We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable meal, service and view!!! Returning this summer for sure”
Review of Canvas Cove Bistro

Canvas Cove Bistro
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Twillingate
Price range: US$11 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Canvas Cove Bistro, offers a panoramic view of Twillingate harbour: fishing flakes, sail boats, fishing schooners and Greenland icebergs in season! Our licensed bistro delivers a sophisticated take on traditional Newfoundland style dining. Sit back and savour the view while enjoying our signature drinks or locally brewed Quidi Vidi Iceberg beer. Free WiFi. Fresh. Local. Delicious.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable meal, service and view!!! Returning this summer for sure”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Visited this unique cafe when in Twilligate this past summer. Chef nick made me a fabulous cod dinner w nice crunchy fresh veggies which I love ! Finished off with a deadly hot chocolate brownie topped w ice cream, chocolate sauce and pecans. Mouth watering as I talk about it ! Service was second to none. Tara, the cafe's manager was so helpful w other questions I had of the area.
We will definitely be back this summer. It is worth the drive down the beautiful coast. Plus you can even add on a fabulous boat tour right off the wharf w Capt. Barry and his crew

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KristaOV46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    51
    21
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ABRO2013”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I had the pleasure to visit this modern Bistro several times while visiting Twillingate in the summer of 2013. Absolutely amazing food prepared by a top chef. The staff were very friendly and very eager to help the customer. The view is breathtaking! What more can you ask for, will definitely visit there

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABro1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Cod is InCREDIBLE!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had the pleasure to stop into this little spot on a brief stay in Twillingate this summer. The location is cute and quaint with a modern feel for a small town in Newfoundland. The staff was friendly, helpful and curious - looking to find out how they can give the best tips for their community and my stay in Twillingate.

The best part of the restaurant was the Cod with a Avocado Salsa, I am a lover of cod but however it was prepared and cooked was different - the fish fell apart in my mouth and the flavor combination with the Salsa was a great idea! I definitely hope to go back for more.

To top it off you MUST ask the to make the baked Apples in "Screech" (a local newfoundland rum tradition), topped off with ice cream - it was the perfect end to a great meal and journey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twillingate
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Meal!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The view is breathtaking! Start off with the perfect blend of sweet potato soup. Next, try the Pan Seared Cod...Amazing! And to top it off, try the triple chocolate brownie sundae with chocolate sauce and toasted pecans! Delish!! You will not be disappointed... :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbonear, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cuisine!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The seaside setting, welcoming atmosphere and the exquisite food all combined to make our visit an experience we'll remember for a long time. I had lobster and my husband had fresh cod. Both exquisitely prepared. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KandATrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canvas Cove Bistro also viewed

 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 
Twillingate, Newfoundland
Twillingate, Newfoundland
 

Been to Canvas Cove Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing