We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia Canada
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A great resort”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Overall:

Better than expected.
Excellent beach, good food, good rooms, excellent staff.

Food:

Might as well start here.
This seems to be one of the areas of greatest concern, when picking a resort!

I can't comment on the "a la carte" restaurants, as I never tried one.

The buffet restaurant was a pleasant surprise.

For breakfast, there is a "smoothie" station, where you can get a custom-made fruit drink.
The base is a thin orange juice (and/or mango? juice).
You can add fresh fruit (pineapple, etc).
They mix it with a blender.
Or, you can just pour yourself a glass of juice.

There was always lots of yogurt available.
It is thinner than we're used to, but very good.

There is an omelet station, with excellent custom-made omelets.
The lineups for these stations was generally non-existent, or short.
The omelet chef recognized me each morning, and didn't have to be reminded of my own "recipe".

There is a bacon-and eggs station, for those so inclined.

I liked the selection of cheeses.
There are no cheddar types, but there is "blue cheese"!
Most of the cheeses are light-colored and smooth in texture.
The flavors range from very mild to quite tasty.

For lunch and supper there was always a choice of meat and fish (rabbit, anyone?).
Sometimes the only beef was "beef stew", which consisted of chunks of stewing beef that was cooked until tender enough to eat.
One night, there was a large roast beef available, with a server carving off individual servings. Good!

Fish was generally available.
The white fish from the buffet table was usually pretty good.
Shrimp was often available.
One night, a single, large fish was laid out at a serving station, with a server handing out individual chunks. Very good fish!

The chicken and pork pieces at the buffet had a lot more bones and fat than I'm used to (and less meat).
The Cuban chickens must have been hard to catch, judging from the stringiness of the legs!

There is a grill station offering a choice of made-to-order pork chops, chicken, fish, shrimp, etc.

There is a second grill station for burgers, etc.
Sometimes this station offered stir-fry.

There was a good choice of vegetables, though the hot vegetables in the steam pans tended to be over-cooked.

There was a pasta station that my travelling companions assured me was very good.

Some days, there were loaves of bread that I liked a lot (soft, fresh, nice texture, nice flavor).
Other days only harder (seemed drier) loaves and buns.
Butter was available for the first few days, then disappeared altogether (there was a white spread of some kind as a replacement).

I seldom eat sweets for dessert, but I heard some grumbling about the lack of flavor in that area.
The ice-cream was REALLY good, and always available for lunch and supper.
There was a table of fresh fruit (citrus, melons, bananas, etc) that was great.
Some days the selection was better than others.

There is often a crepe station at supper time, where you can get custom-made crepes for dessert.

Some advice re the buffet: GET THERE EARLY! The food is hotter and fresher, the lines shorter, and there is more choice.

There are other places to eat during the day.
The beach bar (right side of beach) has hot dogs and burgers.
The beach restaurant (left side of beach) has better fare for lunch, but not as good as the buffet.
The pool bar has sandwiches and pizza after 11 am.
The pizza (especially the Cayo Coco Special) was actually VERY GOOD!


Food handling:

I noticed a child pawing over the bread selection at the buffet restaurant.
He dropped a loaf on the floor, and replaced it back on the table.
I was pleased to see that a waiter who witnessed the event removed the loaf.

Any time you're eating at an out-door table, the blackbirds (Caribbean Grackles) are on the alert for unguarded food.
DO NOT leave food on your table, and then come back expecting to eat it.
There will no doubt be some new and unusual "spices" on your food, courtesy of the birds.
You should also be careful not to sit on a wicker chair, unless you've checked for (or removed) bird droppings.
This is a common problem at all the Cuban and Mexican resorts we've visited.
The main buffet has an indoor section, where the resort cats and the grackles are not allowed.

Rooms:

We requested an upper story room, non-smoking, with a single large bed.

It turns out there is no such thing as a "non-smoking room" in a Cuban resort.
I should have known that!
When you a request a "non-smoking" room, there's a good chance that you will have to wait longer when you check in.
That's because, if the previous guests were smokers, they will air out the room longer before letting you in.

The room we got was beyond our expectations!

The air was fresh, with no old smoke or musty smells.
Our friends had a room that smelled musty.
I've heard that if your room is too smelly when you check in, you can switch to another one.

The only "bad air" we got was on our last night, when (starting at 4 am!) cigar smoke filled our room.
Probably a new guest who couldn't wait to light up a Cuban cigar!

The A/C worked well.
It keeps the humidity down, which is just as important as keeping the temperature down.
As you leave your room, and take your "key" with you, you remove it from a slot which turns off the power (A/C too).
A thin piece of cardboard inserted into the slot will keep the power on (so I'm told...).

Our room had no fewer than THREE large beds, a table and two chairs, dresser, TV, etc.
The balcony (on the 3rd floor) gave us a nice view of the ocean.
We could even see when our friends were down on the beach, set up by our spot near the beach bar.
We may have lucked in a bit here, since we didn't book an "ocean-view" room.

There was a fridge, but they DO NOT keep it stocked with beer or soft drinks.
At the Melia (next door) they were very good at making sure our fridge always had FOUR BEERS waiting for me each day.
I missed this, but it's fair to say that there's no need to go dry at this resort.
We were given a large bottle of water each day.

The plumbing fixtures were modern and looked like they could have been installed last week.
Not our usual experience with Cuban resorts!

The walk-in shower had no need for a sliding door or a curtain.
You walked in behind a fixed glass panel, showered, and then stepped out.
There was a "rain shower" style shower head, and a hand-held sprayer on a long hose.
The water pressure was usually quite low, but adequate to rinse off the soap.
The water was without any unpleasant smells that we have encountered elsewhere.

There was no bathtub (hooray!), so no high step-over.
Even better, our entire room (including the bathroom and shower) was CLEAN!
Even the ventilation fan was not too scuzzy (and that is rare).

PROBLEM: On several occasions, the hot water would be unavailable for hours at a time.
The cold water is not really "cold", so you could still rinse off if you had to.
But...


THE BEDS:

Oh yes, the beds...
If you like a "firm" mattress, then you'll really like these beds!
I used to like a firm mattress, when I was a lot younger.
Now I find that a little "body conforming give" is a good thing in a bed.
I never have any morning backache problems at home.
I did here.

TV:

There are a couple of English channels (and at least one French).
We watched some "Animal Planet" and I saw an NBA game (in Spanish).
The English-language news was CNN or BBC (we didn't watch either very much).

THE NIGHT-LIFE:

The less said, the better.
If you're in need of evening entertainment, this is not the place.
There were some musicians in the lobby each evening around 8:30.
Some were not too bad.
But the cigarette and cigar smoke and diesel fumes (from buses coming and going) made this a good place NOT to be in the evening.

There is an out-door amphitheater where the animation team (or press-ganged guests) perform for an hour or so, starting at 9:30.
Lame.
Maybe a few more drinks at the pool bar before coming over... ?

THE SERVICE:

This is an area where the SOL CAYO COCO resort really shines.
Any problems our group had (5 rooms in total) were dealt with quickly.
There was always a follow-up phone call to see if things were fixed.
It's not that we had a lot of problems, but the A/C fan failed in one room, the safe failed in another, etc.
There were some other small issues, but all were handled quickly.
I think this kind of organization is evidence of a good management team.
Keep up the good work!

The maids, waiters, and bartenders were all excellent.
Everybody was helpful, friendly, and efficient.
There were no long lines at the bars for drinks.
In any case, the waiters were eager to take your order and deliver it to your table.
The entire staff helped make the stay very enjoyable.

THE BEACH:

This is a GREAT BEACH!
The water is warm and clear.
You can walk for miles in either direction in soft, white sand.
We could always find beach chairs and shade.
There is a bar at the beach, so no long walks are required when a good thirst hits you.

There are actually two beach areas, separated by a rocky point.
The beach on the left-hand side is protected from the prevailing wind.
It's great on cool days, but it gets HOT on warm days.
Nice to have a choice of temperatures!

The beach here is far and away better than Veradero.

THE BOTTOM LINE:

If you're looking for a family-oriented resort with a dull night life, then this place might be just right for you.
The beach is beautiful, the rooms are clean, the staff are great, the food is good, the drinks are included...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RetiredInNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your comments always giving rejoice to all our team. It's great to know how pleased you were during your stay in our resort. It was, and still is, our endeavor to make every day feel like home. But we always take notes of your advises and dislikes as a way to improve our resort; actually, we have made some changes during last weeks and they only can go on. We are sure that once again will be happy choosing us as a family holiday destination.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,867
    1,401
    563
    243
    152
See reviews for
1,284
1,738
134
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BEDS
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

stayed here feb 22nd to 1st mar .most of the staff could not be friendlier,but we did notice their seemed to be some unrest in the staff as the week went on,We now realise that this may have been, down to new manager , may i say this man was around the hotel every hour of day and was approachable for anything,
when we arrived we were phoned within minutes and asked if we were happy with room we said no and was given the keys to look at another room which we moved to no problem.
the rooms are basic but clean,the beaches are the best we have been too,never had problem getting sunbed,but yes some have towels on and can remain unused for hours.
our gripe about this was staff were holding tables in the outside restuarant for the canadians who are big tippers whilst turning other people away(manager take note).
As for the glass problem if you order early evening you will get glass but later no, due to lack of glasses
this is not a staff problem,Duane on the cocktail bar works his butt of,and has to take flak about plastic glasses,and gets frustated as it is beyond his control(manager take note again).
Some tips= you can change your money at hotel also you can change money back at airport or get extra to spend at airport,prices at airport are very reasonable not ure normal rip off.
The open top bus takes almost 1 1/2hrs to get 2 pillar beach well worth the 5 pesos return .
Overall this was a good value holiday. it is not 5star ,but why was it full because it has a 2 great beaches and its not overbig with staff who could,nt be more helpful,Yaunitza in restaurant greeted us every day with kisses, (plus wine was half decent).and its cheap!
P.S. went with thomas cook from manchester and flights ,food ,and staff. were excellent

would we go again YES.

Room Tip: if you not happy where u are customer service will due there best to give you another
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BedfordshireChud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to express our most sincere appreciation for all your comments. When we are able to know our guests’ opinions and experiences we have the chance to fulfill their expectations. You have mentioned some of our workers’ names; we will pass them your compliments. Our staff is our best treasure, they are always eager to help. Many people return to our hotel every year especially due to the happiness and friendliness of our workers and due to our beautiful beaches. We have seen that you would like to return, when you have booked again just contact us and we will make of your stay another memorable holiday.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Ohla
There are so many lovely things to say about the people and the hotel features, as well as the beach. Food was wonderful, buffet table and 3 individual server stations for meals had so much to eat, we never tried it all. It was all great.
In the morning you can get pancakes or " you design" omletts or french toast, eggs, bacon sausages vegetables etc. cooked. Then there was the real buffett tables...For the other 2 meals at the buffet, if you want hotter sauce, it is called Salsa sauce. In the special resturants we had a great meal with a piano accompanyment. In the buffet one night was a couple fo talented guitar players who added a lot to the atmosphere. After supper you could see a fashion show, guitars, singers, etc. All talented people and different each night.
The people were terrific! In the dining room for breakfast and lunch we loved Tasimary and Jessica. At supper Elvis and Angel were wonderful. The beach bar had Pablo who was very accomodating Try the beach grilled burgers, hot dogs, and pizzas. At the snack bar by the pool you can get the same but chips as well. In the buffett you can have red, white or rose wine but for some unknown reason coffee only available in the morning. I suppose it serves to clear out the tables as the coffee is then available in the lobby bar a few short steps away. My wife was at the bar at 5 AM for her coffee and each time the barista was happy to make it for her.

Here are a few other things. They make about $15 CUC a month, so a dollar ( $1 CUC) tip for a meal or a drink is easy enough for us to afford, to reward great service. Not necessary but it helps them a lot. Take some spray Insect repellant ( OFF) as island is a coral reef with sand on it and sand breads sand flies if you are in the wrong place. (no spray cans get the rub on stuff)
We had 5 days of perfect weather with a gentle wind and 2 days of perfect weather with no breeze, which is when the no-see-ums were out at the snack bar and apparently on the near beach. At the outdoor restraunts watch out for the black birds who are experts at diving into your plate for food if you walk vaway. The stff tries to keep them away but some sneak in!

There is a left beach and a right beach. Both have bars at them for the all inclusive drinks. We spent the morning at the pool which was nice but at times noisy The Cuban entertainment people seem to have only 2 settings for their speakers "Off" and "Full". The afternoons were at the left beach wher you can snorkle all afteroon if you wish, or not.
We tipped about $10 a day for 3 meals and maid service ( $2 left each day as maids rotate) to help them out and, our service was superb. It is not a 5 star but we expected as much and got more than we expected.

When you arrive at the airport it is precisely ordered. There are no "luggage men" trying to grab and load your bags for tips like in the Dominican. All is controlled. There are nice buses for you and as you exit the doors of the airport turn left and you can exchange money. At the hotel money can be exchanged at the desk with the same as bank rate so getting change was easy. Every one was helpful at the hotel.

The shops at the hotel had some nice things My wife bought a one piece Speedo for $14 peso or dollars as they say. The alcohol and cigars are about 20% less at the airport duty free shops, and the variety far bigger, if you can last that long. They have a humidor controlled cgar room at the gift shop as well as a 3 TV entertainment center for kids video games in a sperate room off the lobby.

At the airport, there are 4 duty free shops and many gift shops there, all reasonable prices, in the departure lounge when you leave.
As well you can exchange money in the departure lounge.

I didn't go right to Pillar beach on the $5 open coach but I also got an arm band for the Guillarmo hotel and enjoyed 4 hours using their facilities had lunch there with friends and rode the bus back. I enjoyed the boat snorkeling tour ($46) and loved driving the boat and snorkelling The fish etc were not as colourful as I'd expected but that's OK it was warm.
Each boat holds 2 people and one passenger can drive out, then the other drive back if your wife lets you. It is about 30 minutes each way. The tide was going out in the snorkelling river and there is a rope in the middle to grab to if you need help returning against the tide. They supply snorkels and a mask and fins as well as a good life vest. As normal, the guides were terrific and helped everyone enjoyed themselves. They supply good life jackets before you leave, give insructions on how to drive on the trip. The boats have never tipped so no worries there. There is no alcohol on the water ( they serve coke or sprite at the snorkelling dock) but there is a small drink and snack bar on the return ( bring some momey for beer and tips . If you do not swim, you can stay at the dock and watch he fish there, then ride back.
The driver can be tipped $1 on the bus, and the guides hold out their hats as you are leaving and a $2 tip is in order there as well,. and they share the tips. Beer is $2 a can for BUCCANEER a 5.4% excellent beer, or CRISTEL another great beer, and I don't normally drink beer. The buses are all air conditioned.

Hope this helps, it is not a high class luxury hotel but we loved it for it's cleanliness, ability to drink the water from the taps, etc. The hotel is owned by a Spanish Melia chain but is great for it's Cuban atmosphere of singing, dancing, magician, kid friendly. and friendly people and we hope to be back next year! It is a quiet hotel, has a Doctor on staff and a clinic, and a small pharmacy .Bring what you need for medicine asprin was $5 a dozen pills,and I found it interesting to see how this island has adapted it's "repair" features to keep things running.

Everything worked for us, we loved the trip, the people and the food and drinks. I loved the Sol Cayo Coco drink which it seemed was 3 OZ of different rums and 1 OZ of pineapple juice with 4 ice cubes.
The bars served everything in disposable plastic glasses but stay away from the "glass' glasses in the Lobby main bar late at night, as they run out of glasses and just rinse them under water, wipe them and re-use them for clients. I stuck to the other bars except for coffee at this bar.
Enjoy Amigos, Adios

Room Tip: Get Ocean View (extra) unless you enjoy speaker noise until 10:30 at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear guest,
We can’t thank you enough for taking your time and share so many details about Sol Cayo Coco with Travel Community. We are happy that you enjoyed our resort and every add value such as tours, shops, airport and transfers. We would like to encourage you to visit us again; we are doing some changes of our services and this definitely will makes better your saty.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I read alot of reviews and I am surprised to hear the negative experience people had at this Resort. All in all great place to stay and I have been to several locations in Cayo Coco. Resort was well kept, staff was very nice, rooms are rooms, basic but clean. Most of the staff would do what ever they could for you but the front desk seemed to always be busy to help. Food was great, lots of choices with 3 grilling stations for meat and fish, pasta and one for Chinese Food which was very good. They had a good choice of food on the buffet and a portion of it changed daily. My wife is a picky eater and there was even stuff for her to eat and hambugers and hotdogs for the kids. The resturant on the beach was great, had lbster and it was perfect. I found it to be a nice size resort without being over crowded. Allways a place to sit and relax. Lots of little events throughout the day and entertainment in the main area at night. The only complaint with that is sometime is got to loud and it was hard to keep a converstaion with the people you were talking too. I would go back and recomend this resort to other people.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello dear guest,
We will certainly be waiting for you. Thank you for your wonderful comments. If you would like to return with your friends, please send us an e-mail and we will coordinate your requests. As you did mention in your review you will always find excellent staff in Sol Cayo Coco. We would like to have the opportunity to meet your friends and offer them memorable experiences like the one you had here.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our first vacation at the Sol Cayo Coco and already are looking forward to returning next winter. It's a beautiful resort on the ocean with amazing gardens, interlocking pools, very friendly staff, excellent food, filtered water, white sand beaches....the list goes on and on. Our Oceanview room was large, simply furnished and immaculate. Two small shops provided anything you might need and the prices were very reasonable. My "happy place" was discovering that the lobby bar stayed open 24 hours and that I could get my fix of Cuban "coffee with milk" at 5:00 a.m. Terrific! This Sol has a small army of gardeners, cleaners, cooks, waitstaff, etc., that go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. The fantastic weather was icing on the cake!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you have trouble with stairs or have small children, you may want to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dee1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Hello,
We are very thankful to you for your comments. We hope this can be the first but not the last visit to Sol Cayo Coco. Don’t hesitate to emailing us with your requests and maybe you might be welcome with our “coffee with milk” too. Fulfilling all our guests’ expectations demands lots of efforts but it is always a pleasure to be at their disposal. As you’ve said, our 2 beautiful beaches and our staff are one of our greatest attractions; let us show you more than that.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We arrived after a 9 and a half hour flight to be told the hotel was overbooked!!! We were upgraded to a beach front apartment for two nights until another room could be found and were told if we decided we wanted to remain in the apartment we had to pay 45 cuban pesos a night....the room was okay, view was lovely but certainly not worth another £30 a night. There was a fridge in the room (empty)...if we wanted coke, water or beer we had to pay, and the same with the coffee maker (no coffee) this worked out about £3 a day for tea/coffee. You also have to pay for the safe in your room !

The maids did a good job of cleaning the room but the towels were absolutely awful. They were either threadbare (and I mean ripped with holes in) or stained...regardless what rating the hotel had...I don't feel this is acceptable. We never heard from reception staff so we assumed that they still didn't have a room for us....on checking out we weren't charged any extra for our upgrade :)

We knew before booking that there were only 3 restaurants in the evening. You have to queue at 3.30 in the afternoon to make a booking (one per week per restaurant)....the carribean restaurant was awful. They told us they only had 9.00 p.m. left. When we arrived, the restaurant was totally empty. Four couples arrived to be sat on the outer seating area...(not good when the hotel was full and they only allow four couples to book in. Food really not good at all..my husband asked for a chicken salad...what looked like a prawn cocktail arrived. My husband said he'd been brought the wrong starter to which he was told he hadn't. When my husband asked where the salad was he was told 'no salad'. This was given back as you genuinally couldn't tell what it was in the sauce but it definitely wasn't chicken. This restaurant is pretty good at lunchtimes, expecially sitting outside admiring the view along the breathtaking beach.

The other a la carte was lovely. Air conditioned and lovely food but again..you are told it's fully booked and there were literally six or seven tables not used whilst we were there eating...I'm not sure if this is because they are understaffed but it's not good when you've got such limited restaurant choice.

Admittedly the buffet restaurant is pretty good. There is plenty of choice but this does become a little bit repetative in the second week. Be warned there are lots of cats roaming in and around the buffet restaurant. Staff don't try to deter them from sitting waiting for food off guests. A couple of times we sat at tables and noticed cat pooh under the tables....gross and very off putting and a few times there were cat fights...pretty scary when they're doing it under the tables by your legs.

Make sure you try the burgers at the beach bar (Yoe makes the best burgers..).

My biggest gripe was that all the bars serve you in small (and I mean small) plastic cups. They do have glasses but I'm pretty sure that the waiters simply don't want the washing up that comes with the glasses. Also they don't stock proper coke/diet coke...they have a very cheap make which 99% of the time is extremely flat. Premium brands are available but there is a separate price list for them (5 cuban pesos for a bombay sapphire gin). The evenings do get a bit boring as the bit of entertainment that is put on is literally only on for about an hour.

Most of the loungers by the pool are taken by 7.30 ish....annoying when you note that some of these beds aren't occupied until lunch time !! Replacement towels for the pool is a bit hit and miss. Most days you were told to come back as the clean towels had not arrived so we had to make do a couple of times with the same towels. Lots of beds on the beach...and the beaches are amazing. Be warned none of the toilets round the pool or by the beach EVER have toilet paper !!! This really is basic things that are missing !!!

The sauna and jaccuzi were out of service...in fact it doesn't look like the jaccuzi has EVER worked ..it looks pretty derelict..again, not good when they advertise this in the brochures.

We went on the catamaran trip....this was amazing !! I wish we'd done it during our first week as we'd have repeated it. All your food and drink is included...lobster, prawns, chicken...and plenty of it !!! 2 stops for snorkelling and then a visit to Pilar beach (this is one of the prettiest beaches I have ever seen)..you can visit the beach on the double decker, open topped bus from your hotel(5 cuban pesos...return)..you can stop at the other Sol Guillermo hotel but we spent the whole day at the beach...pretty cheap to eat and drink at the restaurant on the beach!!!!

Most of the staff are lovely and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need (Meylin and Yanitza are soooooo lovely...and a bit crazy when they sing and dance)...Elvis in the evening ...so polite and helpful. Razia (buffet)...so very happy and friendly.

Be warned ...we were asked by a staff member if we could help him out...we originally thought he wanted us to change english money into cuban but quickly realised he wanted us to use the internet cafe to log onto his account..he would give us the english money and we would put credit on his mobile for the amount given....but then he would have our credit card details stored on his login. We were told by other holiday makers that several guests (all who were leaving within 2 days) had been asked the same favour.

In all we had a lovely, relaxing holiday but the hotel really does need some attention to detail. A new manager took over two days before we were leaving so hopefully future guests may notice an improvement.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank callywallyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
March 5th, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to express your valuable opinion on this World-known Forum. We have analyzed all the observations you made together with our management team. We are going to work on every area that can be improved. We have also passed your compliments to the members of staff you mentioned. Once again, thank you for all your comments. We are striving to achieve our main goal: our guest’s satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wine lover in cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

just returned from cayo coco.would thoroughly recomend it,great staff always willing to help nothing seemed to much trouble.Huge range of food lots cooked fresh.All drinks very good.The rooms were well appointed and very clean.Some of the best beaches you will find anywhere.Fantastic weather.Dont listen to all the wingers with their pathetic petty gripes.some people just cant be pleased.its great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pinkbubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,101 reviews
18.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Iberostar Cayo Coco
Iberostar Cayo Coco
#12 of 12 in Cayo Coco
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,621 reviews
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Melia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing