We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected and Relaxing”
Review of Gros Morne Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gros Morne National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gros Morne Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

After a long drive across Newfoundland my friends and I arrived expecting little more than your average cabin experience, but were happily surprised by what we found. The cabins were so comfy that we almost didn't want to leave to go explore the rest of Gros Morne. Eventually we did, but it was amazing to return to the cozy little rooms and simply relax on the comfy couches.

Hand made quilts, charming decor, warm environment and best of all.. an incredible view of the harbour and stunning sunsets!

The staff are super friendly as well. The wifi was very low in our cabin, so they immediately offered us a new router to try and invited us to use the conference centre as we pleased.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone visiting Gros Morne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattlestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed in the cabin for one night while on business. The cabins are clean, spacious, and a fully equipped kitchen. There is a store/grocery store next door which is very convenient. A very quiet area and as my title says, oh what a view. Nice large window looking out over the ocean. I have no problem returning to this establishment again.

Room Tip: Bring your camera
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 835Dolores709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We just enjoyed three nights in Gros Morne Cabins. We thought these were a good option in Rocky Harbour. We choose cabins cause we were a group of 8. You'll find cheaper cabins, but they most likely won't be on the beach, and with the same ocean view. These cabins were clean and well equipped. There is also a store on site, and a restaurant across the street. Rocky Harbour is a good location for exploring the northern side of the park... only a 25 minutes drive to western brook pond, 10 minutes to Gros Morne Mountain, and 5 minutes to the visitor center.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canuk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed one night and, yes, they are a bit pricey but very clean and comfortable - which I'll take any night/day over unkept and a lumpy mattress. The kitchen is a bit dated but the bathroom seems recently renovated and has one of the old style shower heads that doesn't require chasing the water around the tub to have a shower. Plenty of towels and I noticed the staff air drying laundry on the clothes line for the two days I was there. The bed was extremely comfortable. It's outport NFLD so I wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton but a couple of tips: 1.The wifi doesn't work very well as you get further from the office but the rooms are hard wired so you're ok if you have a laptop (the girl at the office gave me a network cable to use) 2. Lock that storm door at night or you'll likely wake up to the noise of wind banging it back and forth and hope that your neighbours do likewise.

All in all, a good value and I definitely would stay there again as well as suggest it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The cabin(#11) was very clean and lovely inside but the price for four of us in a two bedroom cabin with no wireless and no breakfast was more than it was worth for a one night stay. View & location to sites in the park was very good. Lots of towels and fully equipped kitchen. Earles across the street is great - tastiest moose I've had!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torontolove2travelb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is the place to stay while exploring the park! We had a one bedroom cabin (#5) for 4 nights at the end of August. We wanted to explore the park and figured that Rocky Harbour was the most centrally located place to stay (no more than an hour's drive to anywhere in GMNP). In April we did a little research on accommodations in RH and these cabins stood out to us from everything else. What an excellent choice!! The cabin was cozy (plenty of room for 2), comfortable, and clean. Nice little living area with dining table, bedroom just large enough for a comfortable queen size bed and dresser, a good sized bathroom with a nice shower, and a well-equipped kitchen. Nice view of the harbour and lighthouse from the living room picture window. Also enjoyed the picnic table outside out cabin. It truly felt like you were coming home everyday. The staff at the cabin office, as well as the staff that worked the general store, were very friendly. The general store is a great place to stock up on breakfast staples (as well as beer), and Earle's restaurant was close enough to walk to for dinners. We would definitely stay there again next time in RH!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJohn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Cabin clean but overpriced by a large margin in its category. Check in was fast but had to make three visits to the office to enquire about wireless internet. Even though we were close to the office still no wireless. Getting information about cabin, internet and places to eat was like pulling teeth. Has BBQ but share between cabins, good luck if it is a nice day. No Balcony or chairs to enjoy out door view. For the price I sincerely expected more... Overall disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gros Morne National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
117 reviews
23.6 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Out East B&B
Out East B&B
#4 of 4 in Norris Point
22 reviews
23.4 mi away
SeaBreeze Bed and Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gros Morne Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gros Morne Cabins

Address: 66 Main Street | P. O. Box 151, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gros Morne National Park
Price Range: £56 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gros Morne Cabins are located amidst the scenic beauty of Western Newfoundland, Canada, in the heart of Gros Morne National Park. We're a cozy and picturesque property nestled along the waterfront offering spectacular view of the ocean. Open year round to provide you with first class accommodation, truly a home away from home. "My favorite thing about the Gros Morne Cabins? Pulling up and seeing the long lines of freshly laundered sheets billowing in the sea breeze, like a Christo installation." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gros Morne Cabins Hotel Gros Morne National Park
Gros Morne Hotel
Gros Morne Resort
Gros Morne Cabins Newfoundland
Gros Morne Cabins Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing