We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok, nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twillingate
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ok, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

it is an Inn and it does have a view of the harbour. It is a bit run down at the heels but in process of being fixed up. The windows didn't open, no fridge in the room but it was clean. We sat out on the grassy area but there really isn't a space for people to enjoy the view. The bar has a set-up but there were no chairs out and inside the only people in the bar were those playing the gambling machines. The restaurant was good and had a lovely view of the water and we enjoyed our meal. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you feedback that allows us to continuously improve our guest experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, a clean room and lovely view. We understand that you were keen to enjoy the view from a deck or patio chair. Our 56-foot deck with its bright deck chairs at our suites is available to all our guests. However, we have placed more chairs on the lower level and seating outside our pub and restaurant on the brand new decks will be available as soon as all required licenses have been issued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    66
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
41
94
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent two nights at Anchor Inn in a 2 bdr apt. Aug.'13..Rooms were comfortable and clean.
We noticed that lots of effort were put in to improve the facility...Big wooded patio facing the harbour, including picnic tables, chairs, BBQ, everything needed to make your stay pleasant.
Had dinner at their restaurant Georgie's...food was excellent and had a great time with our waiter Tim.
Very good quality/price ratio.
Make sure to visit the shores of French Cove in Durrell...Its like you were on another planet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickysred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Anchor Inn Hotel & Suites and your time in Twillingate. Yes, French Beach is certainly a spot where you want your camera with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

It was a nice room with a view with an excellent dinner served by friendly staff.
The cleanliness of the newly renovated Inn was very impressive.
The evening meal was of top quality and the breakfast waffles very good.
The cost for our two day stay was quite reasonable.
Twillingate is wonderful an unique destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Twillingate and we have to agree: Twillingate is a "wonderful and unique" destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gananoque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We recently spent two nights here. The room(queen size bed) was very clean and comfortable. In fact it was one of the cleanest, most up to date motels we stayed in during our visit to Newfoundland. The view from our window of the sunrise and harbour was beautiful. All of our questions regarding the area were completely answered. We had one dinner at Georgie's their restaurant which was good but the breakfast lacked some items. The location is great as is close to many attractions in the area. We would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We appreciate the time you took to review your stay at the Anchor Inn Hotel. Our team works hard to create a great experience for our guests and we are very pleased when we hear that we have succeeded. Your breakfast comment has been noted....helpful for planning for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have a 2 bedroom suite which was very acceptable, with a great view of the harbour. The dinner was pleasant, one had a sense they were trying very hard, but the breakfast was a letdown. Very ordinary, with the most inedible muffins I have had for a while. (otherwise rating would have been higher).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the Anchor Inn Hotel's Hilltop Suites and your dinner at Georgie's Restaurant. Our breakfast menu is under review - after all, it is the most important meal of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the Anchor Inn. It was clean and basic accommodations. No issues with the accommodation itself, but it would be similar to what you'd expect at a Comfort Inn/Super 8.

We decided to grab their breakfast the morning we departed and were disappointed in the pricing for what we received value-wise. While the hotel stay and the pricing was fairly reasonable at high-season, the breakfast offering seemed like a cash-grab and soured our otherwise good feeling of the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. For the information of other viewers reading this review: during our summer season the hotel's restaurant offers a paid breakfast option. Currently (2013) the Anchor Inn Hotel's restaurant, Georgie's, offers a "bottomless" continental breakfast with a selection of home baked berry muffins, pastries, fresh fruit, fruit salad/yoghurt, bagels, toast, cereal, milk, coffee or tea for $7 per person. Guests can add a waffle with berry topping or an omelette for an additional $4. From October to May a continental breakfast is included with the room cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Anchor Inn. Our room was basic but clean and cozy with a very comfortable bed. The staff was outstanding and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and well taken care of. They also did a great job helping us plan our day and suggesting activities for us. There is a great restaurant on the property where we had an excellent dinner.

Location is terrific and it was very easy to get around to the various attractions. We went to the Split Peas show on Thursday, which was great, and on Friday night, the "kitchen party" in the pub at the Anchor Inn provided a great evening of really fun entertainment.

We highly recommend the Anchor Inn and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilma H, Owner at Anchor Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience of visiting Twillingate, your stay at the Anchor Inn Hotel and the shows you enjoyed. Twillingate is fortunate to have great authentic summer entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twillingate
0.7 mi away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#9 of 17 in Twillingate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gaultois Inn
The Gaultois Inn
#1 of 1 in Gaultois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Hotel

Property: Anchor Inn Hotel
Address: 3 Path End, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 4M0, Canada (Formerly Anchor Inn Motel)
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Twillingate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Twillingate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean at the award-winning Anchor Inn Hotel and its Hilltop Suites. Enjoy fresh seafood and Newfoundland dishes with a modern twist at Georgie's Restaurant (May - Oct) and relax in Captain's Pub - enjoy an Iceberg draught beer or take in a Kitchen Party or show during the summer. Friendly staff are ready to welcome you and and make your stay memorable! Make this is your base for iceberg and whale watching, kayaking, coastal hiking and exploring outport culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchor Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Hotel Twillingate, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing