We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Emlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emlyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Visited last weekend and had a really enjoyable experience. The long drive from Hampshire was definitely worth it. A lovely hotel in a small village which was the perfect base for us to explore the area. Small mix up with the price quoted when we got there but this was resolved immediately. All of the staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and were very helpful in recommending us where to visit. New Quay is a lovely harbour town and we were glad to be told of that. Dined in the restaurant one night and it was nice although a little overpriced. Will definitely return and will be recommending this hotel to friends. Thank you!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jobby989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay to Gwesty'r Emlyn.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and the surrounding area.

We hope that you will return to us for another short break in the near future

Kind regards,

Keith Eaton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked for one night on a Travelzoo voucher, not really expecting anything special. We had an executive room and were joking about what to expect. When we were shown to the room, we were amazed. It was very spacious with a couch, new TV and large comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean with a lovely shower and fluffy towels. It seemed brand new and was very tastefully done. The room was at the front overlooking the street, but there was no problem with traffic noise. The staff were lovely and friendly, the breakfast was good with a large choice. In fact everything exceeded our expectations. I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel to anyone wanting to explore the West Wales coast. What a pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: Don't worry about the rooms overlooking the street. They are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoS829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Great to know you had such a pleasant surprise and enjoyed your stay with us..We do hope you return to see us again in the very near future.
Kind regards Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for three nights on a Travelzoo voucher on a B& B basis.
Our accommodation was in one of the executive rooms attached to the side of the hotel. The room was outstanding. A large, comfortable bed, enormous room with lovely furniture I.e. with flat screen TV, wardrobe, drawers, dressing table & hair dryer.
The bathroom didn't disappoint in any way. A cavernous walk in shower with TWO enormous shower heads, one at either end- draw your own conclusions to that..!
The hotel main building was spacious with bar areas & a restaurant which was also used for breakfast. There is a comprehensive information area next to reception which gives you all the leaflets of both local attractions & places of interest within Carmarthenshire & Pembrokeshire.
Breakfast had a varied menu to choose from. Everything was cooked beautifully to order. Cereals, fruits, yoghurts & juices were also available.
We used the restaurant on one evening. It is FINE dining at it's best. ALL the food, without exception was again, beautifully cooked & served with style. Bar meals are also available with some good choices too. Give them a try, you won't regret it!
Throughout our stay, one thing stood out was the attitude, friendliness & helpful demeanour of the staff. It was exceptional. It made such a difference to our stay & I would like to say a massive thank you to everyone.
Whatever you're looking for in a break or holiday, you will find it here. I unreservedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No tips, just enjoy the experience..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannymoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Many thanks for your outstanding review of the Gwestyr Emlyn I will pass on your comments to my staff, of whom, we are all very proud.We hope to see you returning in the near future.
Kind Regards Keith Eaton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Room 22 was a standard room, 3rd floor, bit cramped, the shower failed 3 times. The dining room very pleasant, wonderful food and plentiful. The wine was a little pricey, the service excellant. The food sourced locally. Our room was at the rear near the car park, Saturday there was a BBQ, music too loud. Went to the reception desk at 11.00pm to complain nothing done. Same CD played through 2 dinners and 2 breakfast. Plenty of parking. Great staff. All of the above was brought to the attention of the reception and we are still waiting for a response from the management to say that the shower would be fixed, CD changed, etc. to date after 2 weeks nothing so sorry hotel but your manager is at fault with this review

Room Tip: Do not have Room 22, small, not much room either side of the double bed, no lift and narrow stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middleton70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review on the Gwestyr Emlyn.We always reply to guests reviews or complaints as you can see from previous reviews.I would have contacted you sooner if you had requested at check out.Please accept my apologies for the shower malfunction which was down to a build up of residue in the shower head from our own water bore hole.This has now been rectified.As regarding the summer bbq.,the carabean steel band duo turned the volume down on your request and actually finished playing at 11.45 pm.We do not feel this is an unreasonable time and we always try to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum for our guests, and this event was actually put on for our residents of which most attended.We do hope you return to see us again in the near future.
Kind regards Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First leisure visit after staying on business twice before. Warm and friendly welcome - great room and ideal location for visiting the local area in Carmarthen, Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion. Nice to stay for pleasure and will return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenix059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review we are so glad you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards Keith Eaton GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in a family room set up. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful - we had wet wetsuits and the hotel dried them for us at no extra charge. We ate at the hotel for the 2 nights we stayed and both the food and service were very good. We would be happy to return to this hotel in the future and recommend it. Off road free parking an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marymiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for your great review We are all deleighted you enjoyed the Gwestyr Emlyn and hope you return again soon
KInd regards Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. The room was very clean and restful, lovely en-suite. We had a snack lunch, evening meal and breakfast. All cooked beautifully with excellent service. Congratulations to this small hotel in a country town setting. Surrounding area is well worth the visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith e, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review I will pass on your comments to my staff and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards Keith Eaton GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle Emlyn
10.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
849 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
22.9 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
453 reviews
21.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,216 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range: £73 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emlyn Hotel Newcastle Emlyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing