We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Location For a Vacation With Friends”

Review of The Pink House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
deck01
pink02
pink03
whitebay01
sunset
pink14
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RobRozick...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Location For a Vacation With Friends”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We booked both the Pink Houses for our friends wedding on Jost Van Dyke for a week. Both the house we're impeccably clean and well kitted out with all the amenities we could want. The rooms where amazing and each had a view onto the private beach and beautifully clear ocean. The houses are within a short walking distance of the Soggy Dollar and other great beach bars but just far enough away that you are not sharing the beach with the crowds of day trippers to the bars. The manager of the house was really friendly and checked in on use a couple of times throughout the week to make sure we have everything we needed. She was super cool. If you are planning a trip with friends or family where you can all relax, have fun and enjoy unspoiled parts of the BVI's this is a great place to be.

Two suggestions might be to have an option to pay extra to have some basic provisions like water and other goods at the house when you arrive as the nearest stores are a cab ride away. The other would be to have a guide of the area with information on restaurants, cabs etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NativeTex...
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hold my deposit - We're coming back”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My wife & I rented the Pink House Bougainvillea for our anniversary. Yes - just for the two of us. There are two Pink Houses - both with 3 bedrooms. The Bougainvillea has 2 bedrooms upstairs, each with their own full bath; and a half bath in the downstairs bedroom. The washer & dryer are in the closet of this bedroom. The layout of the house offers a lot of privacy as all of the rooms are completely separate of one another and all entrances are from the outside.

The house has a large sun deck and separate covered porch with ceiling fan. This is where we spent most of our time when we weren't at the beach. We loved the location of the house at the end of the beach - on the very quiet side of White Bay. Most of the time, my wife & I were the only people on the east side of the beach all the way to Ivan's. It was so peaceful - almost as if we had an island to ourselves. And conveniently - just steps away to the blender & fridge for a refreshing beverage.

We had the pleasure of meeting the on-site managers. Frankie & Lydia were awesome! Answered our calls immediately and made us feel welcomed and appreciated. Laura handled our rental responsively & professionally. We loved the house so much that we're going back next year. Can't wait! JVD is paradise for us! As a guy said to us on the ferry ride over, "There are JVD people and then there are resort people. Resort people will never understand the appeal of JVD". He is so right.

About the only negative thing I can say is that house could use some updating. We visited the much newer Pink House next door and was amazed at the difference. The flooring & finishes didn't look so well used as ours. But then again, it's a beach house. JVD is meant to be enjoyed outside. If you want perfect floors, granite counters, stainless appliances and big screens in every bedroom, then maybe White Bay isn't what you're really looking for? Maybe a Sotheby home is more your style?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ftnsan
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Celebrate Retirement”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I rented The Pink House Oleander for 2 weeks in June 12' and it was a wonderful time. The house is right on the beach!! Enjoying coffee in the morning on the deck while watching the boats going and coming in White Bay was special.
A few things I would like to share--
Order provisions from Bobby's in Tortola and have them deliver them. This can be done online.
Carry a cooler of frozen meat, chicken, steak, hamburger, etc. It was great not to have shell out money for a cab every night. Cosair's does have excellent pizza.
Less is more-- there is a washer and dryer
The travel day to Jost is exhausting-- but worth every bit of it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: a/c is only in bedrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAL42
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Value not There”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Unfortunately, for the price of a rental in this category, I think the traveler could select other options. There are positives here, one being it's great location on the beach. Many people love Jost Van Dyke for the laid back pace of life and a lively bar scene on the beach. However, the flip side to that is the many pleasure boats and cruise ships that come in for the day. A car is necessary as the walk into the small town will be too arduous for many.

The house itself looks very appealing. Once again, small modifications could have made our trip so much more comfortable. There is a relatively large patio to enjoy looking at the beautiful virgin island views. However, there are few comfortable chairs and no lounge chairs provided. The same is true on the beach. The downstairs "bedroom" is small and does not have a shower or bath. The washing machine and dryer also occupy the space.

The middle bedroom is small with only light coming from one side. Another concern is the frequent loss of power on the island. For this price the owners should provide a generator to prevent the inconvenience of power loss. The dishwasher did not work.

The managers on the island were terrific! Frank and Lydia did everything in their power to make the visit pleasant. We have very fond feelings for them and they are a real asset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach Location
Liked least: Small Bedrooms, uncomfortabe furnishings, non functioning utilities, power loss:no generator
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twagers
ctown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is paradise!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at the pink house for a week and loved it! Upon arrival, the fridge was already stocked with bags of ice. The house was very clean and well equiped with anything you could need. The grill was awesome. We got groceries at Rite Way on Tortola(it's like a Kroger) and grilled out most nights. There were beach towels in each room. In the closet downstairs, there were floaties and snorkel gear. We also used the washer/dryer several times. Everything was updated and well decorated. We loved the various levels and different terraces. The landscaping was beautiful! Frankie came by several times to check on us and take away our trash. Edric was our taxi driver, loved him. He was so helpful. FYI to anyone going to Jost for the first time - Gertrudes had great food, Soggy Dollar is the most fun, and Ivan's has the best drinks. Foxy's had karaoke on Wednesday. It was fun, but Great Harbor was scary at night. Ivan's hadBBQ on Thursday, it was delicious! Make sure you take shoes with you when head out to the other side of the beach, there are rocks and a hill you have to cross (watch the bottom step, it's steep!) The only drawback while we were there was that we didn't have a boat. We could have paid someone to take us out, but we wish we'd had our own. We are already planning another trip!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just being able to relax, no worries
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnMichae...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pink House Bougainvillea - Awesome!”
Reviewed 17 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We recently returned from a 10 day stay on JVD and 7 of the 10 were in the Pink House Bougainvillea. It is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. The views from the house are spectacular. You have access to all of White Bay and then just a short cab ride, boat or drive to Great Harbour. I would agree with another poster, the only bad think about the Pink House is Leaving. It is paradise for us and are already planning our return trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pink House Oleander is an Island Dream House!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Pink House Oleander for our 20 year anniversary! The house was everything the web site said it would be(Private, Beautiful, Quiet, Comfortable,)! The locals are friendly, helpful and it was obvious that they enjoy JVD as much as we did. The worst part of the Pink House experience was leaving(LOL). Returning is a must for us, and we plan to take the kids and stay for two weeks next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing