We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best all inclusive hotel ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best all inclusive hotel ever”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The standard of service and friendliness of staff of this hotel was the best we've experienced in an all inclusive hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. We did tip as our rep suggested because the staff do travel a long way and the majority seem to live in Moron, a town that is very run down and the people are poor. Mind you, we always have tipped the staff wherever we go. I would suggest, if you visit Moron on one of the trips, to ignore the beggars as if you give them anything they will not leave you alone for the rest of the time, and can be quite rude if you tell them where to go! We had no complaints about the room apart from the pillows but we experience that everywhere. The food was great the first week but seemed to go downhill the second week. We had mostly freshly made egg dishes or pancakes, the best ever. The freshly made fish dishes in the evening were great as well, also the fresh fruit, and the ice cream is to die for. It was pretty windy when we were there but we found a lovely secluded beach to the left as you go down to the beach at the back. Just keep walking and turn left before the big concrete building and over the bridge. Saw some nice fish in that river. The only downside is if you want to get out of the complex and go on a trip everywhere is very far. Would highly recommend the fishing trip. My husband had a bad tummy for 2 days as did a lot of the people we met. I was lucky, don't know why. If you go on a trip take some toilet paper with you, out of the complex the toilets can be quite disgusting. All in all a great holiday, we were even invited to the home of one of the waitresses, but it was too close to our departure time when we would have got back. My husband's birthday was on New Year's Day and the staff made a right fuss of him. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you are on the top floor it can be quite tiring, especially in the heat. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minstreljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We are pleased you had so great time with us celebrating the special birthday. We hope to have you back here for New Year’s Eve once again.
Cayo Coco is a beautiful Island, wonderful white sandy beaches and crystal clear sea, unspoiled corals barrier makes it a special place for resting, diving and fishing.
Our staff could be very happy to share with you and your husband such a special that is a Birthday.
Please, let us know in advance to help you make your holidays unforgettable.

Kind regards,

Manuel Mtnez Corbalán
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,809
    1,362
    549
    238
    150
See reviews for
1,257
1,683
125
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We travelled to the Sol Cayo Coco on 30 January 2012 for 14 nights with 9 other family members. My wife and I had previously visited this hotel in May 2005 and were so impressed, we recommended it for a family reunion. (This after visiting the 5* Hotel Playa Pesquero and preferring the Sol). We ignored the old adage of not enjoying visiting the same hotel twice, even after reading some of the adverse comments being made. In the seven years since we last stayed at the Sol, it had certainly become tired. Our main complaints were that the standard of catering had seriously deteriorated (hot food found to be cold, mixing hot and cold food serving tongs, toasters and coffee machines not working properly and the cleanliness of plates and cutlery).
We were not impressed with the fact that drinks, including hot coffee, were served in the main bar in plastic cups! Although it is understandable and acceptable that this rule should apply to the pool area for H&S reasons. There was also insufficient seating in the main bar area around dinner time. Seating only became available once the nightly show started.
Not all advertised daily activities took place, specifically the water aerobics in the pool! We were informed that this was because the water temperature was not sufficiently high, although the temperature in Cuba during the holiday varied between 27 & 34 degrees Celsius. During the day, the pool was constantly in use and in my opinion; the water temperature was higher than in many European holiday resorts.
We were supposed to be able to exchange pool towels every three days. This wasn’t possible most of the time and we were informed by customer relations that there was a problem with the laundry contractor not being able to get soap powder because of the blockade!
The entertainment programme ran over a two week cycle when we stayed at the SOL in 2005. The entertainment team size has been reduced and the programme now runs on a one week cycle! Wonderful if you’re only spending one week at the hotel! (In 2005 there were two Thomas Cook flights a week, now there are only two a fortnight which has resulted in the hotel catering more for Argentinean guests who seemed to arrive on a daily basis).
The two “al a carte” restaurants could only be booked once during the fortnight.
This was all reported to the hotel customer relations team. The management team has certainly changed and all these problems should not be insurmountable.
We also reported these problems to Thomas Cook on our return to the UK. Thomas Cook has since responded to our concerns with a lot of apologies, but with the excuse that these problems were not their fault.
On the plus side, the rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location absolutely idyllic. However, we will not be returning to the Sol Cayo Coco.

Room Tip: Rooms 2306 to 2326 offered good views of the pool and the sea in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Mr. Peter T.

First of all thank you for choose our Hotel one more time since you came in 2005. We can tell you that we always work to do our best year after year and since you arrive the Hotel has improved a lot of his service. In 2009 we closed the Hotel to change our system of hot water and we open 100 refurbish rooms since that time we already repair 100 more rooms so we already have 200 of 270 rooms all refurbish. This year we are going to made 50 rooms more. Also we had a new beach bar with wonderful sea views in one of the 20 beaches more recommended in tripadvisor. Next year we are going to improve our buffet and activities areas. We always hear to our guests and keep working in our Hotel to improve.

About the problems you said in our hotel I would like to explain to you that our buffet is always and is controlled to have the temperature in the correct ranges of the health and sanity inspections that we have. I need to tell you in this case that this is a family Hotel and there are a lot of kids in our hotel and we need to take care of the maximum of the temperature, but if you prefer your food hotter you have a microwave oven ready in the buffet to be used for anyone. As I told you before this a Hotel who take cares about the children who visit us and in the area of the pool we always are very careful with the norms and you now that and it is informed that all the service are in plastics cups, just at the pool because if you want to take your coffee at the Lobby you will have your service as usual.

Sorry if we missed any activity in pool because of the weather but if any activity is not going to be played, the activities team will have something to enjoy as we have more that 15 activities in the morning program to enjoy as volleyball, beach football, stretching, shooting, bingos, aerobics, minigolf, water sports, and a long list of games to enjoy it. The program is for a week bur it changes and the shows at night are for 14 days so we can pleased everyone at the Hotel, people from United Kingdom, Canada, Germany, Argentina and a lot of countries who visit us.
We are really sorry that you did contact only the Thomas Cook and not do it at the Hotel as I’m always 24 hour a viable for any costumer and we could talk to you and hear from you these matters.
I hope to have the opportunity to see you again and I’m sure that you will have a wonderful holydays as most of our guest has at The Sol Cayo Coco.

Best regards,

Manuel Mtnez Corbalan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The staff at Sol are absolutely fantastic! Orlando the bartender, Henry the bell boy and TheaMary the waitress---especially wonderful!

Fabulous pizza and burgers---especially down at the little hut on the beach. Other food was "okay" but so much to choose from, never a problem getting something you like. Great French toast, eggs to your liking etc. Try the donuts and the chocolate eclairs!

Spotlessly clean place---fantastic beaches and lots of activities to choose from.

Would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: WE had a suite---fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcqueengirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, Director General at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
It was very nice to find your comments here. We are very pleased knowing that our staff and facilities made you feel satisfied. Thank you very much for your opinions.
I will extend your positive comments about our staff to the entire team and to Orlando & Henry as always
We will be very glad seeing you next time you come.
Kind regards,

Manuel Mtnez Corbalan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I can't help reading on here the mixed reviews of this hotel, we are infact one of the families who go back year after year and i must say not once has any of us been ill. I always maintained i would never go back to the same hotel as their is a big old world out there to see but 5 years ago that changed when we went to The Sol. We have not one complaint, the food is absolutely fantastic, more than enough to choose from, yes people do go on about the staff being brilliant, but that is because they are, yes they do remember you, no they dont only do things for people who tip, i think you will find they are just lovely, it probably helps to talk to them, smile you are after all in their country. The hotel in our eyes is clean and comfortable, no it isn't a 5 star with all the trimmings but if you require that sort of luxury you will need to pay the extra and go to a different island, people who pay the going rate must surely realise what they are expecting, we have 2 teenagers now and they ask to go back every year, they enjoyed in the last 5 years the mini disco's and activities around the pool and still enjoy all the games and dancing and watching the shows as do we. And i would like to say i can not wait to go in 3 weeks time, because i am one of those who return year after year i know exactly what i am getting for my 14 days holiday, I will take lots of snaps and post them on here to show how beautiful this place is, anyone going who is a little worried having not been before, please feel free to message me, but most of all you will have a wonderful time

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank chrisandtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, Director General at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your loyalty to our Resort, I am happy to know that you had a good time in our hotel.
Our staff is consistently doing their biggest effort to provide a great level of service to our guest specially to children. Thank you so much for your excellent comments.
Each time we share your opinions with our staff to motivate them to keep on working to satisfy you as you really deserve it to
For me and my team it is a great honor to have you visiting our hotel once more to make sure that you will have an unforgettable holiday.

Kind regards,

Manuel Mtnez Corbalan
General Manager
Sol Cayo Coco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Well... a few reasons.
The ROOM was OK, but I wouldn't say it was spotless. There were a lot of strange hairs clinging to the walls in the bathroom area. And the floor wasn't that clean either.
The PLACE itself is somewhat run down. They keep the central area in good shape, but don't look around too much. Some corners look like a dump.
Some EMPLOYEES are nice, but many can be somewhat rude. Don't expect too many smiles. Unless if you keep throwing money around all the time. The problem has to do with management I think. The place is not well managed and it's the employees that pay the price of the mismanagement. Plus you're in Cuba and life isn't all rosy over there. Employees work ten hour days and they often have to spend four hours or more commuting every day. I wouldn't be smiling either.
The FOOD is not on the good side. There are a few things that are OK. Personally, I survived mostly on cured ham and ice cream, both of which were good. The meet in general is almost always harder than thick rubber, and just about as tasty.
The SERVICE can be greatly improved. Let's go back to the mismanagement. Let's say you need a bottle of water around 8 PM, like I did. You go down to the lobby to ask for it. They tell you they absolutely cannot give you a bottle then and there. The maid will bring it to you, because that's the way they do it. There is one maid at that time for the whole complex. So the bottle arrives about two hours afterwards. You feel frustrated, but the poor maid is not to be blamed. She had to walk all the way across the complex just to bring you your water.
The CROWD, finally. Well, that could also be improved upon. As in many resorts, many are there to "Drink all they can". Not very distinguished.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, Director General at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to write your comments here. First of all we always think that the choice of coming back to a place is because the guest find our place with everything they look to have a nice holydays. We are sorry that you did not find it. But we do our best and we know that most of people find the place really nice and they come back year after year. Most of them is because of our staff that is always looking after all the guest with a smile and good service. We improve our Hotel with a new Beach Bar with service of pizzas, hamburgers and hot dogs, a new terrace in the Ranchon just in front of the sea with the same service of food and drinks of the Ranchon Restaurant, at night our international a la carte Restaurant Don Diego, Our Buffet with more of 175 different products to choose in each of service of breakfast, lunch and Dinner, with the Saturday night special dinner and Wednesday Cuban dinner. Also we have already 200 rooms of the hotel refurbished.
Also on Tuesday we have an especial cocktail for our guest from Canada where you can meet the Managers team and of course myself, to talk and hear from you any suggestions to improve our Hotel and service.
I’m sure that a lot of people will came back again and we hope that you make up your mind and enjoy our hotel and staff of the Sol Cayo Coco.
We will continue working hard for our quests´ satisfaction.
Best regards,
Manuel Mtnez Corbalan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

So Cayo Coco exceeded all of my expectations!

Staff - 10/10 the staff was unreal! They were always more than happy to give you a hand when needed, always smiling, and truly made us feel like home! the entertainment crew were alot of fun! They were very involved with the guests even when off duty! They all made a real effort to get to know us during our stay and you can tell it was sincere not just part of their job! They remembered our names and our stories no matter how many people they talked to!

The resort itself is great! If you wanna get a chair pool side, make sure to bring your towel out to save your chair around 7am!!!!!
I personally did not spend much time pool side! There is an awesome little beach bar which was more my style! So my suggestion is park your chair on the beach in front of the bar, enjoy the ocean, and live entertainment!!!

THE GUESTS~~ The week we went, was an older crowd! But that didnt stop us from having a blast! The guests out there were unreal labelling My new friend Ryan and I "The Crazy Canadians"! Everyone got involved! From 2pm belly flop contests in the pool, or doing an interpretive dance in the lobby "just because", they were all great! The people we met truly made the trip!

I also advise you to go on the day trip called the "Ciego D'Avila Special"! You get to see the true cuban culture! Music, shopping, REAL Pina Coladas, Aligator Farm, Bicitaxis and all that jazz! Truly a great trip!

ABSOLUTELY AN AMAZING TRIP!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, Director General at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on your recent stay in Sol Cayo Coco. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the sun and the beach, specially our new beach bar where guest can enjoy different Cuban cocktails such as Mojito, Daiquiri, Cuba Libre while enjoy the beach.
During their holidays guest can book trips to go out of the hotel to mainland Cuba in order to witness the Cuban culture and way of life, visiting Moron or Ciego de Avila cities.
We appreciate you recommend our hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Kind regards,

Manuel Mtnez Corbalán
General Manager
Sol Cayo Coco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzance cornwall
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

me and my wife have just come back from two weeks at sol cayo coco we was pleasantley surprised at just how helpfull all the staff was from cheking in and having a drink at the pool bar the bar the staff are amazing after just two drinks the bar tenders knew our order jendy and omelio kept everyones drink toped up at all times with there table service they are a credit to the hotel now for the food there was plenty of choice we are meat eaters so we was over the moon with all choice from cooked meats to the buffet waiting staff was amazing they always greet you with a smile and a big hug the two young ladies we had for breakfast and lunch yulka and blanquita were lovely and kept our wine glasses topped up and also junior and estaphan who served us at dinner were wonderful on our last night the managment put on a cocktail party which we thought was a nice touch all in all we had a great holiday and would definitley go back and highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barfly70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, Director General at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us. Thank you for your preference and recommend our hotel. I would like to invite you to meet on Facebook in order to share with you our events and improvements.
Please, when you have booked for another stay, just let us know in advance to kindly look after.
Kind regards,

Manuel Mtnez Corbalán
General Manager
Sol Cayo Coco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,058 reviews
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Melia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Holiday Gems so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing