We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical stay at Bryncyn”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle Emlyn, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katy O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magical stay at Bryncyn”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Bryncyn is such a beautiful traditional Welsh cottage with the added bonus of a sleek modern extension, so you get the best of both worlds. Furnished to a high standard with a super comfy chaise sofa, extremely comfortable bed and everything you could need in the modern kitchen and bathroom for a wonderful stay. The cottage was really warm and toasty and the wood burning stove was perfect for cosy evenings. I loved the huge wall of glass in the kitchen that could be opened up onto the terrace and we spent a beautiful evening in the hot tub star gazing. Bryncyn was perfect for our dog and we also enjoyed a day at Barafundle Bay, which was absolutely stunning. We were able to escape from the city to gorgeous countryside, absolute peace and quiet and made it a digital retreat. I would highly recommend a stay here at any time of the year - we all loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you Katy for your lovely review your welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jock T
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury Retreat with Rustic Charm”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Relaxed as soon as we arrived at Bryncyn! Cottage has been immaculately restored and has stayed true to the spirit of the past. Meanwhile the rustic spirit is perfectly balanced with all the bells and whistles - beautiful bathroom, kitchen, fireplace and hot tub! Also a picturesque and peaceful spot not far from local sights and a great pub which does a great lamb shank! We'll be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review your welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam W
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect antidote to a busy schedule!”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived in the clouds on what I suppose you could call a typical day in Wales, arriving at Bryncyn up the winding trail was quite exciting for the kids and us! - the kids excitement was tempered when we arrived in the cottage as their search for wifi and television was in vain - a huge tick in the YES box for us. We lit the fire and got cosy and talked as a family.
The weather improved each day of our stay which allowed us to take in the beautiful setting high up on the hill with the most beautiful views. A couple of clear nights provide the perfect setting to sit in the hot tub and watch the stars. We enjoyed our stay at Bryncyn, a nice blend of traditional cosy cottage and clean modern living. We'll visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the stars from the hot tub
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thanks Sam for your very kind review , your welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren140...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Peaceful, modern, cosy, secluded cottage, complete privacy'”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were amazed at how cheap the cottage was for booking in the six weeks holiday. The cottage was amazing, the hot tub was our favourite part of the cottage. It was nice to get away from it all going walking, playing cards, reading and visiting local places. It was bliss to have NO neighbours which made it so private. The views from the cottage were fantastic and it was nice for the owner to call round to ask if we needed anything on one of our days. The cottage is ideal for dogs, ours loved it. Very pleased we had the opportunity to visit, the only thing I can say is that the pictures on here don't do the cottage justice! Look up the Welsh house, Brycyn on other reviews and articles for the best photographs. Thank you for having us, Lauren and James.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words your welcome back anytime and don't forget we give loyalty discounts to any friends you recommend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrain E
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect in every way”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Cannot recommend this place enough, the owner went out of his way for us during our stay, the cottage is beautiful, comfortable and has everything you need for a real home from home. The views are spectacular and there are loads of lovely places to visit. Will definitely be back next year and have already recommended this place to friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words your welcome back anytime and don't forget we give loyalty discounts to any friends you recommend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Moder meets Tradition”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here and it was the perfect place to get away from it all in a beautiful setting. The cottage looks traditional from the outside but the modern features inside really bring it up to date and the wooden hot tub outside was a great touch! Facilities were perfect with the kitchen well equipped and the bedroom was clean and comfortable Would definitely stay here again & reccomend to others.
Carmarthenshire was a perfect destination to explore with easy access to both the Cardiganshire and Pembrokeshire coastline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review your welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
speedy1
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning location - some TLC is needed”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent renovation of interesting old part of cottage, which has been allowed to tell its story. Am sure modern add-on was good too when works were first done. Unfortunately,the once pristine, minimal section has not stood the short test of time well, with the kitchen area definitely in need of a re-fit to replace the shabby oven, fridge, microwave etc. which are unpleasant to use. The double glazed unit in the celestory window has blown, allowing condensation to run down constantly (proving a magnet for flies when the main sliding glass door is open). Bathroom definitely needs something/somewhere to hang or just put down any item of clothing you take off before getting in the less-than salubrious shower cubicle.

Would have to question also whether the property is suitable for any more guests than a couple. One of the double beds sits jarringly (unmade up, the mattress just covered with a blanket) almost directly opposite the front door in the main living area, with absolutely no privacy. Another bedroom appears to be oddly located up a pull-down loft ladder above the kitchen. There are also two covered-up single beds at one end of the main attic bedroom, again with no privacy from the double bed in which we slept. Very strange

Location and outside space is glorious, with absolute peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside space
Liked least: Kitchen fittings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review I have taken all of your points on board and will look into some of the issues raised - I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, peace and quiet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing