We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem Of A Hide away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
waynesboro, virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem Of A Hide away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed three nights at this wonderful B&B and enjoyed every minute of it. The Innkeepers Thom and Linda were very personable and accommodating. They sent us to hidden beaches and a great Antique mall. We enjoyed walking through the quaint town with all the beautiful houses and learning the history of the town. If you like beautiful old houses this is the town for you,
Thom put out a filling and delicious breakfast each morning for us and always made us feel at home. They had a Va. front porch to sit on (which I love). This is a pet friendly B&B. They have a great dog who will greet you. If you want a relaxing place to stay on the Delmarva Peninsula this is the place for you.

Room Tip: You need to check availability as it has 5 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treestreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabond77, Owner at Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us. Enjoyed all the great conversations. I think you have Chudleigh hooked on crab now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant and cozy...nice get away..
.like visiting family. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating. They had great information about places to visit and hidden beaches....we loved sitting on the porch and watching the world go by....and the most fabulous dog! They served a good breakfast...fresh fruit, a variety of home baked goods, eggs, pancakes, meats and juices. It was relaxing and our generous hosts even let us use the back porch for our crab feast. We enjoyed our stay and our hosts very much.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 331aee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabond77, Owner at Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us. We enjoyed your company as well. Anytime you're free from working in Dubai your welcome here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onancock, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

You'll feel right at home at this family-friendly, pet-friendly and affordable B&B within walking/biking distance of everything this Mayberry-like hamlet of Onancock has to offer: dining, shopping, galleries, kayaking, and boating (including the ferry to Tangier Island). Or just rock on the front porch, relax in the Victorian parlor or with a glass of wine on the back deck. Thom and Linda are wonderful, friendly hosts, always smiling and laughing. Thom is a great storyteller and has a beautiful singing voice, performing in a Celtic band. You might just catch one of their performances while on the Eastern Shore. Chudleigh, their 3-legged pup, is on call if you need a doggy fix--he loves belly-rubs! We hope to bring a group of kayakers back in August and booking the whole place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Linda, Thom, and Katie are wonderful hosts and have the quintessential Eastern Shore B&B in beautiful downtown Onancock! I had a very comfortable and welcoming stay and plan to return! You can walk to restaurants and waterfront from the Spinning Wheel which makes it a great location. The Nolans are very knowledgeable about and involved in the community and Eastern Shore which provides plenty of ideas for things to do.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CACBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had to divert into the little local airport at the last minute due to bad weather on our route of flight. Luckily we remembered seeing Spinning Wheel reviewed here on TripAdvisor. We were glad we did. The hosts were delightful, the accommodations were comfortable and clean, and our intro to Onancock was a fun experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojourner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I don’t mind conversation with the host when staying in a B&B and in this case the less the better. The host would talk at unending length about him self, seemingly unable to get the hint that we wanted to leave. Little or no useful information was obtained from the many painful conversations.

The bed in our 3rd floor room was perhaps the hardest bed I have ever slept on. Or rather didn’t sleep on. We had booked two nights but left after the first, tired and relieved to get away. I wouldn’t stay again and don’t recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabond77, Owner at Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are sorry you were uncomfortable and disappointed. Our mattresses are Serta Perfect Sleepers. Obviously, different people like different types of beds and mattresses. A previous review on Trip Advisor regarding the same Guest Room stated "...loved the Blue Room where we stayed. The bed was fantastic."
Trip Advisor posts regarding the owners/managers are frequently similar to "you will not find friendlier innkeepers" and "hosts were delightful."
We courteously did not charge you for checking out a day early. All B&Bs on the Eastern Shore of VA have stated Policies which gives the owners/managers the documented right to charge guests for their full reserved stay, when they do not give the required cancellation notice. This includes guests never arriving at the B&B destination, arriving late, and leaving early. We also attempted to make your stay enjoyable by offering you a complimentary upgrade and change to a larger Guest Room for your 2nd reserved night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

In a town that is Mayberry by the bay, the Spinning Wheel is Andy Taylor's house. Innkeepers Linda and Thom are down to earth and wonderful hosts. And Chudley, their three-legged dog, is a real hoot. The accommodations are comfortable and relaxing. They even accommodate pets. And they're located within easy walking distance to several delicious restaurants. We had a great time there.

Room Tip: The downstairs bedroom has a parlor with a TV and comfortable seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YRT264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
24.9 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Onancock
The Inn at Onancock
#1 of 6 in Onancock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spinning Wheel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 31 North St, Onancock, VA 23417-1921
Region: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing