We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must have patties and johnny cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar and Spice

Sugar and Spice
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Jost Van Dyke
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“must have patties and johnny cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

It is places like this that keep me coming back to the Islands. Joan is the real deal and this place serves up some serious beef patties, chicken patties, rotis and Johnny Cakes. Come early and come often.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john_coleman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must stop on JVD!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Everybody knows about Foxy's, Soggy Dollar, and Corsairs buts its a local place like this that made our trip perfect. Joan and Kenny were two of our favorite people on the island and they couldn't be more accommodating. We first met them through renting a dinghy for the day. Its a cheap $100 plus gas and if conditions are right, you can explore Sandy Cay, Sandy Spit, and Little Jost. Unfortunately, conditions weren't great, so Kenny offered to drive for us for the same fee and plus a tip. Kenny's experience and knowledge provided us with our favorite day of the entire week long trip, so we were more than happy to throw him some extra cash. He brought us to all the must sees via dinghy and we even stopped for a drink at Foxy's Taboo. We had the same exact experience that some of the larger outfits provide, for almost half the cost.

To top off a great day on the sea, Joan had a home cooked lunched ready for us as soon as we returned. We wanted to try the local fare, so she made us a chicken roti and lobster roti. They were both incredible and was the cheapest meal on the island. Our only regret was not asking Joan to cook for us earlier in the trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cridg1zt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, Ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Special orders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Ask Joan for special orders the location is at the ferry dock.
She has snacks and meals.
Get a drink and snack before hiking to White Bay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BVI_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband, son and I traveled on the ferry from St. Thomas to Jost Van Dyke. We left pretty early and were unable to eat before we left. Upon arrival, we were immediately greeted by Sugar and Spice. It is a very clean (the entire island felt very clean!) little restaurant and will be the first thing you encounter when walking off the dock.

The food....upon arrival, we wanted breakfast. My son, the picky eater, had a grilled cheese. Perfect. My husband had an egg, ham and cheese breakfast sandwich. Perfect. I had ham and cheese with lettuce and tomato. Again, perfect. But the most amazing part were the patties. We had beef and chicken. They were fresh and amazing! I'm still thinking about them. They also provide a nice selection of bottled drinks, both alchol and non alcohol. We spent $35 for breakfast...3 snadwiches, 2 patties, 4 bottled drinks.

After our day at the AMAZING beach of Jost Van Dyke, we returned to the ferry and stopped again at Sugar and Spice. My son was asleep and there was a nice little sandy spot to lay him down for his nap. My husband and I had the bbq pork and the bbq chicken. Each came with rice and cole slaw. The meat and cole slaw were great. Rice needed some help. So we just ordered more patties. :) We spent $40 on lunch...4 drinks, 4 patties, chicken and pork.

The service....Service is amazing. It seems like the owner has SEVERAL people either working for her or at least rooting for her. Everyone around the restaurant was talking about her and helping us out. She has a couple of picnic benches outside of the restaurant and a little covered area as well. It was a very "whatever you want, we got" sort of attitude. Very helpful and accomodating.

Can't wait to return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mary5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just like home - in the islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Home cooked, great taste, full portions, Worth the stop.
Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner, Sugar and Sice is always sure to please. Special orders are no problem.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd-and-Brenda-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar and Spice also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sugar and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing