We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute delight.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn & Garden Cafe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Onancock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn & Garden Cafe
Ranked #3 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Montreal QC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An absolute delight.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Elegant, hospitable, beautiful, superbly groomed and reasonably priced. One of the best places we have ever stayed at. Hostess Sandra is attentive to everything that makes a memorable stay. The cafe, under the guidance of chef Paul Fox, qualifies as a five star restaurant. The "attitude adjudtment" happy hour must be the most delightful bargain on the eastern seaboard!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Inn & Garden Cafe is a lovely place to stay on the Virginia Eastern Shore. Sandra's attention to detail really made a difference. Our room was nicely appointed, very comfortable and had all the little things (mints, snacks & drinks, wonderful choice of toiletries) you could want. Sandra is a terrific cook (the breakfasts were delicious) and a super nice hostess - even saying good-bye to us with a big hug and a goodie bag for our road trip. Diane and Pierre

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We can only agree with all the superb reviews on Tripadvisor. My husband and I went there for his birthday. Sandra and her assistants made our stay very nice and unforgettable - the food was delicious, the rooms and house in general offer everything you could possibly need when one is on vacation - and Sandra even drove us to where we wanted to get to since my husband had suffered a leg injury the day previous to our arrival. Thank you Sandra (and your helpers), it was really amazing to be with you and we would definitely choose your Inn again if we would come to that area!

Room Tip: We had the green room upstairs, really nice. Rooms are facing the street, so sleeping with open wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were disappointed. . . after having planned this vacation and reserving the entire B&B (four rooms) six months earlier; we arrived at check-in time to find she had given away half of the rooms!

While she very generously agreed to pay half of our group's first night to stay elsewhere we just were not interested in splitting the family only to move in/move out/move in during our family holiday.

Ms. Fox paid for all four rooms for the first night of our stay at another hotel -- and though this is a more than fair concession our disappointment was overwhelming and we did not go back to the Inn and Garden Cafe.

The comments on Trip Advisor is what drew us to this place -- not a disappointed patron in the bunch; maybe someday . . . .

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

This was a wonderful place for an anniversary get-away! The photos of the rooms on their website don't really do them justice. Everything was spotless and the little touches in the bedroom and bathroom were great (they offered plush robes and free flip flops in the armiore and plenty of toiletries, guides, books, even an ipod dock in our room)! The host Sandra is very friendly and there when we needed her, but was scarce and we had all the privacy we wanted. The breakfast which was included in the price of the stay was unbelieveable, if you stay here, definitely try to eat a meal here! The atmosphere and service was awesome! The location is not in the "heart" of Onancock, but a very short walk/bike ride down, and they offer the use of their bikes! We definitely made the right choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, va
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We just recently returned from our second stay at this lovely bed and breakfast. Sandra, our host, was gracious and helpful. We were in the blue room on the second floor, which is quite nicely and comfortably decorated. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were immaculate. The room was private and quiet. The house is on the main street into town, but Onancock is tiny--traffic and street noise are no problem whatsoever. Sandra served breakfast in their elegant cafe, which is flooded with natural light from the windows all around the dining room. Breakfast was great (the pastries and the lime sauce for the fruit salad were incredible), and the personalized menu offered several choices. I am a vegetarian, and Sandra kindly accommodated my special dietary needs.

I have stayed in many other bed and breakfasts. Most of them have been excellent, but I have never been in one with so much attention to detail in making guests comfortable. I am referring to subtle touches that anticipate guests' needs, such as a selection of newspapers in the common room each morning, a peaceful sitting area in the yard, a wide variety of movies on DVD, an excellent library in the common room, and drinks and snacks also available in the common room. In our room, there was a cd of music especially designed for sleep and relaxation, a small refrigerator stocked with drinks, various reading materials, super-soft robes, and more. And when we left, Sandra supplied us with water and snacks for our drive home.

The café is also open for dinner several nights a week. We had dinner there one night, and my partner declared it the best meal he had had in the area. Again, Sandra was able to accommodate my vegetarian diet with a delicious pasta. Service was excellent.

We highly recommend the Inn and Garden Café. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaofva_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay here in May 2012. We were in town for a wedding and the inn came recommended byt he bride and groom. The room was large and well apportiuoned. The bed was very comfortable and not a worn out mattress like I sometimes fear you'll get in a B&B. The front rooms are close to the road, butthis town has very little traffic so it reallyw asn't a problem. As mentioned in other posts, breakfast was delicious adn the owners were super nice about letting us borrow bikes, coolers and whatever else we needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbernard1sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
24.6 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
24.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
21.8 mi away
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
Garden and the Sea B&B Inn
#1 of 1 in New Church
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn & Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn & Garden Cafe

Property: The Inn & Garden Cafe
Address: 145 Market St, Onancock, VA 23417-4226
Region: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn features 4 beautifully appointed guest suites, all with private baths. Each room is furnished country style, featuring a queen size bed, armoire, cable television/ DVD, CD player, refrigerator, sitting area, and other personal amenities - affording our guests a comfortable "at home" feeling. In addition, a library of books, magazines, and DVD movies is available to all guests. We can supply rollaway beds, playpens, high chairs, card tables and such to fulfill all your lodging needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing