We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of an inn in a gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Onancock
Ranked #1 of 6 Onancock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Take a weekend getaway to Onancock, VA to relax. It's like a Caribbean island an hour away from Hampton Roads, everything is slower and everyone is nicer. This must be the nicest place to stay in the area, the owners and usual inn-keepers were away, but Walt and Jeannie did not miss a step! They were great hosts.
As previous reviewers noted all of the rooms are on the second level with the exception of the Maine room (where we stayed). It was great, but at 6'2" I had to do some serious ducking to go between the bed and private bath. The breakfast was great, the social wine hour starting at 6pm was perfect and the company was second to none. We'll continue to be the young couple at B&Bs for the next 30 years!

Room Tip: Maine room is not for those who want to go up an extra flight of stairs. Tuscan room has a stand up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

Lisa and Kris have created a perfect B & B with outstanding breakfasts, thoughtful accessories in and near the rooms, a late afternoon wine and treat in the living room or in the garden, called the Wine Down, and recommendations for enjoying Onancock and Tangier Island. An example of the accessories is a fridge in the hall with water and sodas, and a coffee machine with teas, decaf and regular. Lisa who learned her cooking under a cordon bleu chef presents outstanding treats at the Wine Down, and inventive breakfasts. It is a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Onancock during the weekend after July 4. Lisa and Kris are consummate hosts, and we felt welcomed as soon as we stepped through the doors. Lisa's cooking is fabulous, and we enjoyed a variation on a crab benedict and a spinach & cheese quiche as the entrees for two four-course breakfasts we had over the weekend. Her biscuits, scones, and fruit tarts were also amazing and made-from-scratch. We particularly enjoyed the wine-down hour, and it was a wonderful opportunity to meet the other guests and enjoy some fantastic wines and appetizers. Lisa and Kris also steered us to the Charlotte for dinner, which was also delicious, and were very helpful with directing us to area attractions. They also had many beach items like chairs, towels, umbrellas, etc. available to borrow if you decided to make the short drive to Chincoteague. The Inn is beautiful maintained, and we enjoyed our stay in the cozy Williamsburg Room with the comfortable bedding and bath products. The fridge with waters and sodas was a nice touch, and we also appreciated the Keurig available for guests. Onancock is about a four hour drive from DC, and we would strongly recommend the Inn as the perfect place to stay for a getaway weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lab1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We recently stayed only one night and wished we had planned for more. We were warmly greeted by both Kris and Lisa who are the perfect host/hostess team. This is a beautifully restored and decorated home on a quiet side street but within easy walking distance to town. Little did we know that most of the town is closed on Monday but Kris was able to arrange a dinner reservation nearby. The evening wine reception is a nice touch and the wines offered are of very good vintage. Lisa was very accommodating and was eager to fulfill a special request. We booked the Tuscany room but snuck a peek at all but the Maine, they are all quite nice. There is no doubt you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We are B&B aficionados and highly recommend The Inn at Onancock to anyone looking for a special stay with outstanding hospitality offered by Lisa and Kris who know what they are doing and who welcome their guests with warmth, respect and friendship. When you leave, you will feel you are old friends. The inn is beautifully and lovingly restored, the amenities are perfect, and the "wine down" each evening is special - the best we have encountered at any inn, as the chance to meet your fellow travelers in this relaxed atmosphere is a very nice treat; the wine selection is not "run of the mill", but very nice bottles, and the appetizers served at this lovely cocktail hour are just the right temptation to keep you wondering and anticipating what will be served at breakfast, which is also deliciously prepared by Lisa who is also a trained chef.....so be prepared for some special treats all around.

We had a delightful 2 day stay, not too far from home, but just what we wanted for celebrating our 45th anniversary.

We definitely made the right choice, and if chance permits, we hope to return sometime in the future for another visit with these delightful hosts in their lovely home.

Room Tip: The Maine room is very private and away from the rest of the inn since it is located all by itself o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We celebrated a wonderful wedding anniversary at the Inn at Onancock! The innkeepers Kris and Lisa, who obviously have the “gift of hospitality” were warm, friendly and inviting. We arrived around 4 p.m. and Kris welcomed us in the parking area and Lisa was cooking in her gourmet kitchen. The house smelled of wonderful cooking aromas and made you feel instantly at home. It's true, the Inn is everything all the reviews have said... beautifully restored and decorated. We stayed in the Provence Room which was bright and airy. I loved it the minute I walked in. The room was very private and quiet....we could not hear any of the other guests. I loved the spa like bathroom with claw-foot tub and amenities but my husband would have preferred one of the other rooms with a shower. As for the food....all of Lisa’s cooking was delicious!! You won’t be disappointed! She really went out of her way and catered to me with her wonderful prepared dishes (I am vegan/gluten free). If you are looking for a pampered getaway to a quaint, quiet and charming town with antique shops, a few good restaurants and friendly folks then this is it! We had an absolutely wonderful and memorable stay at the Inn at Onancock.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaandKris, Owner at The Inn at Onancock, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary at The Inn. It was my pleasure to prepare special foods for you and delighted that you enjoyed the Rice Croquettes. I promise to send you the recipe. Please visit us again. You don't need to wait for your next anniversary :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Inn at Onancock in Virginia is a special place where we just spent three nights. The innkeepers, Kris and Lisa, couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in the Tuscany room which was just lovely. The breakfasts prepared by Lisa were beautifully presented and oh so delicious! Wine down hour was lively and a wonderful time to chat with Kris and Lisa and meet the other guests. The wine selection was interesting and the snacks, once again prepared by Lisa, were yummy! It was the perfect getaway in a most charming place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onancock
14 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
160 reviews
24.9 mi away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 20 in Chincoteague Island
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
23 mi away
Kingsbay Mansion
Kingsbay Mansion
#1 of 1 in Marion Station
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Onancock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Onancock

Address: 30 North St, Onancock, VA 23417-1920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Onancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Onancock
Price Range: £150 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Onancock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive as Guests - Leave as Friends Enjoy refined relaxation at a premier bed and breakfast on Virginia's Eastern Shore. Central air and free WiFi is available throughout the house. Every room at The Inn at Onancock boasts updated private en suite bathrooms, feather-topped beds dressed in freshly pressed 1200-thread count luxury linens, full gourmet breakfasts & our signature Wine Down Hour. Our Wine Down hour provides select wines and Inn-made hors d'oeuvres, but more importantly, a time to sit together and visit with new friends. The Inn is located within the walkable historic downtown with restaurants for every taste, and Onancock Creek that provides immediate access to the Bay and stunning sunsets! There is much to do here in Onancock including the typical quaint village activities like antiquing, art gallery mooching, or enjoying a great meal at our several restaurants (open all year) to activities surrounding our deep creek, wharf, natural surroundings, and Tangier Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Onancock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing