We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Onancock”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Onancock”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

In a town that is Mayberry by the bay, the Spinning Wheel is Andy Taylor's house. Innkeepers Linda and Thom are down to earth and wonderful hosts. And Chudley, their three-legged dog, is a real hoot. The accommodations are comfortable and relaxing. They even accommodate pets. And they're located within easy walking distance to several delicious restaurants. We had a great time there.

Room Tip: The downstairs bedroom has a parlor with a TV and comfortable seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YRT264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The B & B owners Thom and Lynda were very welcoming and took the time to make us feel right at home. Wine time on the porch was a highlight of conversation with the owners. The B & B fit the charming town of Onancock and we feel in love with our special greeter Chudley the chocolate Labrador.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judovf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The warm welcome of Lynda Nolan and the enthusiastic greeting of Chudley, the dog of the house, you feel as though you were visiting old friends or family. It is quite comfortable and situated on a quiet street, just a short walk from a number of restaurants and shops. You will never meet more amiable and interesting hosts. Thom is the chef for breakfast, and he is marvelous…fresh nectarines, tomato & basil frittata, bacon, rosemary potatoes plus strawberry muffins, zucchini bread and sour cherry muffins. Come for the rooms, come for the food, come for the conversation or definitely come for Chudley, the canine host.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thorstenveblen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Thom and Lynda joined the other guests and ourselves on the porch, opened a bottle (or two) of excellent white wine, and proceeded to "live the life" of small town Onancock with us. First, the fellow towing the boat stopped in the travel lane of the main drag to converse with our innkeepers. Then the cheese and crackers started - a fellow guest shared his imported-from-longisland goat cheeses and the late afternoon conversation flowed just like you wish small town Americana had been. Lynda made us reservations at the Mallard for a fine sunset dinner, after which we rejoined our hosts and fellow guests at the Irish Pub for a beer and some song with the local troubadour. Oh, and the hotel was clean and attractive, our room comfy, and Thom's breakfast of egg frittata etc. was most excellent. Once you've made the decision to vacation in a quiet seaside town like Onancock, you can't do better than Thom and Lynda's place!

Room Tip: If you're a guy taller than 6'2", you may want to choose a higher floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you're looking for a dog friendly B&B on the eastern shore of Virginia, go no further than The Spinnng Wheel of Onancock. You will not find friendlier innkeepers than Thom and Linda Nolan and their host dog Chudley. Visiting their home was like catching up with long lost friends. My husband and I felt welcome instantly along with our 6 year old Westie. We stayed on the first floor which was handy to the outside. Thom made delicious breakfasts and Linda was helpful in guiding us to good Onancock restaurants. We enjoyed the town of Onancock with its friendly citizens, a nice Saturday morning farmer's market, and its charming homes. We also enjoyed exploring the local inlets of the Chesapeake and visiting Chincoteague/Assateague. We missed going to the local wineries so we just may schedule a return visit!

Room Tip: The first floor pet friendly room was a nice size with an adequate bathroom including a good shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here for three nights in June and would loved to have stayed longer.
The room we stayed in downstairs (blue room) was a decent size with a small en-suite bathroom and that had an excellent powerful shower. Tom was very hospitable and helpful and cooked excellent breakfasts. He packed us up a take-out breakfast on our last morning and even got up at 5am to give it to us which was above and beyond the call of duty. We loved to sit on the porch and watch the world go by... but be careful of the mosquitoes!!! I would recommend the Spinning Wheel to any one who is passing by this way and if I ever do I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a very short and relaxing trip to Onancock, VA and stayed at the Spinning Wheel. Thom, the owner, was very helpful in offering us recommendations from sites to visit to places to eat. The property was a cozy historic home, with a lot of heart! Breakfast was delicious and in general our stay was just nice! We took a walk down to the Warf and at some DELICIOUS seafood at Mallards, and later went to the historic theater, which was also a lot of fun! We would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: The Blue and Rose rooms are attic rooms, with sloped ceilings. These aren't bad, but the blue r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
151 reviews
24.9 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
0.1 mi away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Onancock
The Inn at Onancock
#1 of 6 in Onancock
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31 North St, Onancock, VA 23417-1921
Region: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing