We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Abe's Little Harbour
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Jost Van Dyke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Belize
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had a large lobster and some curry chicken. Both were excellent. Usually not very crowded, so could be a great place if you are trying to have a very peaceful meal.

Eunicey also rents cars on the island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank scro830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    2
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best lobster on the island !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This restaurant is right on the shore in Little Harbor with a dock where boats can come in, tie up and have a great meal --- the best lobster on the island !!!

You need to call ahead for reservations. It is a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff is courteous, friendly and prompt. Yeah, you may have to get your own drinks (it's an honor bar) but it is fun !!! So just relax, enjoy the setting, the food (did I mention the lobster is awesome !), the company and the drinks --- you are in paradise !!!!

Our lobster meals weren't anything fancy ... you get a salad and the entree consists of a huge lobster (the whole thing!!!), slaw, corn on the cob and rice --- but the combination is fantastic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoItOnABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Dinner on Jost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

You want to eat where the locals eat? You want a huge lobster for dinner? You want the best location, seaside, for dinner? You need to get over to Abe's for dinner! Everyone there is so friendly. Service is quick and everything is absolutely delicious. Call ahead for reservations.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoddessOfTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our cab driver called ahead and "pre-ordered" our food. However, when we got there we couldn't get ahold of anyone to help us. They don't have traditional servers, you pour your own drinks and grab your own beers from the bar and wait to tell the man to mark it in a notebook.

Our group of eight wanted individual plates off of the dinner menu. Unfortunately, the man with the notebook wouldn't take our order and sent us to the kitchen. The kitchen wouldn't let us order anything but the $60.00 all you can eat buffet. In reality, all of us wanted different individual plates ranging from $30 ribs to $60 lobster. The kitchen went as far to tell half of our group that the other half ordered the $60 buffet and we should follow suit. Because the buffet was completely depleted of any decent food, we demanded to order as originally requested- individual plates. The kitchen then told us they would accept our orders if we went back to the bar to tell the man with the notebook... the man who wouldn't accept our order in the first place and kept sending us to the kitchen. After so much back and forth all eight of us went outside and waited for a cab.

What a completely ridiculous experience. Unprofessional. Many people may shrug the inconveniences as "island time" and "laid back" but in reality it's 1-star, rude service. Lazy staff cost them well over $500.00 just with our group. I don't doubt their food is good, I wish I could've tried it, but avoid if you're not willing to take a gamble with service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san juan, pr
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incorrect map location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We are here now and Abe's lobster restaurant is in Garner Bay on the water; not inland like the app is showing. Beautiful sunsets and Christmas lights.

Helpful?
Thank csach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abe's Little Harbour also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Abe's Little Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing