We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back & Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jost Van Dyke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at Perfect Pineapple January 16th-21st, 2013. I believe we stayed in Cottage #1, #2, and #3 (there were 6 of us) at the top of the hill. Yes, the hill was steep but it was the perfect blend of exercise and didn't bother us at all. To DixieWanderer...if you were the couple in #4 when we were there, my apologies to you for having to listen to our music late at night while we hung out on our balconies :)
The room was extra clean and comfortable. Shower was tiled, large, and clean. Fridge was cold and the AC was even colder. I've stayed at the Pink House twice before and I can honestly say I enjoyed Perfect Pineapple just as much. We had an amazing view.
Since we stayed 5 nights, we decided to rent a car which was totally worth it. Greg picked us up at the dock the night of our arrival and we picked up the rental car the next day.
We brought in staple type groceries (wine, liquor, beer, & snacks) from Tortola but ate lunch and dinner out each day. Soggy Dollar for lunch and Consairs & Foxy's for dinner were our favorites. Bushwacker's at One Love are a MUST! If you want to venture out one day look up our friends that own the Wet Woody's boat out of St. John. They are a blast and will give you a day to remember.
This is my 3rd time to stay on the island and my 12+ time to visit JVD. Perfect Pineapple was the highlight of our stay. Couldn't ask for more...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenkenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013 in one of the cottages (#4, I believe). The space was great and incredibly clean when we arrived. There is a kitchenette, which we didn't have time to use, but we enjoyed having a refrigerator for drinks and leftovers. It was spacious and cleaned every day, which we hadn't even expected.

The beach is about 50-75 ft. away (1-2 minute walk), which was even better than we had expected. We got breakfast sandwiches down in the office - made fresh each day to your request, with eggs, turkey/ham, tomato, cheese, lettuce ($8). There was also a cooler of cold drinks for sale in the office, which was convenient.

Everyone in the office was very helpful calling us cabs to Great or Little Harbor and making us dinner reservations. We did not see Greg that much but he picked us up from the ferry when we arrived on JVD, without us even asking - a very nice touch.

There have been a number of comments on here about how steep the hill is up to the cottages, but it's really not a big deal (although, we're in our 20s and can handle hills) - especially to cottage #4. Our only complaint about the accommodations was the AC unit in the bedroom (which we didn't even use in January, but will definitely keep the room cold if you like it that way) - it had an incredibly bright light that lit up the entire room at night and we couldn't figure out how to turn it off. We just threw a shirt over it and it was fine.

Everything was great and it was a great value and perfect location in White Bay, by the most beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblinDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My husband and I spend 14 relaxing days at the Perfect Pineapple. We stayed at the unit above the office/store. The room was a great location, steps from the beach. We loved sitting on the secluded porch and watching birds, people, weather, everything. Hilda is wonderful, she is helpful from suggestions for lunch, dinner, to finding a bottle opener, to offering suggestions for a hike. She has a helper in the office and she was great too (cant remember her name) GREG! WOW!, he knows how to run a great business. Posh taxi rides and always on time even if island time. Everyone knows Greg and Greg knows everyone so you cant go wrong with his suggestions for anything on Jost. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room above office doesnt have a hike up the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klfkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

As soon as you drive down, or walk down the hill into White Bay, you see the offices of the Perfect Pineapple on the right hand side. The guest houses are further up the hill yet, but also in plain view.
If you are a lucky enough to stay right above the offices, like we did, you will have your own sitting porch just outside your bedroom over looking White Bay and the beach and big ol' shade trees that add a much needed cooling effect in the warm season.
The PP is a 1-2 minute stroll to the beach and all the little eateries and beach bars like the Soggy Dollar, One Love, Gertrudes, and the rest. The place we had was clean and comfortable with two pull out couches that could accommodate more people if needed. Each morning, for a couple of dollars, you can just walk downstairs and get a tasty breakfast sandwich from the ladies in the Kitchen.
I would suggest taking a little walk on the beach than over rocks to Ivan's Stress free bar. It is a way more relaxing place to get a snack and drink when the cruse ships come in and inundate White Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

All hotels on JosVanDyke are overpriced, but the service is amazing! Owner will drive you around and provide ferry pick up and drop off. All hotel and bar owners on the island know each other, so it is a family atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose the room above the main hosue. The other rooms are way up a hill, and you will hike. Soggy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k8etravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed at Perfect Pineapple in March 2012 and had a wonderful time. The unit was very clean and had all necessities. It is not luxurious but you have to know that going in. You do not choose JVD for that. It is all about the beach!! Little time is spent in the units. My only complaint is the refrigerator in our unit did not cool well. Greg and Erica were wonderful hosts and tried to ensure we had everything we needed and were always available to answer any questions or problems. The walk to our unit was challenging but we knew that before we arrived, so clearly it was not an issue. I only say it so you know you have to be in decent shape to walk up it or else request the unit above the office. Greg also provides taxi service so a car is not necessary. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in JVD at PP and can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the bay you need to choose a unit on top of the hill. The lower units a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed at the PP for three nights and stayed in the two bedroom cottage right above the office/store. We all slept like babies every night, the A/C is cold, the curtains black-out any morning sun (we are early risers, but still nice) and the store downstairs was so convenient. We had the "Breakfast" sandwich every morning while there and it really sets your day up for success:) We are planning on staying with Greg and Erica on our next visit and would definitely recommend as a great place to stay. They are extremely accommodating and just a pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jost Van Dyke
14.5 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
1.1 mi away
The Sea Crest Inn
The Sea Crest Inn
#1 of 5 in Jost Van Dyke
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses

Address: White Bay, VG1160, Jost Van Dyke
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jost Van Dyke
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses Hotel Jost Van Dyke
Perfect Pineapple Guest Houses Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing