We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever - paradise”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever - paradise”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This was our third holiday to this gorgeous hotel we absolutely love it , the hotel it's staff the island it is all fab xx. A big thank you to Yordanis in the kids club and Henry the bell boy for making our holiday perfect. We miss u all loads and Toqui - Mia sends u a kiss and big hug loads of low Neil, Jodie, Mia and mammy xxxxxx see u in sept xxxx

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieNeilMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    1,382
    553
    240
    151
See reviews for
1,268
1,707
129
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The beach is very nice ,the beach bar that was,is not open,this alone spoiled our holiday ,the staff here were great the last time we visited,the food was great, the whole feeling that was imparted to the five of us was great. Now we come to he organisation ,the guidance from the so called (the management) They, like T Cook dont give a damn about the customer (,as T Cook are now finding out.) I am sorry I cant give all the details here as the more I think of what happened to me ,the more I want to swear and use the laguage of the scoundrel.My view is take no notice of me do as you wish and then repent.

Room Tip: best tip dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed in early December for a week. All the staff were friendly. The food was hit or miss – some days were really good, other days so-so. The grill station was always very good. Female servers were fantastic. Possibly some ants that bite in the room (don’t leave food/sweet drinks overnight in the room or you’ll be overrun).

It was quite windy for most of our stay so we could not go into the ocean at the beach directly from the resort however the public beach just next to the resort was always pleasant.

Trip to Playa Pilar (on the local bus) was our highlight. Bring bug repellant for after Playa Pilar as the local mosquitoes are nasty at the bus stop. Take snorkel and fins to Playa Pilar to enjoy all the fish near the shore. We booked the hobby cat at the nautical center at Playa Pilar and it was the best money we ever spent. (Nautical center is at the west end of the beach, there is only one on the whole beach). They take you over to the coral island (atoll), park the hobby cat and the older guy (Christian) will take you on a personal snorkeling tour to see all the fish and a small ship wreck (Spanish Steamship) from 1920's. Only 15 peso per person. Whole excursion takes about 2 hours. Best to get to the beach by 10 am and book hobby cat right away so you can have clear visibility before the large catamaran shows up and stirs up all the muck in the water.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaveatMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I just wish to comment as a birding hobbiest that this region is very attractive for birders and the resort is a nice stepping stone in the winter to some interesting discoveries.

With another couple, my wife and I enjoyed 10 days at Sol Cayo Coco. In that time, I did a lot of walking through the near-by brush areas seeking out birds like the Cuba Vireo, the Oriente Warbler, the Cuban Tody and much, much more. We ended up with 80 species of which 5 were Cuban endemics. We did this without the help of guides but with the Birds of Cuba book in hand. The staff at the resort were not very helpful in finding a contact person or guide before arrival using an email exchange. But, while at the resort I did meet a couple of American touring groups and talked to some of the guides that were working with them. A gentleman named Odey Martinez is apparently a resident in Moron and might offer guiding help if you try to contact him. I got an email address of odey@correodecuba.cu but have not got through to him so far after returning to Canada. As I said, though, you can find birds on your own, no problem.

Generally, the resort was good. I think other reviews have pointed out that the place isn't perfect in all respects but the variety of birds that are easily accessed is an advantage to birding hobbiests and should be a positive to your stay.

An excellent trip overall for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, Director General at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.
We appreciate your recommendations about this natural spot we have that makes Cayo Coco a famous place. A large variety of birds inhabit this island such as pink flamingoes.
Several organized groups visit our hotel every year, escorted by specialized guides.
We are taking into account all your comments in order to provide information via email about bird watching to all guest that are requesting it with the interest to visit our hotel.
Wishing to welcome you in a short future,
Sincerely,
Manuel Mtnez Corbalan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Went to Cayo Coco in first week of January and stayed at Sol Cayo Coco for a week.
The hotel was nice and clean, the food was pretty good I would suggest to work a bit on the buffet selection. But besides the buffet there are different station where they cook fresh for you and its really good!

Note, the food bug is a virus that's going on in Canada and has nothing to do with the food in the hotel.

At the hotel they have everything you need! The rooms are nice and clean, with hair dyer, iron, mini bar fridge, phone, TV...you can request at the reception to open the line to call Canada and I believe it's about 2 pecos per minute.

You will never be bored at Sol Cayo Coco! The entertainment team is awesome! they have different activities during the day for kids and adults by the pool, and some sport games at the beach. Every night they have a show and later on a "disco chic" until 2 am.

We also went to the local club, the Cave-it was so much fun!

Toqui and Delvis from the entertainment do some group dance at the disco and by the pool so you get to learn some salsa moves! :)
Toqui and Delvis are amazing dancers, super friendly, very nice guys!

I recommend Sol Cayo Coco for family and friends trips! Very nice resort, friendly stuff, and lots of fun!

Can't wait to go there again!
Thank you Sol Cayo Coco for a great vacation!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, Director General at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your time to write your comments here. It is very nice to know that you enjoyed your stay. We will be at your disposal. Feel free to contact us before comming.
Best regards,
Manuel Mtnez Corbalan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Went for a New Year vacation with friends and stayed at Sol Cayo Coco. We arrived on Dec 31st New Years eve, and as we entered the lobby people were signing and dancing. It was such a warm, pleasant, welcoming arrival. The reception was quick and friendly, a guy form the entertainment team helped us to find our room. The room 1427 was very nice, with view to the ocean (with no extra fees), very clean, spacious, no complaints what so ever.

We stayed at the hotel for a week, and that wasn't enough! I wanted to stay for another week or two!

The hotel is clean, the stuff is friendly, the food variety is great! The best part at the buffet is the grill bars, they cook fresh food in front of you. The servers were excellent!
I would like to recommend Elvis, who was our dinner server and he was awesome!
He would prepare a table for us every evening so we wouldn't have to wait (we were a big group).

The barmens at the swimming pool, and the snack bars were the best!
Yoel provided us an excellent service,and delicious drinks!

I highly recommend this hotel to family/ friends trip! I went with a group of friends, and coming back in a couple of months with my family!

The entertainment team was absolutely amazing! They had different shows every night, for kids and adults. During the day, they host different contests and activities by the pool.
All off the entertainment people are amazing dancers! They dance all the time, and teach salsa moves by the pool during the day, and every night at the disco!

Toqui, Yianni, Esther, and Jervis were awesome! They are very friendly, always smiling, dancing! They were very helpful when asked them about the city. They were checking on how do we like everything and if we are happy with the hotel, engaged us to the activities , and gave us the info about whats going on every day.

I am definitely coming back to this hotel and highly recommend it to others! During our stay there were a lot of families, it seems like a great place for kids.

Thanks to the management of Sol Cayo Coco for a great vacation!Special thank you to Elvis, Yoel, Toqui, Yianni, Jervis, and Esther! Can't wait to see you again!

Overall, beautiful beaches,very nice resort, clean rooms, variety of food selection, amazing people!

Room Tip: We stayed at 1427, top floor, with view to the ocean. Very nice, clean, spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lily464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Please don't blame the hotel for your stomach bug! I have just returned from a 5* in Guardalavaca and the stomach bug seems to be a virus that is general to most of the hotels................most likely carried over by us tourist!!!
apart from the bug I had a great holiday as I did last year @ the Melia Sol in Cayo

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbaram708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing