We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Elegant, Yet Casual Dining Experience”

The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Onancock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The award-winning restaurant features cuisine that is prepared using many Eastern Shore products. It is with great pride that we support local watermen, farmers, and area businesses. Because much of our fare is made from locally available ingredients, the menu changes frequently, often daily. Everything is house-made, including the ice cream! Our bar is well stocked, and the extensive wine list offers selections from around the world.
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An Elegant, Yet Casual Dining Experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The Charlotte is the place for an excellent dining experience. The menu offers a wide variety of excellently prepared and presented meals. The service is attentive, without being intrusive and professionally pleasant. We chose The Charlotte to celebrate our 50th anniversary and could not have been more pleased. It was everything we expected.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find in a tiny town!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was in tiny Onancock visiting a friend who lives there. First night, we walked to The Charlotte for dinner - she's a regular there, and I can see why. A wonderful little place with a lively bar and back room, plus a larger more formal dining room. It was a busy Friday so we took a table in the back room. My friend recommended the tasting menu, for a very reasonable $50 plus another $20 for wine pairings. Since we had been having "welcome cocktails" for a while at this point, we just had glasses of wine. The tasting menu allows two choices per diner from the starters, two choices from the entrees and one dessert plus great bread and a little chef's surprise. We were strategic in our choices and shared, so we really had an extravaganza of wonderfully prepared and imaginative dishes. This place is almost worth the visit to the Eastern Shore alone. In addition, Charlotte is a very talented artist and examples of her work, largely botanical watercolors, are hanging throughout the restaurant. Visit this place and be amazed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SBS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Experience Ever”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had an Amazing experience. We Both Agreed it was THE best meal ever. We chose The Tasting Menu and included the wine selection -Simply Amazing! Everything was a perfect Match!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica-teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, NY
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Impressed out-of-towners”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were recommended The Charlotte Hotel for dinner by a friend whom we were visiting - the restaurant came highly recommended and we can see why. We were promptly seated and our drink order was taken. Gary was at the bar and mixed a great martini!

Being on the Eastern Shore we felt we needed some seafood "fix" and the fried oysters got our attention. One of us had them as an appetizer, the other as an entree. These are not your typical fried oysters, they are so much more. Perfectly cooked crispy on the outside and still meaty on the inside without any rubber band strings you normally get. They were so moist you could close your eyes and taste the sea.

The other starter was the stuffed banana peppers. These aren't for the faint of heart. Tender? Yes. Spicy? You bet! But the spice was really well balanced and not overwhelming. The other entree was a special Cider Braised Pork Chop that was meaty, moist and delicious. Not sure how, but we even had room for dessert - an excellent apple crumble and the toffee pudding.

The dining room itself is lovely, with Charlotte's artwork adorning the walls, including a sunflower print and a pussy willow print - we ended up buying both!

There isn't much in Onancock (but enough that we came back the next day and did some great shopping!). The Charlotte Hotel and Restaurant is clearly a destination. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melfa, Virginia
1 review
“Charlotte hotel and restaurant - wow !”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

FEB 13, 2014,
Small town hits the 5 star rating for me. Gary and Charlotte have exceeded expectations for dinner. Special menu sampler was a hit. 2 starters and 2 entrees per person for pre Valentine day dinner.Excellent preparations by Chef Sam and the wait staff. Every selection was made to perfection.As an old fire fighter who likes to eat, no salt of pepper were needed. Gary and Charlotte get kudos on the dinning room, service, selection and quality of the food... Keep up the great job.. We will be back for more , very soon. Beats The Famous rest. for the filet in Colorado Springs and is on par for presentation to the Morada Bay restaurant on Rt 1 Mile maker 81. in Islamorada Fl....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommytriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing