and tasteful and the furnishings are in sympathy - very welcoming and relaxing - a little oasis! We had a walk around the hotel public rooms and they were exceptionally well turned out too. There is obvious great care with cleaning as everything was spotless.
OK onto the meal. You could have one, two or three courses (£10.95/£14.50 and £18 not sure how accurate this is); so compared to others this is a bit more expensive. But as always you get what you pay for. The tables were very well paced and appointed but could have done with fabric napkins. We were quickly and professionally attended to and decided to have a starter, the leek and potato soup was delicious and the right quantity AND temperature; the goats cheese panacotta was equally good (suggest that the menu says it comes with salad as some people do not like all salad items). We were then invited to the carvery. The presentation of the food was exceptional and the server spotless (unlike many other Sunday lunch venues). Three appetising meats (beef/pork and turkey); these were professionally carved and the portion size was generous but not too much, they were pleased to serve a combination of meat too. The vegetable choice was first class and kept hot, I counted 8 veg plus roast and boiled pots! One slight downside the yorkies were very good but not crispy.

The meat quality could not be faulted, the vegetables were still firm and tasty and hot. Extra veg was available too as is a veggie choice.

My wife had fruit salad, how nice to see a true homemade salad and a generous portion. We did not have tea or coffee.

The service was excellent, how good it is to see young people who have been trained properly and who are friendly and helpful.

The room was a large one and we were please to see that it was nearly full, we think a lot of regulars come back for this excellent fayre). Many senior people ate there and we were very impressed with the patience and consideration shown by the staff. In particular the Manager (?) displayed great skill and customer service in dealing with some difficult people at the point of payment - it helped that she was a woman!!
Overall - yes we will go back there again and sample the restaurant on a weekday, the 60 mile round trip on the basis of our visit today will be well worth it.
Thank you Emlyn and well done - keep setting a standard for others to follow.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on our Sunday lunch ,we are so happy you enjoyed your visit and look forward to serving you in the near future.Keith Eaton GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I first visited this hotel many years ago and it was not a nice place.
Now, under new ownership, the place has been transformed into a really high quality establishment, something this town and the surrounding area really needs.
The bedrooms are very nicely designed and have high quality furnishings with very comfortable beds.
The food in the restaurant was of a high standard and the service pleasant and efficient.
The breakfast was also excellent and yes, you can even try laverbread - that great Welsh delicacy!
I'll certainly stay here again when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments ,we are deleighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return again soon.Keith Eaton GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a mid week family break here with a Groupon deal. Family room big enough although sofa bed wasn't too comfortable. Hotel very well run and clean. Breakfasts were first class and cooked to order. Staff friendly and helpful and the town itself was interesting. My only gripe would be the absence of a children's menu at dinner time. We ate in the bar both nights as the restaurant menu for a family of four would have cost almost £120 each sitting without drinks. The bar food was great and good sized portions. The cheese platter went down extremely well and would have served two normal people - my hungry hounds however ate one each! Would certainly recommend this charming little coach house - never tried the hot tub as there wasn't any water in it when we looked! Not a deal breaker, however!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumsTheWord57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review we hope you return again shortly .Keith Eaton GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I booked a 3 day holiday visit to West Wales using this Hotel as our base. From the write-ups we had read, this hotel had a lot to live up to. It did not disappoint!! The Hotel and its facilities were absolutely excellent, coupled with very friendly, efficient but clearly well-trained staff. Whoever had overseen the choice of decor and design when the hotel was remodelled did a first class job. Managed to combine a clean, modern feel whilst retaining its old world charm. Easy to obtain a good WiFi connection for my laptop. Our room on the first floor of the old coach house was very clean, spacious & well-appointed - as well as being quiet and peaceful. Hotel prides itself (justifiably) on using local suppliers when it can. Excellent breakfast, with a good choice. Dinner wasn't cheap - but for the UK was pitched at the price you have to pay to get a really good, interesting meal. "Locals" clearly like it. Slightly disappointing that the menu is only changed weekly.
Finally the small market town itself was a pleasant surprise - quite a bustling community - well worth a wander around.
"Well travelled Mature Couple from Reading"

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 (Executive Double) First Floor, Old Coach House. Cannot be faulted.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BobandJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review we are so glad the Gwestyr Emlyn lived up to your expectations.Keith Eaton GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Had a last minute business trip with my husband, and on our way to Wales we booked this Hotel, we were a little apprehensive but should'nt of been.
We arrived late around 9,30pm and was given a warm welcome, and shown to our room which was number 25. The room was very clean, the bathroom absolutely gorgeous. Flat screen tv, hair drier everything you need.
We went down to the bar where we had asked for sandwiches on our arrival as the kitchen was closed, they were well presented and hit the spot.
After a five hour drive to get here we were exhausted and ready for a good sleep, alas this wasn't going to happen there was a drumming noise all night, we were very hot but couldn't undo the window as the noise got louder. In the morning we found the culprit , which looked to be an air conditioning unit on the flat roof. Of course this was not the hotels fault, but was a little annoying.
The breakfast was all beautifully presented with fresh fruit, full English breakfast was all locally sourced and tasted Devine.
Would recommend and go for a second visit hopefully for a little longer next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitchener50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind review we hope to see you again in the near future.Keith Eaton GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here with my Mum for one night. It was a lovely surprise to find a hotel this good in the middle of west Wales! We were given a very warm welcome and the service (and food) in the restaurant was also fantastic.

The room decor was chic and the whole hotel was clean and fresh. I particularly appreciated the eco-credentials and locally sourced produce in the excellent restaturant.

If you need to stay in this neck of the woods, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellenfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your break at the Gwestyr Emlyn and for taking time to post such a kind review.Keith Eaton GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
10.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
798 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
452 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,191 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Property: Emlyn Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emlyn Hotel Newcastle Emlyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing