We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
Review of The Sea Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sea Crest Inn
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

They've added on! Rooms 8 & 9 are new and they're beautiful. We have stayed here for 3 years in a row now during our November trips. They've added the patio where they serve breakfast and have coffee/drinks. Another pleasant surprise was the in room mini-honor-bar! Ivy, Desiree, Noah and Kim are great people who work to ensure you have a wonderful stay. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 8 are further from Foxys so quieter than the others, but none are "bad".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMBabe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 days at the Sea Crest Inn and really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The location in Great Harbor was great. We appreciated the easy walk to dinner on most nights. The staff were friendly and helpful and while not fancy we appreciated having a place to eat breakfast on site. Especially before progressing to rum drinks. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MattR999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piqua, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here this past summer and had a great experience. The people are great, the service is excellent and location is amazing! It is right next to Foxy's and the beach. Easy access to the island taxis.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

April 2011

This was modestly furnished, clean and had a kitchenette which was quite handy for breakfast. Short walk downhill to the beach, small shops and Foxy's bar and restaurant. Reasonably priced.

It can get noisy from the music at Foxy's bar, but it didn't bother me or my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonkers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I've stayed here twice in less than 1 year. Absolutely love the people who run the place (although sometimes they can be slow to reply to email - be patient, not everyone sits at a computer 50+ hours/week!). The deck overlooking the harbour is great, and the music from Foxy's never bothered us. It was convenient for evenings, after spending a day in the sun. We walked to White Bay every day and enjoyed the hike. We used the wireless at Foxy's, much faster. We didn't want to be online much anyway - this is paradise, after all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I do not even know where to begin....If you are looking to be accommodated, then do not stay here. I will start with the negative. We lost water twice. Rolling blackouts cause the AC to turn off in the middle of the night. They promise WiFi, but it was never working. Coffee made it to the patio at 11am most mornings and because of the cook/housekeeper personal issues, rooms were not always cleaned regularly or breakfast made available. We had to ask for toilet paper and towels for the room. The house is up a long flight of steep stairs and they do not assist you with your bags.

I gave it two stars because it did have a couple of redeeming qualities. First, it was next to Foxy's, which did have WiFi regularly. Secondly, the bed did not appear to have bedbugs.

I was never so happy to get off this island. Unless your intention is to stay intoxicated the whole vacation, as that is all there is to do, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay on another island and rent a boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy87, Manager at The Sea Crest Inn, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
From Desiree (Manager)

We are sorry that this individual did not enjoy his stay and sorry that he chooses, pessimistically, to “start with the negative” and then condemn the whole island as just a place to “stay intoxicated”.

Please see the positive posts from guests who stayed during that same time (June 2013). Certain things in life are beyond our control in the Caribbean...bad weather, sick family members, power outages, and so on. Reasonable, optimistic, and fairly cool people are understanding of these incidences. When the island wide power outage occurred, guests and residents alike converged at Foxy's to await the light! It was a pleasant time and there was a collective sigh of relief when power was restored. Without power, the water pump will not work, there will be no internet and no AC - that's everywhere, not just at SCI or on JVD. The patio at the Sea Crest Inn is open for breakfast at 8:30am or it is closed and a sign is posted. There is no late coffee/breakfast. Our rooms are cleaned every day, and linens changed every other day or as requested. Most guests drive up our driveway or have a taxi driver bring them up the driveway. Our friendly Jost Van Dyke drivers are always happy to help with luggage. Some individuals with light bags choose to use the stairs. We welcome cool people from around the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here in April and have nothing but good things to say about the Sea Crest Inn. While it is no all inclusive luxury spot, the Sea Crest has all you really need on Jost. It was so nice to wake up, make some coffee and eat breakfast on our patio, then start the day on our schedule. The staff is kind and accommodating. We did not hear any late night music from Foxy's, but perhaps that is because we were so relaxed on the island and slept like a baby every night. Clean room, nice people, great location~ perfect for us! We came here for a wedding and spent half of what we would have on accommodations elsewhere on the island. Loved it~ can't wait to return and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jost Van Dyke
5.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.5 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Bay Villas & Seaside Cottages
5.1 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
7.9 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Crest Inn

Property: The Sea Crest Inn
Address: Great Harbor, VG1160, Jost Van Dyke
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Jost Van Dyke
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Jost Van Dyke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Crest Inn is located on the beautiful island of Jost Van Dyke in the British Virgin Islands. Your room awaits! It is air conditioned, has cable on your flat screen TV, a fully equipped kitchenette, and a queen sized bed. Spectacular views of Great Harbour can be enjoyed from your private balcony. You will relax and rejuvenate at The Sea Crest Inn! ***ALL INCLUSIVE! For a limited time only, Mon 25 July - Mon 1 August, 7 nights! The Retreat for Rejuvenation at the Sea Crest Inn! Healthy low calorie, low fat meals served on the deck overlooking the bay... the deck which is just steps away from the sea! Time for guided introspection and goal-setting, a personal trainer, a masseuse, a life coach, a leisurely private art class, vision boarding, hiking, swimming... and more joy based activities! 7 Days of well deserved Rest and Rejuvenation! Inquire about our generous Educator Grants. Return to your normal with More Energy and More Strategic Plans for Action! Visit the 'Rejuvenation 2016' page at BestLifeCoaching.US*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sea Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Hotel Jost Van Dyke
Sea Crest Jost Van Dyke
Jost Van Dyke Sea Crest
The Sea Crest Inn Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing