We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed and handy location”
Review of Clarenville Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarenville Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Comfy bed and handy location”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I give this location a 4 based on the location and the super comfy bed.
This is by no means a 4 by way of being fancy, boutique like or super upscale.
I did not want to rate it lower as the rooms were clean and well appointed and the service was friendly; I had no issues of any sort. So overall it was a very good stay.
The hotel itself is a bit dated but not really in a bad way.
There is an outdoor pool with lounge chairs; it was raining the day we arrived.
The restaurant and upper rooms have a view of the ocean - nice touch, the upper level rooms have a balcony. People smoking on adjacent balconies may have contributed to a slight smoky smell in the room when we first arrived - I didn't notice It much after that.
Hair dryer, fridge, pant press even, towels, soaps, coffee maker .. all that stuff.
The door issue - self clicking handles are loud - I though, as In most cases our neighbors were letting the door slam but came to realise that there was just no way to close the door quietly. Luckily the hallways rolled up at 11PM and this was not an issue the evening we were there.
We did visit the restaurant later in the evening for a glass of wine, a bowl of soup and a coffee with apple pie. The soup was good, the apple pie was good. We did not actually have a meal there. The restaurant was quite busy at dinner time and in the AM. We had dinner before we arrived and were heading out early so just stopped for a coffee close very by. Also has a sub shop within 2 minute walking distance.
There is a bar room with lotto machines and a connected lounge.
Good value and as mentioned comfy bed, restaurant on site so it was overall a great location and stay with no need to head into town (5 minute drive), unless you really needed to.
I'd definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    78
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
53
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Older clean hotel that is quite nice and the staff is outstanding. The restaurant serves a great breakfast and dinner. The gym is small but no one goes and the pool is outside and is clean. My room was clean and we'll laid out. We rented a conference room and the quality was present there as we'll.

Room Tip: Stay on the main floor sense I believe there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDubinHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here on a training session in Newfoundland...fantastic food and great service standards for a non-chain hotel.
However, the location of my room on the first floor left much to be desired....noise was a huge issue and I could hear every guest on my floor open and close their door as though they were right next to me...other than that, great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita C, Manager at Clarenville Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. The management and staff of the hotel are dedicated to providing the best quality service and comments such as yours reassure we are achieving this goal. Last spring we replaced the exterior doors on the upper level and within the next week we will have replaced all the exterior doors on the lower level. This will certainly help in the noise reduction. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glostrup, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here on my way from west to east. The hotel is located next to the main road, no where near the city.
If you want to eat a nice meal you need to drive to the city, you can't walk, its to far, and I cannot recommend the restaurant.
It took a little while with the check in, but check out was fast.
Rooms are okay, I even had a Apple tv in my room. I was also supposed to have a patio, I do not consider a concrete space of 1x4 meters with no furniture to be a patio, so that was somewhat disappointing, With small windows and all the furniture standing in front of them, the Ocean View also became a disappointment.
The price was a little to high compared to what you got, but that seems to be the price in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms with "Ocean View" will spare you the noise from the Highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knudsen_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita C, Manager at Clarenville Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We appreciate your comments. We are located at the entrance to Clarenville, the town is located just behind the hotel, only a minute away. The distance may of appeared to be further do to our location a top the hill overlooking the town. I am disappointed to hear your visit to the restaurant did not meet your expectations, if you have a particular concern I would be happy to discuss this issue further. We offer many specials from breakfast to dinner. For the summer season we have seating on the patio for two, in addition we have a beautiful patio just off from the dining room and lounge that overlooks the pool and the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our flight was diverted to Gander and we had to spend a night at the Clarenville Inn. The staff were amazing in taking care of us. We checked in late in the night, brought us food (sandwiches) even when the kitchen was closed and the rooms were perfect. Thank you guys as we needed that service after a long day of travel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita C, Manager at Clarenville Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words.

We strive to provide all guests with the cleanest and most comfortable hotel accommodation. We believe our family of staff is our most valuable and reliable asset that would make your stay at our hotel so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

we stayed for one night, the lobby is very nice and inviting, the room was very clean and modern. However, our room had an outside door -which was very convenient- but the door was very drafty, we had to have the heat up high to keep the room warm. The towels were not very plush, seemed very used and cheap. The room had a fridge which would be very useful for long term stays but it was built in the dresser and was very hard to detect it should have been labelled. The bed was very comfortable and had nice coverings. Great front desk service. Had breakfast in the dinning room, the food was good, the hash browns were a lot over cooked but tasty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita C, Manager at Clarenville Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and providing us with an overview of your stay. It is very important to us.

We have entirely renovated all the guest rooms and are in the process of replacing all exterior doors. The top floor has been completed and the bottom floor will be completed by the end of June.

I was happy to hear your night was enjoyable and the bed was comfortable.

Thank you for being your concerns regarding the towels to my attention, the towels we purchase are 10.5 Lb Supreme Quality, and I was surprised to hear they we not suitable. I will be contacting our supplier to voice concerns you have expressed.

Thank you for choosing the Clarenville Inn and we look forward to your return visit.

Regards,

Bonita
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Clarenville Inn to get off the road because of weather. It was very comfortable and well appointed - far better than we were expected. Nice roadside oasis.

Food was decent - not bad but not great - but the service was warm and friendly and it was welcome after a long day on the road.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank djrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
0.6 mi away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
47 reviews
21.2 mi away
Kilmory Resort
Kilmory Resort
#1 of 1 in Swift Current
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarenville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarenville Inn

Property: Clarenville Inn
Address: 134 Trans Canada Hwy | Clarenville, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clarenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarenville Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Inn with a view" Featuring 63 entirely renovated air-conditioned rooms and 5 banquet facilities. Renowned for its panoramic view, this property is located on the gateway to Newfoundland's most prominent vacation destination - the Discovery Trail. Enjoy flavorful and hearty style bistro cooking at Stellar Bistro & Lounge while overlooking picturesque Trinity Bay. Disability accessible, wireless internet, fitness centre, seasonal swimming pool and warm hospitality. If you require any further information please don't hesitate to call, our friendly certified staff will be pleased to help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clarenville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarenville Hotel Clarenville
Clarenville Inn Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing