We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Trust Reservations”
Review of St. Jude Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Jude Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Do not trust this hotel’s reservation system. In August 2010 we were taking our Champion Newfoundland Dog to a show in Newfoundland. I had purposely telephoned to reserve a room because St. Jude had advertised as being ‘pet friendly’ and I had wanted to make sure they understood we would be bringing a Newfoundland Dog. I was assured I would be assigned a ground floor room. When we arrived the reception clerk said the reservation record made no mention of a dog and that all their pet rooms had been rented. This clerk had no interested in doing anything other than saying no. Another staff person eventually came out of an office and said there was another place in the town that took dogs. I returned to my van to discuss the situation with my wife. The second person came out and said that the other place had a room. I did not want to commit without seeing it. When we went there my wife was told that the last room had just been rented. We cancelled our dinner reservation at Bacaclo Restaurant and left town. Adding to my annoyance was my assumption that the photos of Newfoundland Dogs in the St. Jude lobby were used to portray friendliness.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank NewfHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for St. Jude Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2010

Rooms are big and clean and reasonably priced. Good location right off the TCH but a 3 km drive into town. Restaurant looked good but pricy and a little fancy for where we were. Overall, good value for what you get.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Overall, no too bad for a one night's stay...hard to call it a hotel, though. We ate in the town, there is a small strip mall and a diner.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank sbmvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

The hotel is situated on the Trans Canada Highway some distance from town. There is nowhere to walk in the vicinity, though the view on a wooded section of the highway is not bad. Without a car, eating in the hotel is the only choice.

Rooms were satisfactory as was the restaurant. Overall, perfectly acceptable for an overnight though probably not longer.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rachida d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DanyQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
0.6 mi away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
48 reviews
19.2 mi away
Terra Nova Resort & Golf Community
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Kilmory Resort
Kilmory Resort
#1 of 1 in Swift Current
47 reviews
Show Prices

Been to St. Jude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jude Hotel

Address: 247 Trans Canada Hwy, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Price Range: £90 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Jude Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Jude Hotel is a Canada Select 3 1/2 star award winning property located on the Trans Canada Highway in the town of Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador. St. Jude Hotel provides a great base from which to explore the historic Discovery Trail with its numerous tourist attractions. We are located within half an hour of major industrial sites including: Bull Arm Offshore Fabrication Facility, Whiffen Head Trans-Shipment Terminal and North Atlantic Refinery. We are open all year round and have a full service restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Jude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Jude Hotel Clarenville, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing