We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious - great location”
Review of The Tides Inn

The Tides Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norris Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tides Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Norris Point B&B and Inns
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious - great location”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Tides Inn was a great place to call home for our 3 day visit to Gros Morne. Room was very new and clean. Beautiful views of Tablelands and the surrounding area. Norris Point is a quiet area - one could sleep with the window open.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onyx65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were a little taken aback when we drove up to this place as it sits right on the side of the road. The tide was out in the cove, so that view wasn't too lovely at the time, either, but once we opened the door, we were pleasantly surprised.

I don't know whether or not this is a new or recently renovated property, but it was certainly in good condition when we visited. We had a deck overlooking the cove with a lovely view (once the tide came in). Across the street there are a couple of churches and their cemeteries. A short walk in that direction allows you to view another cove and the tableland area of the park, complete with snow fields still present in summer.

The room was beautifully appointed and the dining area gave our family of four room to spread out (a small love seat might be nice to sit on, too, since the room is certainly large enough to accommodate it). The fold away bed my younger son used was very comfortable (not always the case with such beds - a couch that makes a bed might be useful).

Even though there was no breakfast provided, there is a small grocery one minute down the road in one direction, and a neat little restaurant that makes muffins, coffees, teas, etc. for breakfast one minute down the road in the other direction.

We thought the room a bit pricey not to include breakfast, and those who want a true B&B experience will be disappointed, as there is no interaction with any innkeeper (all interactions were by phone), but the room was nice, as was the bath....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcconnellboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Thomas, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. All of the rooms are comfortable, roomy, and well appointed, but try to get one of the two rooms upstairs. They are large and have a private balcony overlooking the cove. It's worth carrying your bag upstairs to just stay in these gems.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inukshuk108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived in Norris Point at sundown. The inn was very easy to find, right on the main road. Although no staff person was there to check us in, they had left a note with our keys and a telephone number if there were any problems.

We got into our rooms, and were awe-struck. Such beautiful rooms! And although there was no breakfast provided, there were muffins, yogurt, juice, tea and coffee provided in the rooms. When we checked out, we met the owner, Karen, who was extremely friendly.

Overall, a very nice experience, and we would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

If you're looking to experience Newfoundland hospitality, you won't find it at The Tides Inn. Visiting numerous B and B's on our recent NL trip, we found this place disappointing. We never met anyone associated with this establishment, except the cleaning lady in the morning. No greeting to welcome us, but a piece of paper and a key. The room and view were nice and breakfast was already in our room for the next morning. The room was overpriced and we were disappointed with our experience and would not recommend The Tides Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wferkranus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in this beautiful inn. Room was n 2, ground floor, beautiful porch and view, luxury room and bathroom. There are a couple of BUTs. Nobody there for check in, we found our room and way thanks to a welcome piece of paper and two guests saying host would only be around until 8.30 am. It was by chance that we met her at 9 am for check out. Not there I care about being welcomed but complete absence is not an option. This place is not cheap and I also payed for service. Breakfast: true, gorgeous muffins left on the microwave in the room BUT no milk, no cereals, no fruit, no instant coffee (filtered only) not even a small table for breakfast outside. This is the most expensive place of our 3 weeks vacation, not the best.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Squirtle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent 2 nights here and absolutely loved it. The rooms are incredibly clean, the decor is lovely, and the view is beautiful. The Inn is within easy walking distance of activities such as sea kayaking and the aquarium at Norris Point. The town is very picturesque and the people are all very friendly.
Would recommend this location to any of my friends and family visiting Gros Morne.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quietharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norris Point
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Property: The Tides Inn
Address: P O Box 10, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Norris Point
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Tides Inn Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing