We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't wait to come back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gros Morne National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middle Brook Cottages & Chalets
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“can't wait to come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

we traveled down to Gros Morne for a family vacation, and were so impressed with Middle Brook! we thought it would just be a one time experience, but now we are already planning our trip to come back next summer. The room that we stayed in was immaculate and a cozy as could be. And the hospitality by the manager - Uena Jenkins, was like no other. It was visiting your long lost favorite Aunt. The gift shop was actually an amazing place to shop - lots of great souvenirs to choose from. And there is a fire pit right beside the park with free fire wood! It was great added bonus to be able to have late night fires right outside of your room. A great vacation for romantic couples, and families as well.

Room Tip: The chalets were very cozy and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights so that we could explore the southern part of Gros Morne and were impressed with the cleanliness of our cottage. The kitchen is small, but functional. The only complaint I would have is the office is open from only noon 'til 6 pm late in the season so we weren't able to do our laundry (we were busy hiking during those hours) and had to go to a laundromat. I'm sure it's convenient during the summer season. The Wifi kept cutting out and we had to wait until noon each day to ask them to reboot the router (a bit of a hassle). Otherwise, it was everything we wanted with a pretty hike up the river in behind as an added bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lingfing22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

As mentioned in many of the reviews, the cottages are very clean and nice. The grounds are kept very nice as well. The manager was very friendly and hospitable. I would highly recommend this cottage. The cottages are in the south part of the park, close to the Tablelands. One word of advice... get your groceries in Cornerbrook, before you come to Gros Morne.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haligonian50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

If there's one word that best describes Middle Brook Cottages & Chalets...it's "immaculate". From the parking lot without a gravel stone out of place (or even touching the lawn) to the cottage interior, we were suitably impressed with the cleanliness & tidiness of Middle Brook.

Our family of four rented a Middle Brook cottage for four nights in August, thinking that we would use its location as a good central base for exploring both halves of Gros Morne park. In hindsight, we underestimated the size of the park and the amount of time it takes to get from one side of Bonne Bay to the other. We probably would've been better off staying only two nights at Middle Brook and two others around Rocky Harbour.

The village of Glenburnie, where Middle Brook is located, is also a little removed from the more touristed parts of south Bonne Bay. If you want something right by the sea, this isn't the place for you. However, on the flip side, there is a stream that runs right next to Middle Brook. A short five-minute walk upstream leads to a gorgeous set of waterfalls...very beautiful & tranquil first thing in the morning.

The well-built cottage that we stayed in had a lot of room for our family...two bedrooms with a queen bed in each as well as a good-sized living room & kitchen. Having a small convenience store on site came in handy as did the laundromat. However, we weren't thrilled with Middle Brook's policy of us having to pay the entire bill up-front...it definitely projects a "lack-of-trust" image.

For dinner, we drove 10-15 minutes to Woody Point and found what turned out to be one of our favourite restaurants on our vacation...The Old Loft Restaurant. They have such excellent food at reasonable prices, we just had to make a return visit !

All in all, a good stay at Middle Brook...would easily recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFamilyPLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed Middlebrook Cabins our first night in Gros Morne. The accomodations were very nice and comfortable. The cabins were very neat and looked brand new. The location was great too for viewing the southern end of Gros Morne and the dinner we had had the Old Loft Restaurant in Woody Point was one of my favorite meals of our entire trip. Thanks to Uena, our hostess, for that wonderful tip and a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

We found Middle Brook through a tour agency - linkum tours and they were spot on with their choice here. The cottages were beautiful with high ceilings, skylights and very nice amenities. There is no restaurant here but several good ones in nearby woody point.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtntech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener,ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed at middle brook this past week. Our stay was a week long. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of our cottage. Uena, the lovely lady who runs Middle Brook was fantastic. She was extremely friendly and asked us everyday if we needed anything. The beds were comfortable, we never ran out of hot water. The property here is very well maintained. There are walking trails nearby as well as a waterfall.
I think this place is great and will definetly be back again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeckysni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Morne National Park
15.4 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
14.9 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
16.5 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
10.3 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Brook Cottages & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Brook Cottages & Chalets

Property: Middle Brook Cottages & Chalets
Address: Rte 431 | Glenburnie, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Gros Morne National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Middle Brook Cottages And Chalets
Middle Brook Cottages & Chalets Hotel Gros Morne National Park
Middle Brook Cottages & Chalets Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing