We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in NC Emlyn...”
Review of Emlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emlyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice stay in NC Emlyn...”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just had 3 nights here, it's clearly had a lot of money spent on it, all rooms and public areas are freshly decorated and furnished, it looks very good in all areas. The front rooms do suffer from traffic noise, but they've double glazed to help and I guess it's something you have to expect if you stay on a main street in a town, but I always sleep like a log so no problem really. The staff are all immaculately uniformed and their helpful manner and smiling faces shows they clearly all enjoy their jobs. The only issue we had was with breakfast on two of the three mornings, the third one was great and the other two were removed from the bill, sorted. Evening meal in the restaurant is from around £17 for a main, otherwise it's a bar meal. It's in a good position for touring the SW coast of Wales, and probably the best one around for a good few miles.

Room Tip: It's very renovated throughout so I guess all rooms will be fine... but the front ones will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 598chrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Gwestyr Emlyn.Good to here you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you return soon
Keith Eaton GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    137
    27
    14
    14
See reviews for
88
296
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We ended up here after having a KGB deal for the sister hotel Gelli Fawr (which was lovely but couldn't accommodate us). Amy the receptionist from the sister hotel had called ahead and they were expecting us. The welcome was second to none and we were made to feel at home immediately.
The receptionist we met was absolutely lovely although I can't remember how to pronounce her name sadly. She apologised for the mix up at the other hotel and upgraded us to an executive room which was out of this world. It was indeed very quiet and had everything we could have asked for in it.
We stayed for the three nights and nothing was too much trouble. It was very warm and they had provided a fan in the room without being asked and we were also able to get ice from the main building whenever we asked.
I would say that we didn't eat in the hotel as the menu was a little restrictive and expensive compared to the other places in the area but the bar prices were about as expected.
The breakfast could have been better as there was not a great choice and it was always a little overcooked.
The staff were exemplary though and I would be more than happy to stay here again. Excellent service and a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ty Brady was an excellent executive double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review we hope to see you at the Gwestyr Emlyn in the very near future.
Keith Eaton GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for a night about 18 months ago and have since made the 40 minute journey here to have lunch twice. This time we had the 2 course lunch at £10.95. We started with a goats cheese panna cotta with a beetroot and cress salad. Delicious. This was followed by gammon with a proper poached egg and hollandaise sauce. There were 4 little servings of vegetables and a few sauté potatoes. Again it could not be faulted.The service provided by the Welsh speaking girls was exemplary. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank en08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review on our restaurant and we hope to see you in the near future.Keith Eaton GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We've been to Gwesty'r Emlyn for a YFC Dinner and Fathers Sunday lunch. Very very tasty - a choice of beef, turkey or pork with a selection of veg. Three courses for £18.00.
Very organised staff. Siarad Cymraeg hefyd. Diolch.
Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review on our Sunday carvery I will pass on your kind remarks to my Kitchen Team and Head chef.Keith Eaton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Perfect for a nice light lunch with a friend, and at a reasonable price with excellent friendly service, loved ours last week. Had time to pop in to see the new tourist information area, excellent for people who are visiting the area, very impressed with ipads, large tv with excellent video explaining the beauty of the area and then plenty of literature - as someone living in the area it made me very proud. Well done. Da iawn wir.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brynmeillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant ,we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you return soon.Keith Eaton GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Booked to stay at Gwestyr Emlyn with Groupon as it is only an hour from my home. My Wife and I stayed for Friday and Saturday night.On arriving the Receptionist was very helpful and friendly as were all the staff.The hotel is located in the centre of the town and is very well presented and clean and tidy. We had food both nights bar meal Friday and a restaurant meal
Saturday both meals were great. Highly recommended will be going back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neill1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Many thanks for your review we are deleighted you had such a good stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.Keith Eaton GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We only came for 1 night and I wish we had booked for another, the staff are very friendly, the room was quite small (room 18 top floor) but plenty for what we needed. The bathroom was very nicely done with a very much needed power shower after a walk around the beautiful town and nearby castle ruins. The town has some lovely quirky shops and you get a real sense of a community sticking together with nearly everything locally sourced. We had breakfast in the morning which was 1 of the best I've ever had. Very impressed and will definitely return soon. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyfromBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing the Gwestyr Emlyn we are deleighted with your comments and hope you return again soon.Keith Eaton GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
10.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
783 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
440 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
447 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
713 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Property: Emlyn Hotel
Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emlyn Hotel Newcastle Emlyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing