We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation we hoped it would be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastle Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jost Van Dyke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandcastle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jost Van Dyke
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Vacation we hoped it would be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed for a week in a garden cottage (no a/c). Checked in on Monday afternoon after a full day of car, shuttle buses, planes, taxi's, boat ferry's...it was a journey. Once we arrived at SC, Claire met us and showed us to our home for 7 nights. She was very friendly and explained how things worked, how and when to order food, etc...The cottage was very nice and clean. King sized bed, plenty of fans and lots of books. Good storage for clothes, a safe and mini fridge. Outdoor shower which was fine by us - not creepy at all. Once we were settled we went to the bar for a drink (s) and off to the beach for the sunset. GLORIOUS! The dinners are wonderful at SC - Talapia, duck, Lamb, veal, kung pow chicken...it goes on. The menu rotates every Thursday with 5 new items. Service across the property was excellent! Mic and Shaneek at the bar, Winsome and Claire all over the place and everyone else we encountered treated us great, but let us enjoy our vacation without hovering. This is not a "hotel" with services and staff waiting at your beck and call. If you need or want anything - they are on it and with a smile. The setting is incredible, as others have said. I just wanted to put in my review that we had hoped in would be a great vacation for our 21st anniversary and the whole team at SC exceeded in every way.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the non A/C rooms. We had plenty of fans and once its dark, it cools off quic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCeyecandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    17
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We usually charter a sailboat for our BVI but trips but decided to stay on island. We rented their AC room with meal plan. I have nothing, absolutely nothing to say bad about the entire stay other than we had to leave. They have service and systems down to a science. The property is so well maintained and they thought of everything to make you feel comfortable, taken care of and safe. The staff is amazing. Everyday a wave of boaters come in and fill the place with tons of laughs. You get to meet new people every minute of the day. The food was really good. The bar tender Mic wins the bar tender of the year award for sure. He is a 1 man show at the bar for most of the day until one of the other staff members lends a hand taking lunch orders and making drinks. Mic tends bar for 100's a day with a smile, with speed and he remembers your name and what you are drinking. Loved every minute of it. I really don't know how they tend to so many and always smile. I do have to say that it is rare to be in the middle of so many people that are having fun and chillin out. No one judges you, no fights, no trash all over the place, no attitudes, just fun! The rooms are clean, comfortable, well appointed, quiet at night. We visited some of the other beach bars in White Bay. Stop by Coco Loco and have the fried calamari, the best I ever had. I have no idea where he gets it but OMG! if you are looking for wonderful beaches, people, food, drinks, sun and relaxation then go. If you are looking for the Ritz stay home. This is not the Ritz but this is my Ritz and this is where I want to spend my vacation. Love the BVI!! Love the Sandcastle and Soggy Dollar. Hello to out there!!!!

Room Tip: They only have 2 AC rooms and I think 6 cottages. No matter what you get they are really nice. Open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebSweeney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Super-friendly people, nice cabanas, and a beautiful beach make this place a great destination. But add to that the unique Soggy Dollar Bar where the "Painkiller" was invented (the unofficial official drink of BVI). The Soggy Dollar is also a perfect destination for day boaters. Keep that in mind when you see the paper money hanging on a piece of tie wire over the cash register and you'll know how the bar got it's name.

Room Tip: They're ALL good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have been to the Soggy Dollar bar over 15 years ago. My wife and I came by boat for a day trip and relaxed and drank Painkillers (their signature drink of Rum, Creme De Cocoa, Orange and Pineapple Juice, topped with fresh Nutmeg.) I remember thinking that someday I would make it back there and actually stay on the property at the Sandcastle Hotel, part of the Soggy Dollar Bar! It actually happened. On June 4/6th I had the pleasure of spending 2 glorious nights in this beach heaven. We stayed in Room #5, which had AC and was exceptionally clean, comfortable and bug-free - not, what you would expect, being right on the sand and a 10 second walk to the water! The property is filled with hammocks and all sorts of lounge chairs, where you can relax under a palm tree as you gaze out into the crystal clear, warm, tourquois waters!

Make sure you get up early to enjoy the beach before some of the day trippers come over by boat. Before 10am and after 4pm, you have the place to yourself and it is an amazing place to spend time and unwind. They serve three meals a day (if you wish to purchase) and the food is really good comfort food. You can also venture out off property, as taxi's are easy to get as the hotel can arrange for you. They are really like one big family that make you feel like you are a part of their place, culture and heritage. My hats off to everyone that works there!

I have made many fond memories here with hopes that I will be able to get back at some point in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I had done JVD on a day trip - twice - and realized we HAD to make this place part of our next trip - and we're glad we did. The Sandcastle/Soggy Dollar Bar is a great place to escape, unplug (although there is Wi-Fi if for some reason you can't live without it) and do a whole lotta nothin' !!

We charted a boat over from where we'd stayed on Scrub Island and got dropped off right in front in knee-deep water - what a way to enter paradise (I think we may've photo-bombed some wedding pictures by accident, so if you are reading this and it was yours, and we did, so sorry!)

We were promptly greeted - we'd reserved one of the 2 A/C rooms (there are 6 rooms total); it wasn't quite ready when we arrived (we were early), so we stored our bags and were promptly introduced to Mic ("the Oldtimer", who knew us only as "#6!" [our room number] for our entire stay) who helped us begin our 3-days of painkillers and Presidente beer. And during our stay, we got to know the folks who were also staying there and it was like our own little resort - which was just too cool.

The room was simple and very comfortable, w/ a king bed. We had a nice little front porch, a great view and from the front door to the water was a 20-second walk - and we weren't even beachfront! No phone, no TV - no problem!

The restaurant has a set menu for breakfast (very good), so you just let them know the day before if you plan to eat there. Lunch offers a good selection of burgers and fish sandwiches. Dinner in the evening was quiet and very good with a variety of fresh fish and other meat (again, just let them know during the day you'll be there for dinner). We were very pleased to stay on the property for almost all of our meals. Another great thing about being here was simply running a tab! We never had to worry about paying as we went, or tipping. You just settle up at the end of your stay, and tip then, too. (If you do get the chance to go, tip them well on your way out - they earn it!)

The beach - if you've been here, I don't need to say anything else, because you know. For those of you that have not been, go. White Bay is quite possibly the most beautiful beach we've ever seen. During the day, folks on the boats come and go for drinks, some food, and just good fun. But in the early morning, and by early evening, you have it all to yourself.

(And while you could spend your entire day the Soggy Dollar Bar, you can take a stroll down the beach - in one direction is One Love, in the other, Ivan's. Or take a cab - or your boat - over to Great Harbor and Foxy's. They are all a real good time)

The staff - they made our stay! You get treated like family - probably better! :) Everyone there is happy to help, happy to chat, and they make sure you have a good time. We met the GM, Tina, when we first arrived, and we saw her around quite a bit. She was always asking and making sure we were doing ok. I'm sorry I can't remember everyone else's name (and they are all awesome), but I do remember Winsome, Simone, Karen, Blossom, Kaneesh - and of course, the man behind the bar making it happen, Mic!

I can't say enough good things- you should just go experience Sandcastle/Soggy Dollar for yourself. We are already making plans to return, hopefully this year, and are trying to figure out how we can make it an annual trip.

Thanks to everyone there!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just spent 5 days in an AC room here and loved every minute of it. The location is perfect. The staff absolutely treats you like family with warmth, kindness, and hospitality. Staying here really feels like you've escaped reality - if you can't totally relax here, you can't relax anywhere. We expected to love the location and the property. We'd visited Jost before but stayed elsewhere. The nicest surprise was how incredibly hospitable every single staff person was to us. They absolutely made the experience. Loved, loved, loved it!

Dining was excellent. Don't miss the pirate's breakfast on Sunday mornings or the key lime pie! Every meal we had was delicious and really exceeded our expectations.

You truly can just pack a carry-on. Bring your swimsuit, a coverup, a pair of shorts, a couple tshirts, and some sunscreen! I guess you need a pair of shoes for the airport and ferry, but you can leave them off once you arrive.

The property provides lots of nice extras that we didn't expect from a 6-room hotel - floats, noodles, adirondack chairs, chaises, hammocks, beach towels, a safe, hairdryer, iron/ironing board (didn't want/need/use that), mini-fridge, lots of books, and free wifi.

This property is NOT for everyone - if you truly want to relax, escape, get away and spend a lot of time with the one(s) you love in a laid-back, low-key atmosphere set on one of the most spectacular beaches in the world, it's for you. If you need tons of nightlife or a 5-star luxury property, it's not.

Room Tip: We felt air-conditioning was important, so we chose one of the 2 a/c rooms over a cottage. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sandcastle for a too brief two night visit before joining friends at a villa rental on Tortola last week. We had visited the BVI's before but this was a first visit to Jost. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the whole staff at Sandcastle- they were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating and went out of their way to assure we had a memorable trip. The room (AC #5) was comfortable and clean, the food (dinner and breakfast) was delicious, and the beach in the early morning and late afternoon after visitors was sublime. The fantastic staff - via email ahead of time (which they answer very promptly) arranged our rental vehicle as well as a dinghy rental for a day, both of which met us at the pre-arranged time with no problems whatsoever. They also graciously made dinner reservations for us elsewhere one of the two nights; however, we both agreed that the food had been much better at Sandcastle and we should have "stayed at home"!
Kudos to Sandcastle and Soggy Dollar for a great and well run destination and for making us feel so very welcome - we will be back!! Thanks Winsome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DnAMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jost Van Dyke
6.2 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
6.1 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
5.9 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sea Crest Inn
The Sea Crest Inn
#3 of 6 in Jost Van Dyke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Hotel

Property: Sandcastle Hotel
Address: White Bay, VG1160, Jost Van Dyke
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jost Van Dyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of the famous Soggy Dollar Bar... and the original Painkiller. Escape, unwind, and truly refresh yourself with a getaway to Sandcastle Hotel, a small resort in White Bay on the island of Jost Van Dyke (British Virgin Islands). Set on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean. A stay at Sandcastle is the cure for the busy, modern life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing