We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic & good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Restaurant

Seaside Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Winner of Hall of Fame Restaurant! Harp Music on Sunday & Wednesday evenings! 7 to 9 pm Seaside Restaurant is located in the most scenic part of GROS MORNE NATIONAL PARK, in the small fishing village of Trout River (Route 431), on the beachfront overlooking the ocean with its spectacular sunsets & a kilometer of boardwalk... less than a 10 minute drive from the Tablelands Exhibit. Enjoy the best of Newfoundland cuisine and enjoy beautiful sunsets over the water. After a hike up the Tableland Mountains, or a boat tour up Trout River Pond, this is a great place to come and relax with some real cultural delicacies and picturesque view. Great Food, Great Wine & Great Views of the Ocean!
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic & good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our party was comprised of four adults and we came over from Woody Point for fresh fish. It was a quiet Monday night and so we were seated beachside looking over the bay at Trout River--all the better to enjoy a very colorful sunset at the end of our meal. All of us ordered fish (turbot, cod, cod cheeks) and neither the scallops or lobster so cannot comment on these. The fish is so well cooked (not over done) that it doesn't come close to needing any tartar sauce (and, none is served!). Our mussels, served as an appetizer, were good and the wine broth just right. I liked the buns! They are big and fresh and yes, most likely come from a commercial provider--regardless, the food is excellent. The service was also good and we good-naturedly served as a "test" table for a new server. She was pleasant and efficient with a good sense of humour. If in Gros Morne, reserve a night to have lunch or dinner here; you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Centre_of_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    78
    25
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Yum! Snow crab legs!! Bonus hike nearby to the onland sea stack. Nice boardwalk along the waterfront. Fabulous seafood and fabulous view...great combination!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious, seafood! Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We had for lunch a simply named but totally excellent fish burger and the freshest and most delicious lobster on the island. Several days later we drove back down from Cow Head just for a second lunch. Superb again! Fish cakes were delightful. Service both days was excellent! 1892 on tap. A little slice of heaven, harbour side, in this tiny fishing village.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank opines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and breathtaking view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I dined here as it came highly recommended by our inn owners. We were not disappointed. First off, I must say that my husband does not eat fish, I repeat, he does NOT eat fish. Well, he was forewarned that he would have to suck it up as we are traveling Newfoundland where they are known for their seafood.. He ordered the cod and gobbled (almost all of) it up. Our waitress was very sweet and became our personal photographer, we wanted pictures of us and the beautiful sunset.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor,Ontario,
Level Contributor
437 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“It Be the Fish What Makes the Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Dead whale is gone so there will be, we can honestly say, no whale meat tonight!. But, if you want an exceptional feed of lobster or snow crab this lovely little restaurant overlooking Trout River's bay is a great spot. Service might be a tad slow but when you are visiting and travelling in western Newfoundland--what's the hurry? Indeed, take a walk along the extended boardwalk along the shore passing right before the restaurant. Explore the wonders of delicious fresh Newfoundland fish; indulge in a plate of cod tongues if available and, most of all, take on a mighty lobster or enormous snow crab. This is a fish restaurant and, if the wine list is short, the Quidi Vidi beer list is good. Enjoy the scenery; drool over the fish; and don't worry yourself too much if the service is a trifle slow. A great place for sea food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaside Restaurant also viewed

Woody Point, Gros Morne National Park
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park
 
Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park
Trout River, Gros Morne National Park
 

Been to Seaside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing