We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location & Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norris Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Garden Cottages
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect Location & Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We loved our stay at Big Garden Cottages, cabin #5. The cottage looks out onto the scenic Harbour. Dora and her sister were very helpful.
This is a very clean and spacious. We had two bedrooms with double beds, fully equipped kitchen, dining table and chairs, living room with TV and a nice bathroom. Very comfortable. Although dishes, cutlery, glassware are supplied as well as cooking utensils, remember to bring your own salt, pepper, sugar and the like. Most people, on their way in bring their supplies from Deer Lake's Foodland but that is a good hour's drive. RJ's Convenience Store across the harbour has most staples and it has a bakery with fresh partridgeberry muffins and breads. They also sell home made jams and jellies. The location is about 10 minutes drive from Rocky Harbour and easy access to the water taxi and Gros Morne attractions.

Room Tip: We loved #5 as it looks directly onto the scenic harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talktomona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed for 6 nights. Cottage was larger than expected. Very clean. We did not expect that EVERY kitchen utential would be available, nor is it to be expected that ANY foods would be supplied. We were told ahead that it would be best to get any groceries at Deer Lake on the way in as variety was not available locally.
Views from the cottage itself are limited but are certainly there short walk & drive away.
Gros Morne and other attractions are withing driving distance.

I have already recommended Queen size beds ( there is room in the cottage) and I understand this is being considered.

We would (and hope to) visit again this area and will stay here.

Dave T

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in cottage #4 for 9 nights and felt right at home. The cottage was very clean and the mattresses were new and provided a good nights sleep after hiking the nearby trails. Dora provided the friendly down east hospitality that made our stay more enjoyable. We especially appreciated that our Wheaton puppy Mya was more than welcome here. Lastly the location is perfect for exporing Gros Morne National Park and we really enjoyed returning to the cottage at the end of the day, sitting on the two Muskoka chairs with refreshments in hand to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Honestly, I don’t understand why Big Garden Cottages was given such a high rating on this site. The cottages are clean, but they have just the basics and nothing else, no character at all. Only one small pack of coffee is provided along with 4 coffee filters and sugar (just enough for the length of our stay). There are no basics (butter, oil, etc.) for cooking and the utensils are quite limited. Don’t even think of cooking lobster there since you won’t find any lobster crackers. The cottages are supposed to accommodate 4 people, but if you are traveling with another couple, you’ll find that the double beds are not suitable for two people unless you are very short and tiny. The only positive aspect of our stay there was the moose that visited the property at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This was the first place we stayed out of three places while on holidays, and by far our favorite. The place was great and the views spectacular! Nice evening walks along the water. Very quiet town. The cabin was very clean, very roomy, and we all slept very well. There was a bbq and a firepit. The owners were difficult to reach, and we never did get a hair dryer, but we made do. Had a great time at Western Brook Pond boat tour, and did some hiking on many of the close by trails. Fairly close to amentities, such as stores, but need to drive. Overall good location within Gros Morne park and very clean. We would return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMANDAGDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

we stayed one week in cabin # 5 in late September of this year, 2011, and we loved it, quiet clean and with great views, a good location to day trip to Western Brook Pond, the Tablelands, and many features within a couple of hours of this location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

This place is fantastic. Located across from Neddie's Harbour with the Tablelands as a backdrop. Both sunrise and sunset views were spectacular. The cabin was very clean, very roomy and well equipped. It was quiet at night and we slept well. There was even a BBQ for grilling fresh fish that you can buy from the local fish market in Rocky Harbour. We stayed for 5 nights and it was a great home base for exploring all of Gros Morne. You can stroll along the rocky beach at low tide. Norris Point was a lovely little town that was hard to leave. If you are there on a Saturday - stop by the Cat Stop Pub to listen to a local muscian play outside in the sunshine. Will most certainly return to Big Garden Cottages when we visit Gros Morne again.

Room Tip: Cabin 3 had a great view out the living room window and the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelasadventures63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norris Point
4.7 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Norris Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gros Morne Suites
Gros Morne Suites
#6 of 15 in Rocky Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Garden Cottages

Property: Big Garden Cottages
Address: Park House Road | P.O Box 173, Norris Point, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Norris Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Norris Point
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Big Garden Cottages Norris Point, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing