We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, Great facility, and DOG friendly, too.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clarenville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wave Hotel and Fitness Center
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, Great facility, and DOG friendly, too.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Do not judge a book by its cover...thus, do not judge this hotel by the outside......

As soon as you step into the environment you are taken into a new, relaxing, energizing setting.
The gym is great and the pool and other offerings are perfect!
However, we all know a building is just a building if you don't have a great staff.
WELL, each and every person we were in contact with was a happy, helpful employee.
The rooms are huge, clean, and the bed are very upscale and comfortable.
You can tell a lot of planning, money, and care has gone into this business.
We wish them much success.
God Bless NFLD.

Room Tip: No restaurant on site but a great continental breakfast is served daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    25
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
20
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St.Albert
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

After reading Trip Advisor reviews back in late June decided to book into the Wave. We did so on-line, about two days in advance, and had to phone in to confirm so not sure what the advantage is <other than to check availability>. There may of been an 'internet discount' of some sort as well as the posted rate <$139 for a King Room> was higher than our actual bill. That being said am happy to report that this hotel lived up to its ratings from other travellers. We had previously stayed at the St. Jude, which was fine, but desired a location 'off-highway' this time and the Wave is located closer to the center of town <wherever that is> but not far from Tim Hortons/Canadian Tire, etc. Our Garmin was once again pretty much useless with the address but just keep your eyes peeled.
As others have noted this doesn't look like a hotel from the outside. It REALLY is a 'hotel' connected to the Rec. Centre ! As such, the girl on the front desk also looks after those using the fitness centre and/or full-sized pool. What we loved about the WAVE was the room -- brand new, hardly been used, fully modern, and quite spacious. Gorgeous bathroom which was a treat after staying in much older versions along the way. The WiFi worked fine and believe the room had a mini-fridge available as well. The rate included a continental breakfast in the morning which was 'satisfactory' and appreciated. Just having real cream for coffee is a plus for us!
The only negative was the noise inside the building <quite echoey> as our room was right beside the main hallway. In retrospect there were double doors which we should of just closed but didn't notice until the next morning. Am sure this noise issue wouldn't normally be an issue but hockey playoffs were going on when we were there and of course there was a certain amount of traffic with those staying up for the game.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. The value and newness make it a 'no-brainer' for anyone travelling in this area.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room further away from the front hallway <off the pool>.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TajanderStAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We had read the reviews before choosing this hotel. At first glance it looked very ordinary as far as the exterior of the building goes. But our room was excellent. The furniture was lovely, the room was new and clean and the bed very comfortable. The continental breakfast was a little lacking but we did not go hungry. The staff was nice and friendly. Even though there was a wedding party going on the hotel was quiet all through the night. We were by pleased about that!
We would stay here again if ever we returned to Clarenville.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Germaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pender Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We walked in the door and registered at the same counter used by the physical fitness addicts. The smell of chlorine was in the air.
We were escorted to our room (very nice touch) and discovered a room furnished with many dressers, desks, and expensive looking furniture. A small fridge was available.
The room was very clean, lots of towels, bed was comfortable. Pool was available any time we might want it--25 metre pool.
Breakfast was very basic toast and yogurt. Not even muffins but we did not starve.
This place seems to be a hotel with a community recreation centre or a community recreation centre with lovely hotel rooms--either way it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mianbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night in the Queen Suite. It suited our needs perfectly! The room comfortably slept 5 (two queen beds and a pull-out sofa). Super friendly staff (especially Lauren, the girl on the front desk and Tina the lady in the office). Pool was huge and convenient. Free continental breakfast the next morning was really great. We really have no complaints! Close to shopping and restaurants. A very clean and comfy stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ss69-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I booked here because of TA reviews and wasn't disappointed. But the exterior is misleading. You pull up to a sprawling building that looks like a municipal sports facility. The building has a large fitness Center and pool attached for both local and hotel guests. However the main floor hotel wing is conventional looking once you enter it. The hotel is new and shows it. Rooms are large and beds super comfortable. The place is very clean and staff super friendly and helpful. Free breakfast in the morning. Unpretentious but great value if a clean,large, comfortable room is what you're looking for.

Room Tip: The location is tough to find. Look for the Canadian Tire store as it's tucked in behind it on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaBushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The service at this Hotel is by far the best I have seen in quite some time. As a patron of The Wave you receive free access to a top quality fitness center, swimming pool, sauna and a great continental breakfast. I have stayed here many times and the staff are always friendly and feel they can never do enough to make my stay enjoyable. The owner shows the true Newfoundland hospitality which is second to none!!!!! The hotel is close to shopping malls and multiple restaurants and only minutes from the highway. On my most recent stay the owner was apologetic in saying " It might be noisy here tonight; I spread some lawn seed today and you know how loud that can get as it grows." Truly a lovable Character.

Room Tip: All rooms are spotless and the Jacuzzi suite was very relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
1.6 mi away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Kilmory Resort
Kilmory Resort
#1 of 1 in Swift Current
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel and Fitness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel and Fitness Center

Property: Wave Hotel and Fitness Center
Address: 11B Blackmore Ave, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Wave Hotel And Fitness Center Clarenville, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing