We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location! Fantastic beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jost Van Dyke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivan's Stress Free Guest House & Campground
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Basic little cabins with an outdoor shower on a secluded beautiful island! Community kitchen w fridge. Bar and outdoor restaurant is also open. The beach is fantastic and the cabins and walking distance to the famous Soggy Dollar Bar. A must visit if you are staying at Ivan's. I have stayed here twice and hope to return I only hope the staff has learned a bit of customer service by then since they are very RUDE! This was the only negative on this little hidden Caribbean gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relax1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Ivan's Stress Free Guest House & Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Ivan's stress free guest house and camp ground is exactly that. What a beautiful place. We stayed in the top half of the pink house. 2 bedroom 1 bath for 4 adults was perfect. Rooms were nice and cold and plenty of fridge room for food and drinks. Make sure you bring food and drinks and water with you as there are not many shops on the island.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank SteveK0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we stayed in arawak for three nights. very clean right off the beach the staff are awesome very friendly a quick walk to soggy dollar if you want to go a five dollar cab ride to foxys do bring bug spray for anywhere on the island

Room Tip: arawak has a nice poor in case it rains
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewHampshireBixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed in the guesthouse studio for a week by myself. Had a balcony, refrigerator, bathroom with standup shower, double bed, and a futon. Would definitely accommodate a couple just fine. Was steps from the beach and bar, and while it's definitely pricier than the campgrounds, it's also got it's own private flushie and shower - if that kind of thing is important to you.... Bed was comfy. Never did get maid service the whole week I was there, but I was by myself and really didn't care. Ivan made a couple of appearances and is a lovely man with great stories to tell - do take the time to talk with him, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cefranzwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The most reasonably priced accommodations on JVD. It's bare bones but unique and worth trying at least once in your life. The shacks are steps off the beach and have recently been redone. More importantly new bathrooms and showers have been added to replace the dread old facility. Ivan is not around much anymore, as he is in poor health. but Tina is always there with a smile on her face and is very helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 and get a beachfront room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Just back from a wonderful stay at Ivan's. My son has been going to the Virgin Islands for his birthday for the past 3 years. Last year he spent part of the time on Jost at Ivan's. He raved about it so much that I went with him this year for his 29th birthday. We stayed in a cabin with 2 double beds. Now the cabin was small, 4 walls - the 2 beds- a mini fridge that worked great - a standing electric fan and a small table. That was all we needed as we didn't spend any time in the cabin except to sleep. The cabin was fully electric which was great so we could charge phones & laptop. I was able to access AT&T with no problem for my iPhone. There was a nice porch with chairs & table where we would sit out & read at night or early morning. Electric light out there as well. I had no problem with bug bites. Of course it is technically camping so you do have to walk to the bathroom in the middle of the night if necessary. There is an older building with a women's & men's bathroom & showers. That one was kept vey clean but there were are a few bugs at times. Again- it is a campground !!! But there is also a very nice new building with 3 toilet stalls and 3 stall showers each side for women/ men. Each morning I saw someone cleaning the bathrooms. There is a communal kitchen where you can store food in a bin with your name on it or in the large fridge. There is a stove, microwave, sink and counters. It's fully stocked with cooking utensils. They are kind of mismatched, but who cares. There is a restaurant at the campground but it's kind of hit or miss getting food there. We made our own meals or went down the beach to the Soggy Dollar. The bar is very small but has great atmosphere. The staff makes you feel like family. They all remembered my son from his stay a year ago. The same people go there every year. I found that really nice. I was not there for the barbecue so I can't comment on that.
The BEACH !!!!! The beach is amazing !!!!!! Beautiful warm water. There are lounge chairs that you can lay on, although some of them are worse for the wear. And a couple of hammocks to relax in.
I plan on returning to Ivan's very year now. It may not be everyone's cup of tea but for me it was paradise !!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you call ahead to make a reservation. I reserved with a credit card. Our cabin was ready w...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the guest houses for 2 weeks. It was my personal bucket list and I have nothing but the best memories! Thank you all at Ivans.
The room was way more than what I expected-it is in the middle of the Caribbean with little resources and they did a great job with decor etc. I was plesantly surprised.
The staff treated us like family. Their hospitality was awesome. Not a single complaint-not one.
Ivan was around a good bit and it was nice chatting with him. His daughters are there too and they are just as friendly.
Remember if you need something, dont expect everyone to drop what they are doing. They were busy most of the time but always took care of us. When you go make sure you set your own watch to Island Time. Its wonderful.
Thursday night BBQ-Good food and lots of fun and dancing to the sounds of Jerry. All the food was good.
Things to think about....This place is on an island far from what we all have as far as stores and conveniences. Don't expect the Ritz. Be happy for what is there. yes, there are a few bugs. Nothing that repellent wont take care of. If you get a cabin it should take care of your needs. Even though we had a kitchen, we used the community kitchen often so we could see the water, Items in the kitchen are not brand new but we had everything we needed to put out some awesome dinners and ate on the beach.
The bar is just as cool as it can be. Nicely decorated with a great island feel. No shoes needed.
All of the bartenders will get to know you and it starts to feel like family. Love them.
Community bathrooms are...bathrooms. No need to try to rate because it does'nt really matter. they work just fine.
The beach-OH MY....the best I have ever seen. and I have been on a lot of beachs.
Put this on your own Bucket List. Go with an open mind and no expectations other than an amazing trip. You wont be disappointed.
I can not wait to go back.

ONE LOVE

Room Tip: If you dont like camping get a room in their guest house. SUPER NICE
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thefishingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jost Van Dyke
5.9 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
14.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
0.7 mi away
The Sea Crest Inn
The Sea Crest Inn
#2 of 6 in Jost Van Dyke
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivan's Stress Free Guest House & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivan's Stress Free Guest House & Campground

Address: White Bay, VG1160, Jost Van Dyke
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jost Van Dyke
Price Range: £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stress free retreat, overlooking the pristine waters, and white sand beach. The perfect place to enjoy life in the slow lane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivan's Stress Free Guest House & Campground Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing