We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Onancock
Ranked #1 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

This B&B is a hidden gem. All of the rave reviews on this site and many other travel sites are completely accurate.

The Inn and the rooms are immaculate. Each room is meticulously designed with every attention to detail. Each room has it own unique theme. The grounds are well maintained as well.

The owners could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. Professional, knowledgeable about the local culture, and present such class.

The breakfast is outstanding. Old southern style and charm.

We cannot say enough about how amazing this B&B was. We have stayed at hotels and Inns all over the county. This was by far, the best we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCECEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
143
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband surprised me with weekend here for my 50th birthday. It was so nice. The room ( The Williamsburg) was beautiful, the spa bathroom was georgous (crystal chandelier and jetted tub). Lisa and Kris are so welcoming and laid back. Very helpful and gracious. Every restaurant they reserved for us was outstanding. Cute town. Drove to Chincoteague one day, and took the ferry to Tangier Island the next day. Would recommend doing both. We also rented bikes which we rode everywhere. Couldn't wait for breakfast to see what Lisa had in store for us. Always a delight and delicious! Thank you both so much!! Linda and Tony Wright

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaW63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaandKris, Owner at The Inn at Onancock, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you, Linda & Tony, for your lovely review. You both were a delight and we're thrilled you chose to celebrate your special birthday at The Inn. And congratulations on being our 100th review on TripAdvisor! We so appreciate you finding the time to post a review. Please come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Everything about The Inn, from the warm welcome to the excellent food made our first experience at a B&B phenomenal! The rooms were all beautifully decorated. We stayed in The Maine room. So great!! Cannot say one thing bad about this great Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaandKris, Owner at The Inn at Onancock, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you! Thank you! We loved having you and your friends at The Inn for your getaway and delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. It's folks like you who make this the best job in the world. Come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed in many B&Bs and The Inn was one of the best. Innkeepers Lisa and Kris are knowledgable hosts who operate a first class B&B. It is comfortable, immaculate and well appointed. The rooms are "theme"; French, Tuscany, Oriental and Williamsburg. Each room has either a large "spa tub" or a walk-in shower. A refrigerator in the hall is stocked with water, soft drinks, and a Keurig coffee maker is on the adjacent table. Breakfast is a delicious combination of home-made pasteries (Lisa was a professional pastry chef), and a breakfast entree (we had an omelet aux fines herbes). A nice touch is the "wine down" at six pm with Kris serving chilled wihte wine, red wine or beer. Onancock is charming - a few good restaurants, antique shops and attractive neighborhoods in this small, Eastern Shore town.

Room Tip: Some rooms have large spa tubs and others walk-in showers. All rooms are clean, comfortable and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

While driving through the eastern shore of Virginia over Easter weekend, we happened across the Inn at Onancock, a beautiful half-historic, half-new Victorian home in this rural community. This isn’t the most opulent B&B we’ve ever stayed in, yet considering the surroundings, it is a nice fit. Innkeepers Jean and Walt greeted us warmly and were attentive and friendly. Considering that everything in the area was closed for the holiday weekend, they were especially helpful in trying to find somewhere for us to have dinner Sunday night. We stayed in the Provence Room, filled with bright yellow hues and beautiful Parisian fabrics and prints. After a hot soak in the large claw foot bathtub, it was wonderful to recline in the chaise next to the gas fire in the fireplace. A small frig in the hallway was filled with complimentary beverages for guests and coffee and tea were available as well. Breakfast was fresh and hot (made in a beautiful gourmet kitchen – make sure you take a tour of the whole house if possible!) We enjoyed visiting with the other guests and were sad to only stay one night. Thank you, Jean and Walt for everything!

Room Tip: Each room has a location theme...Tuscany, Asia, Paris...choose your own exotic location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTjernlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at The Inn at Onancock. It was a wonderful experience from the moment we set foot inside the door of this beautifully restored home. We found the innkeepers, Lisa and Kris, to be most engaging and pleased to do whatever we needed to make our visit an enjoyable and memorable one.

We stayed in the "Tuscany" room and found it to be nicely decorated, as well as clean, and quiet. The bathroom was updated with stone tiling, along with a walk-in modern shower with multiple jets, that helped to rejuvenate us!

The "Wine-Down" hour from 6:00 to 7:00 at the inn, was a great way to start the evening. A selection of very nice wines were offered and an assortment of Lisa's home-made appetizers complimented the wine beautifully! This forum gave us the opportunity to chat with the innkeepers who were very gracious and entertaining hosts.

Being unfamiliar with the area, Lisa and Kris were able to offer up numerous suggestions for dinner that were "spot-on!" Bizzotto's Gallery Cafe and The Charlotte Hotel are fabulous local eateries, offering a cornucopia of dishes that will surely satisfy the soul!

We would be remiss, if we did not mention the outstanding breakfasts that were created in Lisa's large gourmet kitchen. She understands cooking (she also offers cooking classes) and prepared delicious dishes each morning for their guests.

Obviously, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful inn. You won't go wrong, if your next journey takes you to The Inn at Onancock, in Onancock, Virginia.

Room Tip: Go to the inn's website for descriptions and images of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northport22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WineDown, Owner at The Inn at Onancock, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. Kris and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. You've set the bar high for us - we have a lot to live up to. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

What a wonderful way to spend a long weekend! We stayed in the Maine Room which was on the top floor by itself. The hospitality was over the top, we felt like we were visiting friends. The food was absolutely delicious, no restaurant could compare to Lisa's crab strata and the chocolate beast treats!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gretch3676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
24.9 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
25.0 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#9 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Onancock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Onancock

Property: The Inn at Onancock
Address: 30 North St, Onancock, VA 23417-1920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Onancock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive as Guests - Leave as Friends Enjoy refined relaxation at a premier bed and breakfast on Virginia's eastern shore. Every room at The Inn at Onancock boasts updated private en suite bathrooms, feather-topped beds dressed in freshly pressed 1000-thread count luxury linens, full gourmet breakfasts & our signature Wine Down Hour. Our Wine Down hour provides select wines and Inn-made hors d'oeuvres, but more importantly, a time to sit together and visit with new friends. The Inn is located within historic downtown with restaurants for every taste, art galleries and antique shops, and the deep-water wharf that provides immediate access to the Bay. Central air and free WiFi is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Onancock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing