We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday!”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Been back a week from our third visit to the Sol on Cayo Coco. Every year there have been improvements. The main one this year has to be the new beach bar. It's a fantastic place to chill and enjoy a cocktail. Have to give Yoel who works in there a big mention as he's an utter star. We used to go in and ask him to make us a surprise and over the course of the two weeks i think we tried every cocktail going in every colour imaginable. Food at this hotel has always been good but was even better this year due to the arrival of a new chef with lots of new ideas. Even the most fussy of eaters wouldn't go hungry here. The location of this hotel is superb set on a beautiful beach which has been much improved since last year with the benefit of a beach with more shallow waters just around the corner. The rooms are fine and kept spotlessly clean. Thanks to our maid Taymi. The main thing about this hotel is the staff who are more like friends and they all recognise returning customers which is remarkable considering the turnover they have. Have to give a huge mention to Alex, Saul and Deon in the lobby bar who knew our order without us having to say anything and always made sure we were never without. Duane in the Cuban bar in the reception area makes the best Dacquiri in the world too . Also thanks to Blanca, Gladys, Yulka and Jessica in the buffet. Gladys, your smoothies rule :) We were also glad we had the chance to catch up with our friend Daniel, one of the gardeners, before we left and Toqui on entertainment staff who is off work with a broken wrist. Hope it's much improved and you're soon back doing what you do best. Sorry if i've missed anyone out with the mentions. All the staff here are great and cannot do enough for you. The only bad comment i have to make is that the holiday went way too fast! Feels like we have been back forever already. I am positive that we will be back very soon :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Karen_Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel in your 3rd time.
Please do not hesitate to contact me once you decide to come again,we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,047 - 2,053 of 4,301 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We visited the Sol Cayo Coco in 2011 and were so pleased with the staff and the service that we returned in 2012. Nice to have such warm greetings - we felt like old friends. The staff were/are excellent. One can expect that a buffet offers some repetition but the food was always well presented and there were several grill stations where you could have food cooked exactly to order. My only complaint was the lack of Internet access - only one station available for the 2 weeks we were there. Thanks to all our wonderful friends; we hope to see you again!

Room Tip: We had a room looking out over the mini golf and really enjoyed the sound of the waves at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NovaScotiaTollerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your loyalty to our Resort and for taking the time to bring to our attention the problems you experienced in the quality of the internet service. We analysed with the person in charge of the company that provides us with this service
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Travelled with a group of 23 (aged 2-70) from may 12th to 19th (got married may 16)
We had a great time. We met many great people from those who worked there to all the people giving us a standing ovation on our day.

Now to the black and white.....
Pros
ALL THE WORKERS
The other guests
Food (even if you hated what was on the buffet you could get fresh fish, beef, chicken, lamb, pasta even stir fry which was great)
THE BEACH nicest beach I've seen in a long time and it was tractor groomed every morning at 730.
The AC in the rooms(even tho I couldn't regulate it, it still did the job)
The 'iced cap with booze' best drink ever (Ron Collins or Ron Alexander can't remember lol)
DIANELYS she's the customer rep, she's the best. Just be nice.
The pool was as deep as you wanted it to be depending on where you stood.
The pool bar. Never a line, always great service.

Cons
The bed wasn't great (I slept because I drank but when I woke it didn't feel like a good sleep)
Room 2424 was far to out of the way, so don't get that room. (if you don't want ocean view room 2111 is what you want, closest to the beach and the pool and the bar.)
Some nights food after 2am was impossible to find (we complained about it and the next night they were cooking for us till 5am)

All in all it was a great time and I/we will be returning to the sol Cayo coco.

To everyone who made our day great, thank you. To all who saw our wedding, thanks for the support. To all our new friends in Cuba, Germany, Argentina, Canada, and England it was great to get to know you and we can't wait until our paths cross again.

Ps Dan the pilot and his wife Janet we need your email address (hopefully you see this)

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
8  Thank Danomac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed at the Sol Cayo Coco from 3 to 17 May.

The flight with Thomas Cook was fine. A big improvement on the food.

Check-in was simple and quick, into my room in around 10 minutes.

Rooms
The rooms are basic got have all you need.

Food and drink.
The buffet was the only place I went to in the evenings. The food was very good with a lot of variety. The was a large salad bar, cooked meats, cheese, a pasta and pizza station, plus a grill where there was pork, chicken, beef, fish and shell fish. There was also cakes and ice-cream.

Lunch was either buffet, pool or beach bar. The pool and beach bar did the usual bergers, hotdogs, pizza and sandwich.

Bars
The main lobby bar was large with lots of seating, the bar staff work every hard and there was never a long wait.
The cocktail bar is a must.
The beach bar is great for an afternoon drink while at the beach.

Swimming pool
The swimming pool was fine if not a little small.

Beaches
The beaches are the best I have seen in quite a while. Do check out the one to the left as look through the hotel.

The hotel was at about 50% capacity while I was there. Not so sure if it was full.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,
It was very nice to find your comments here. We are very pleased knowing that our staff and facilities made you feel satisfied. Thank you very much for your opinions. Hope to see you here once again.
Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Just returned from two weeks at the sol, we read a lot of reviews before we went, and hard to know what to believe until visiting in person...

However we stayed from 3-17 may 2012 and cannot believe the complete and utter lies I have just read from ''YCsince1972'' and ''tanyamaya'' who were both at the hotel at the same time as us, rats and cockroaches? Untidy messy pool area? Faulty aircon in room? Staff on mobile phones ? Sewage water in the sea? Cannot leave belongings on beach without being stolen? Staff stealing from rooms to survive? Ala carte restaurant worse then buffet? Food in buffet repetitive ?

The hotel grounds were immaculate, with gardeners always working hard and the pool was clean and never over crowded plenty of Loungers to choose from.

There was nothing wrong with our room, aircon was lovely and cold, and Shower worked perfect, good view of beach, maids came everyday and changed sheets and supplied clean towels and fresh bottle of water. At the end of the day if your room was facing noisy stage and had faults I'm sure the staff at reception would have been happy to change rooms ( bearing in mind hotel was half empty).

Buffet was fine, fresh made omelettes and smoothies for breakfast, pasta, fish, chicken stir frys were great, and as soon as you take a seat the waitresses are at your table pouring cold water, it's only repetitive if you have the same everyday. I had salmon mousse starter and fillet steak in ala carte restaurant which was great ( the waitress was over like a shot to top our wine up without even asking).

Lovely beach on left of hotel , even if it's windy and choppy at main beach it's allways calm and quite at other beach, and we left our sunglasses and my girlfriend left her handbag there for hours which never got touched.

All the staff were very friendly always saying hola and 'Yoel' from Beach Bar does the best Piña coladas !!

Overall we had a great time at the Sol, no real complaints at all , Weather was great with only 1 light shower in two weeks.
I know everyone has different opinions but annoying to read such LIES when we were there at the same week as people who were moaning.....

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Pinacolada55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just came back from Sol Cayo Coco (From May 12 to May 19, 2012)
We're not fussy travelers, went to Cuba many times in different resorts, we read the reviews of Sol Cayo Coco before leaving

Let's start with the negative part:
- Room not in great shape, seen better days
- Ants around the bathroom sink
- No water pressure in shower
- Bed sheets Ok the 1st day but full of sand at the end of trip.
- A/C not working properly in bedroom
- Room was facing the stage so don't think about sleeping before 11pm
- Food at the buffet is repetitive from the 1st day & tasteless even if you add salt, pepper was missing that week
- Food at the À la carte restaurant is worse than buffet
- Rosé wine shouldn't be called rosé
- Waiters on the site are either talking to other employees or are on the phone, you have to show your CUC if you want to get something done
- Towel service not good, if you go to late, you'll get tear-up towels or maybe you'll get one when the girls will stop talking about nothing
- Employees trying to sell you tourist crap instead of doing their job
- Larga beach on the left of resort is beautiful when sewers don't drop brown water into the ocean
- Went to Tryp 2 times during our stay to avoid the terrible food of the Sol beach restaurant El Penon and for what we saw, it was way much better there, nicer place also for snorkeling


Now the good point:
- Close to the airport
- Nice beach
- Available chairs & palapas at the beach anytime

Room Tip: Don't forget mosquito spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YCsince1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions about some aspects in our Hotel, we really appreciate them as very good improvement opportunities. We will take into account all your comments. We hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Sol Cayo Coco - 1st visit to Cuba. This was the best all-inclusive holiday we have been on by far, with food and refreshments available 24 hours a day.
The beach is lovely and clean. The beach restaurant, where we went to most days for lunch offered a variety of meals, sometimes buffet style and sometimes from a menu - I particularly recommend the Roman Squid and Caribbean Kebabs. There is also a beach bar which is handy for a cooling cocktail in the sun.
The main restaurant offers a variety of fresh cooking stations for every meal and although there is similar food daily there is so much choice you dont need to have the same thing twice! They also provide a microwave should you require your food a little hotter.
The pool bar is fab for a drink when you leave the beach at the end of the day - it also has a cooking station with snacks available until 630 when dinner starts.
In the evening we used to have a cocktail before going for dinner from the cocktail bar where they have an award winning barman - try a mojito, pina colada or ron collins - all very good.
The lobby bar also serve fab cocktails and have all well known brands available. The bar offers toastie snacks fro 11pm to 7am if you are peckish in the early hours.
There is also a theatre outside where they do a nightly show and a disco which is open until 2am.
The staff were excellent and could not do enough for us whether we tipped or not.
Reading other reviews I agree that the rooms are a bit dated and maybe in need of a little tlc but this did not effect our holiday at all and I am usually a fussy traveller! The rooms were cleaned daily and beds changed on request. We had no problems with any 'creepy crawlies', only a friendly land crab who came for a visit in the lobby! The gardeners work hard and the grounds are very clean and well kept too, for a small tip they will cut down a coconut to take to the bar where the barman will use the milk to make a cocktail in the coconut for you!
We went on the 3 day trip to Havanna which is well worth doing - the Tropicana show is a must!
Overall we had a great time - real value for money. We are already looking at prices for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank debzlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
18.9 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,023 reviews
0 mi away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#54 of 64 in Varadero
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,969 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Mojito
IBEROSTAR Mojito
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: £85 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Coco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing