We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed”

Ivan's Stress-Free Bar and Camp Ground
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Jost Van Dyke
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Stress Free, Family friendly, relaxing little haven.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Our stop is usually to the Soggy Dollar but it was overrun with people from a cruise boat so we walked over to Ivan's. Best decision ever! A lot quieter, no long lines for drinks and food, with plenty of sun and shade for everyone. I was surprised to see the tents as I didn't know it was a camp ground also some cabins available. Might have to check they out for next time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bretonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    42
    24
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We love Ivan's”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have included Ivan's in our itinerary every time we go sailing in the BVIs, for the last 19 years. We have never been disappointed. The girls behind the bar, are always friendly and accommodating to our group. Cassie made nonalcoholic strawberry daiquiri's for the kids in our group. We try and moor at White Bay on Thursdays for the famous BBQ. The food is always delicious and abundant. Usually, we are lucky enough to be there for live music, many times with Ivan playing as well. Members of our group are also musician's, and have jammed with Ivan in the past. This year, we were a little disappointed that the night life was nil, and no live music. But still, we highly recommend Ivan's for dinner (Soggy Dollar Bar during the day).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoytieToytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
“A sight”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Staff was great but management was horrible . Not friendly , but stick wid the staff they are great .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THE place to unwind on JVD...”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Rain or shine, this is the place to chill out, have a drink and a snack, and absorb the spirit of Jost Van Dyke… there is a camaraderie here that just has a little different, more family-like feel than anywhere else on the island that I have been… Next time, we'll be going back to stay over a few days!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The quiet side of White Bay”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Ivan's is on the quiet -- non-Soggy Dollar -- side of White Bay. The folks there are incredibly friendly and laid back, the beer and burgers are good and reasonably priced, and the view is spectacular. When you tire of just watching the boats come in and out over the turquoise water, dozing in and out of sleep as you nap on the beach, you can walk to the other side of White Bay to the Soggy Dollar, Gertrudes, etc. and get your fill of adults gone wild which is equally entertaining. Ivan's also has wireless internet which came in handy for touching base back in the states. And apparently it is part of a Kenney Chesney video/song.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lawilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ivan's Stress-Free Bar and Camp Ground also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Ivan's Stress-Free Bar and Camp Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing