We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ATV trip across Nfld”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarenville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarenville Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ATV trip across Nfld”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

First night on the trail and a welcomed break. This hotel is clean, well situated, nice restaurant, modern rooms. Staff welcomed ATVers, and located us all at drive up rooms, THANKS. There is gas station (convenience store) next door, which was great for us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ScottKenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Group Sales Coordinator at Clarenville Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Your feedback is truly appreciated and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to fulfil any requests that our guests may have while providing the best quality service that you deserve.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    70
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
46
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here October 15th and the rooms are shabby. This place is charging at least 50 dollars more than it should be. If you enjoy listening to the staff hollering at each other in the hallway when you are trying to sleep in the
morning then enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budsybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Group Sales Coordinator at Clarenville Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback, it is important to us. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. These issues have been addressed with our staff to ensure that the problem does not arise again in the future.

We have entirely renovated all of our guest rooms to provide a clean and comfortable atmosphere, while keeping our prices comparable with other establishments in the area. Our goal is to provide guests with everything they need at a great value.

If you would like to discuss this matter directly please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Regards,

Jennifer
Group Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean, balconies nice if weather cooperates. Friendly front desk staff.
The restaurant though, needs help. Food is good enough, when it finally comes. Done by contract staff, and each server has a table, so you can't just expect help from any of them, it has to be your server. Once the 2 fast food places are open next door, there will be a reasonable alternative.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on an ATV trip. Our whole group stayed here. The rooms were all renovated. The beds were great. Don't let the outside fool you. I would highly recommend staying here. The restaurant was great also for our evening meal and breakfast. This was not far off the ATV trail.

Room Tip: Parking out back for ATV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15Fathoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a full service hotel, 2 stories (no elevator), built on a slope so 2nd floor rooms are on the same level as the lobby/restaurant/bar. First floor rooms are on the level of the parking lot. Second floor rooms have a small balcony. Rooms are moderate size, with mid-range hotel decor. Rooms are clean and in good condition. Bathrooms have been updated with floor to ceiling tile on the walls, floor and tub/shower area, and are sparkling clean. But a word about the bathrooms--they are tiny! (about 2' x 5'--the size of a stall in a public toilet). The bathroom has the toilet and tub. A tiny alcove in the room holds the wash basin and an open closet. The alcove is just large enough for one person to stand in it.

The room, however, is a moderate size. Window opens, A/C unit has digital temperature adjustments, lighting is good, with reading lights above the bed. There is a refrigerator, 2 folding stands for luggage, sofa chair and desk. Mattress was very soft--too soft for me. There was no traffic noise.

One serious lapse was the absence of a security chain for the hall door. Short of propping a chair against the door knob, there was no way to prevent unwanted entry into the room.

The hotel restaurant apparently is operated by another company; service was inattentive and abysmally slow. Fortunately, there is a new Tim Horton's outlet under construction across the street which should be open soon. Otherwise there are no other close restaurant choices.

On a positive note, the front desk staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant; quite a contrast to the service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I found this hotel to be surprisingly good, having expected to face a fairly standard highway motel kind of situation.

The room was spacious and clean, and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant was open until fairly late at night, the service speedy and the food good.

For the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I atte at the CI on Sunday Sept. 8th. As usual we are always greeted by a server with a nice welcoming smile. Coffee is quickly provided upong request (a lesson that all diners and restaurants should take note of) and I need my coffee on a Sunday morning! I had the veggie wrap and my bitter half had the lentil and bacon soup. We were both fully satiated with the tasty meal, reasonable price and great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2TsingTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
0.6 mi away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
21.2 mi away
Kilmory Resort
Kilmory Resort
#1 of 1 in Swift Current
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarenville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarenville Inn

Property: Clarenville Inn
Address: 134 Trans Canada Hwy | Clarenville, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarenville Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Inn with a view" Featuring 63 entirely renovated air-conditioned rooms and 5 banquet facilities. Renowned for its panoramic view, this property is located on the gateway to Newfoundland's most prominent vacation destination - the Discovery Trail. Enjoy flavorful and hearty style bistro cooking at Stellar Bistro & Lounge while overlooking picturesque Trinity Bay. Disability accessible, wireless internet, fitness centre, seasonal swimming pool and warm hospitality. If you require any further information please don't hesitate to call, our friendly certified staff will be pleased to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Clarenville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarenville Hotel Clarenville
Clarenville Inn Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing