We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Onancock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The award-winning restaurant features cuisine that is prepared using many Eastern Shore products. It is with great pride that we support local watermen, farmers, and area businesses. Because much of our fare is made from locally available ingredients, the menu changes frequently, often daily. Everything is house-made, including the ice cream! Our bar is well stocked, and the extensive wine list offers selections from around the world.
East Hampton, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I am extreemly picky when it comes to food preperation. Everything from wine selection appatizers,dinner and OMG the deserts were expertley prepared.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_Todd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unbelievably first rate!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This may be the best restaurant in the entire state of Va or even the entire east coast. From wine list to crème brulee (sp?) this place can't be beat. Outstanding host, great wait staff and a chef who is just fabulous from his delicious creations to their fine presentation. The night we were there music was Ella Fitzgerald doing the Gershwin songbook--hard not to sing along and/or get up and dance! Don't miss this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ktdts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Big Star in a Small Town of Stars”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have known Onancock to be a small town with better than average restaurants, but we were super impressed with our meal here during our recent visit. My husband and I both chose the Prix Fix three course meal, which includes any selection from the menu of appetizer, main course and dessert (they note on the menu that the Prix fix portion may be slightly smaller than the regular portion; we did not find the portions small, but perhaps with other selections they might be). My husband ordered the seared tuna appetizer, which was excellent, and my appetizer of grilled vegetables with goat cheese was amazing. I ordered the scallops on risotto for my main course, and my husband ordered an eggplant dish......both were superb and perfectly cooked. Our creme brûlée desserts rounded out our dining experience nicely. The service was friendly and attentive but not intrusive; just right. We had been admiring the lovely watercolor paintings hanging throughout the space -- beautiful depictions of plants, botanical in nature, but each with an extra dollop of character -- and were told by our server they were painted by Charlotte herself! After our meal, our server cheerfully brought us around to meet both Charlotte and husband Gene. All in all, a delightful and special evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyNinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
251 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“An Elegant, Yet Casual Dining Experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The Charlotte is the place for an excellent dining experience. The menu offers a wide variety of excellently prepared and presented meals. The service is attentive, without being intrusive and professionally pleasant. We chose The Charlotte to celebrate our 50th anniversary and could not have been more pleased. It was everything we expected.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
299 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find in a tiny town!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was in tiny Onancock visiting a friend who lives there. First night, we walked to The Charlotte for dinner - she's a regular there, and I can see why. A wonderful little place with a lively bar and back room, plus a larger more formal dining room. It was a busy Friday so we took a table in the back room. My friend recommended the tasting menu, for a very reasonable $50 plus another $20 for wine pairings. Since we had been having "welcome cocktails" for a while at this point, we just had glasses of wine. The tasting menu allows two choices per diner from the starters, two choices from the entrees and one dessert plus great bread and a little chef's surprise. We were strategic in our choices and shared, so we really had an extravaganza of wonderfully prepared and imaginative dishes. This place is almost worth the visit to the Eastern Shore alone. In addition, Charlotte is a very talented artist and examples of her work, largely botanical watercolors, are hanging throughout the restaurant. Visit this place and be amazed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SBS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing