We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Sheppard's B and B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trout River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheppard's B and B
Ranked #1 of 1 Trout River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B and B. The room was spotless and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was genuine. As the house is up high, the view from the bedroom was especially nice. We would return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveandbreathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I stayed one night with Tom&Doris. We were planning on camping but my husband was coming down with a cold and the weather was turning bad. The Shepards have a beautifull home on the hill overlooking Trout River. Our room was great but the best part was how welcoming this couple was. Fantastic breakfast even though Doris had pulled her hip and was up all night. Would highly recommend .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank californiagal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I were on our second visit to Gros Morne and selected Sheppard's mostly for its location near hiking trails in that part of the park. Doris and Tom are lovely. Doris makes every effort to ensure that her guest's stay exceeds expectations; even with their 5 star rating. The rooms are immaculately clean. The food is plentiful and every breakfast was different (We stayed 4 nights). Tom and Doris knew the area intimately and were very informative with regards to both hikes and restaurants. There are various common spaces throughout the house and we particularly enjoyed our glass of wine sitting on the lawn chairs overlooking the town and harbour of Trout River. While Trout River has only two restaurants there are additional places to eat in Woody Point. When in Trout River do try to find the time to walk the short community trail at the sound end of the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were two couples and stayed two nights. It was part of a two week B&B tour of Newfoundland during which we stayed in 8 different B&B's all over NFLD. We can honestly say that the Sheppard's B&B was by far the best. THE ROOMS WERE VERY WELL FINISHED AND COMFORTABLE. THE breakfast was excellent and Tom and Doris are wonderful hosts. They were very kind to allow my wife to do the laundry while they were gone for a short while. It was like being at home. It is very close to the Tablelands in Gros Morne.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here on August 11h, 2013 for 2 nights. We were late in arriving and we were warmly greeted by Doris with a huge hug! She was afraid that something had happened, but we weren't able to call her as our Rogers cell does not work in Newfoundland (except in St. John). She showed us around and made us feel at home even though she was ready for bed and a long day ahead of her. She made us feel right at home from the get go! Room was immaculate, bathroom was super clean... we can't say anything but positive things about this B&B. Both Doris & Tom prepare a great breakfast (what choices!!!). Should we ever be in the area again, we will certainly be staying with Doris & Tom! something NOT to be missed! Thank you both for a wonderful, albeit short, stay!

elizabeth & Irwin

Elizabeth & Irwin

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Only had one night here with our wonderful hosts, Doris and Tom- so hoping to make it back again for our awesome first visit to New Foundland! And to spend more time around the picturesque setting of Trout River and Sheppard's B and B. Great room, great breakfast, great everything! Went down to the Seaside Restaurant for dinner- yummy! Tried the famous cod tongues and cheeks for the first time-pretty tasty:). A must stop if you are looking for a warm and friendly place to stay. Susie and Keith, Burlington, Wisconsin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sus593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Sheppard's B & B in Trout River last month. The hosts, Doris and Tom, were very welcoming, warm people. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and totally clean. We had a great time swapping tales of our excursions in Gros Morne with the other guests, over hearty and delicious breakfasts. The B & B is in a quiet location overlooking Trout River with fabulous views of surrounding hills and mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreeneMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sheppard's B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheppard's B and B

Address: 1 Sheppard's Lane, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Trout River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trout River
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 2- story house over-looking the Town of Trout River .360 degree views, Tableland Mountains, Trout River Pond and Alantic Ocean, Very quiet away from main traffic ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing