We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delmarvalous place to stay awhile--dog friendly, too!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1882 Colonial Manor Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Looking to avoid Rt 95 from Richmond to DC and the associated crummy motels, we opted for the "real life" Eastern Shore route out of Norfolk. So pleased that we did and discovered the Colonial Manor Inn B&B in Onancock. Spacious grounds surround this lovely old home where we found a spotless small suite (excellent linens in bath and on bed) which was very welcoming to us and our Scottie. Our hostess Linda was charming and informative, and her many antiques are worth a tour on their own. History abounds in Onancock, an easy walking town with nice shops (not typical tourist stuff) and a few very nice restaurants. We stayed two nights and felt as if we'd been on vacation for a week. Breakfast was THE BEST ever. Everything homemade, delicious and plentiful. We were especially grateful that our dog was welcome. Don't miss this outstanding respite when you are in this area. We'd love to go back. Thank you, Linda.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktdts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liadan, Owner at 1882 Colonial Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. I really enjoyed your little Scottie. So well-behaved. I'm very happy you enjoyed yourself.

And my mom is so happy you loved her breakfast. She works hard at making them the best she can. She loves to cook.

Please come back soon. If you have any photos, I'd love to see them posted here.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just spent 4 fantastic days at the Colonial Manor Inn. A beautiful, spacious old home full of antiques. Very cozy, clean, great breakfasts, crisp sheets. There was so much to do in the area, antique stores, art galleries and wonderful restaurants. Great seafood everywhere. We took a side trip to nearby Chincoteaque and saw the ponies as soon as we got there. Went to a beautiful beach in Assateague. Did not make it to Tangier but would love to go back and see that also. The area is so beautiful. I would highly recommend this Inn, the hosts were so nice and accommodating. I would also recommend this as a romantic getaway for couples. The rooms are large and private. Hoping to go back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Agree with previous reviews about the cleanliness and charming hosts. It is always good to stay in a "real" B+B where owners actually live there.
The room was very nice and bed very comfy. WiFi not great in the room.
However, you should be aware that the inn is in serious need of an outside paint job. It is a little surprising at first but you get used to peeling paint and non-functioning windows...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZYX032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liadan, Owner at 1882 Colonial Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the 1882 Colonial Manor Inn. I'm delighted you had a good time here.

I am aware of the WiFi problem and we are working on this issue. Generally, it often depends on the individual device. Most people have no problem connecting. However, we are working to ensure connection is much easier.

We are also aware parts of the Inn need painting. This past winter was very hard on us and caused a lot of damage. We've been waiting for some consecutive sunny days for the wood to dry out so we may paint. The weather doesn't affect the guests, because it usually rains at night and the days are beautiful-but the night rain does keep the wood wet.

I do hope your next visit will show the Manor back its usual pristine condition.

We appreciate you choosing the Manor for your stay and for taking the time to write an honest review. We are pleased that you still rated us as "Very Good" overall.

Linda Nicola
Host
1882 Colonial Manor Inn
Onancock, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent 2 nights in the Colonial Manor Inn in Onancock, VA this Labor Day weekend. Onancock is a great location for side trips to Chincoteague, Assateague, Wachapreague, and Tangier Island. Very interesting small town with a lot of history and charm. We were very happy with our choice of the Colonial Manor Inn. Great hostesses! Quiet location. Comfortable room. Good breakfast. The Colonial Manor Inn is a quintessential B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLeeM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

At the last minute, we decided to take a drive up US 13 to visit the Eastern Shore area of Virginia. We decided to stay in Onancock and found the Colonial Manor Inn through the Chamber of Commerce website. When we called they were very helpful and friendly on the phone. Upon our arrival, we found a very charming, welcoming B&B. The accommodations were surprisingly spacious and comfortable. Our room was located off the main hallway but was very private and quiet. The room also had a separate entrance, which was convenient. Most enjoyable were the delicious breakfasts cooked by Carol and served by Linda, the proprietors. We enjoyed the morning chats around the table with Linda, Carol and the other visitors, learning much about the area and where to visit. We would highly recommend the Colonial Manor Inn and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webmax2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We visited this inn because my father stayed there in the summer during the '40s to the '70s when it was a boarding house. It was a charming experience and Linda was very knowledgeable about the inn's history and things to do on the Eastern shore. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marv22901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were on the Eastern Shore visiting family and decided to stay at Colonial Manor Inn because it was centrally located among them. Linda and her mother Carol are wonderful hosts. Our room on the first floor had a sitting area, a large bath and a little efficiency type kitchenette. The breakfasts were fantastic and varied each morning. Linda ate with us each morning and shared stories of the area or introduced the guests to each other which was very nice for conversation. The area has quite a bit of history and is quaint and nice for a drive. Linda is also good at recommending places to visit. The grounds are quite lovely with flowers, a gazebo and outdoor places to sit. We would recommend Colonial Manor Inn without hesitation.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pr0misekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
792 reviews
24.9 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
105 reviews
24.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Pocomoke City
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1882 Colonial Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1882 Colonial Manor Inn

Address: 84 Market St, Onancock, VA 23417-4224
Region: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The heart of the Eastern Shore" "The privacy of a fine hotel, in a grand park-like setting, with the full breakfast of a traditional B&B." This award winning historic 1882 Colonial Manor Inn adorns the waterfront village of Onancock (The South's Coolest Small Town). Celebrating 130 years of gracious hospitality, the Manor reflects a relaxed, quiet and welcoming atmosphere with antique filled luxury suites and manicured grounds spanning 2 acres. All rooms offer guest controlled AC, heating, coffee-set-up, digital cable TV with premium movies, private baths, queen beds, luxury linens and amenities, garden gazebo and sunroom. Soak up coastal history and small town charm with a short stroll to the wharf, restaurants, boutiques, antique shops, galleries, theater, kayaking and more. Centrally located, the 1882 Colonial Manor Inn is the best base to see the entire shore from Chincoteague to Cape Charles. By far the best lodging value on Virginia's Eastern Shore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing