We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a great hotel check in was fast and easy room 2305 what a great room to be in right over the pool and beach views. The staff were great waitress service (lynette) was very good bringing drinks to your sun bed. reserved tables for breakfast dinner and tea from Eric. Food was good with a wide choice and most stations cooked while u waited so can't get fresher than that. The gardeners were helpful bringing the kids coconuts to drink round pool, rouldolf the bar waiter was brilliant on a night checking we were ok for drinks ever 20 mins and with a group of 18 friends we kept him busy. Oscar, ester jumpi, jordi, rudy and all the entertainment staff were brilliant always getting everyone involved and very friendly. All hard working people who deserve a medal putting up with 18 people demands daily for 2 weeks. Would just like to mention are Thomas cook rep hector what a guy always happy and smiling would try his best to do anything for u and very knowledgeable. The hotel manager were around doing there job greeting guest and making sure we were all happy even on an evening introducing them selfs and asking if everything was ok. Would recommend this hotel very very good

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigerlillyprawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for your visit and your positive review. It was a pleasure to attend you during your stay. I agree with you our staff is the main reason we have many repeaters every year.

Thanks for reminding me, hard work together with the staff to make our guests vacation an unforgettable experience and to make them feel at home.
We hope you will be one of them soon.

Best regards from Sol Cayo Coco.
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,868
    1,402
    563
    243
    152
See reviews for
1,285
1,738
135
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Heaven by any name. Visited 22-29 Mar 14. Our 5th visit to Cuba and next to the former Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos, this is our new favorite resort. A small resort with the beaches close to the lobby. A short walk to everything. Resort is getting a little long in the tooth, however staff keeps everything spotless.
We stayed in room 1430 with a perfect ocean view, over a soccer pitch that also had horses roaming around. Soccer pitch was only used twice the week we visited. Our cleaning lady
(Yaleisy) kept room clean and towels replaced without fail. Mini fridge also replenished daily, water, beer. etc. Beach towels are exchanged in your room nightly without fail in Superior Ocean View rooms.
Buffet - Was small with Cuban choices, salads, desserts etc, most food was prepared while you waited, resort was full and we waited 5 minutes at most, at any station which included, pasta, fish and meats, done to your wishes.
A la cartes - visited both, average food at best. However it is nice to have dinner in a more quiet atmosphere. Don Diego was best and the piano player was great, he took requests.
Beaches - The beach directly in front of the resort, has a bar and washrooms nearby. The local beach is called Playa Larga used by locals mostly on weekends,The Sol maintains Palapa's and a bar on this beach which is left of the main beach. Washrooms for this beach are located at the Snack Bar near the pool, a short distance away. Bar service is offered at your Palapa on both beaches. Beaches are cleaned of sea weed daily. Playa Larga is best for small children as it's very shallow for a long distance.
The staff at this resort are outstanding, all smiling and very helpful without exception. They right down to the gardeners speak passable english. Luis the manager never seems to leave, always visible and eats his meals with the troops. Special mention to Elvis in the Buffet and Henry in lobby area as well as Alberto on the Playa Larga beach.
Resort no longer has a bank however money can be exchanged at reception. A room safe will cost you 2 pesos per day. Lobby bar service is very good, waiters bring drinks to you so no line ups at the bar.
Luis - Only negative, lobby furniture has to be replaced, especially the cushions, they look very shabby indeed.
Would recommend this resort to anyone and certainly will be going back. Finally, please sit at the pool Snack Bar and look down towards the ocean, the view is stunning

Room Tip: Room 1430 perfect, top floor, end room, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gordroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dera customer,

Thank you very much for your nice and positive comments.

We always learned from our guests comments and yours won´t be an exemption.

I am glad that you found our service of a high standard and that you felt that our staff was always there for you.

I am taking note of your comments about the cushions and I promise we will change this week.

Kind regards from Sol Cayo Coco.

Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Me and my wife we had a great 2 weeks all inclusive at Sol Cayo Coco,

It was our second time in Cuba. First time was in Varadero.

To relax it is a great place as all Cayo Coco island is very quiet, very isolated comparing with Varadero.
The island is not pretty, but very wild and have great beaches.

In this resort we had access to 2 beaches very different. Be aware, we do not know if it normal but we had a lot of wind every day in our vacation so we used to go to the western beach where we could be protected from the wind and could enjoy better the wonderful water when you do not want to use the kayak/paddle boats or the flag is red in the Eastern beach.

About trips in the island, we recommend to take the 2 red deck bus that you have everyday and for 5 CAD y can stop and return whereever you want the same day. With this bus you can discover the island of Cayo Coco and also the island of Cayo Guilhermo where we enjoyed one day for free in another Sol hotel.

About the cleaning in the resort, we were very happy that everything was very clean even in the public washrooms and that was a first for us in Cuba. Because of that, we only recommend 4 star hotels in Cuba but important we mean 4 star from trip advisor, not what it is sometimes in marketing and does not represent the reality at least in Cuba from our first experience in Cuba before.

Staff was very friendly and educated as our first time in Cuba.

We used to see the general manager regularly checking that everything was well managed and that all his clients were happy in the resort.

We went to see almost everyday the evening show where the team was present with excellent performers/dancers. The coreografer was excellent when we saw the late Michael Jackson show. It was the best night show we saw there. Excellent, Michael Jackson would have been proud!

The food was excellent.

We really recommend this resort if you want to relax and not to think about daily hard work in your own country. We cut internet and smartphone during those 2 weeks that was our goal.

Enjoy the Sol Cayo Coco Hotel :-) :-)

Review from a married couple caucasian and black that leaves in the island of Richmond, in the beautiful British Columbia, CANADA

.

Room Tip: If we understood from the signs there are non smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marel123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We always learned from our guests comments and yours won´t be an exemption.

I am glad that you found our service of a high standard and that you felt that our staff was always there for you.

I am taking note of your comments and I promise we will give them the attention they required.

Kind regards from Sol Cayo Coco.
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is our first trip to Cayo Coco. We did a lot of research and came across Sol Cayo Coco. We were very impressed with all the positive reviews regarding the staff, service, location etc . We stayed at the Sol from April 7th - 14th and wish we could have remained at least another week.

Were do we start. Let's begin with Cayo Coco airport. It is a very clean and modern airport. It is located approx. 15 mins from the Sol. Upon arrival to the resort, we were greeted by friendly staff and refreshing drink. We arrived at 10:30am and were very impressed to find out our room was ready for us.
The resort itself is very clean and well kept. The layout is visitor friendly with all amenties within short walking distance. Our room was very clean and well kept. There was no smell of mold or mildew whatsoever. Our Oceanview was spectacular overlooking the entire stretch of Playa Larga.
The food at the Main Buffet was very good, there was a good selection of food, fish/meat grill, pasta station and stir fry station. The hamburgers are amazing by the pool grill. The Churros are an absolute must, made fresh upon request. The beach grill has a variety of foods to choose from their lunch menu. The Don Diego and The Beach Grill A La Cartes was well worth experiencing.
We were able to experience the beauty of both beaches, Sol beachfront as well as Playa Larga (lagoon) and mangrove. Pictures do not do them justice, each beach has its own amazing qualities, white sandy beaches, crystal clear water. We were pleasantly surprised that there were "no" beach vendors anywhere on either beach.
This resort is ranked a 4 star, however we found it to be a 5 star when it came to their staff. We were always greeted with a smile, they seem genuinely happy and helpful.
We would like to acknowledge the following staff /management that made our vacation as comforting and memorable as it was. We would like to begin with Luis (General Manager), he is always accessable and walking the grounds day and night greeting visitors. His kindness was overwhelming and will not go unforgotten. Henry (Front Desk), Juan (Front Desk), Omelio (Main Lobby Bar), Joicey (Main Lobby Bar), Luis (Main Lobby Bar), Duane "aka Tom Cruise of Cocktail (Lobby Hut Bar), Ixal (Churros Stand by the pool), Jaytil (Pool Grill), Pablo (Beach Bar), Disne (Main Buffet Fish/Meat Grill) and Yoleisy (Room Maid). Each and everyone of these individuals played a part in making our vacation an amazing experience. We would also like to thank all the remaining staff of which we do not have their names.
We would recommend this resort as it is a gem located in Paradise. We are looking forward to going back next year. Great memories and many new friends made at the Sol Cayo Coco.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1426 Oceanview.....Incredible view of playa larga.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mirella,

On behalf of all our staff at Sol Cayo Coco we appreciate your comments and suggestions to other readers about your stay with us. We want to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your vacations.
Thank you for your words about my work that gives me much encouragement, along with the staff which is the largest credit the Hotel we make every effort to ensure that guests have a memorable vacation.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer and we hope that after visiting other destinations you can return to our hotel.

Best regards,
Luis.
director.general.scc@melicuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a wonderful vacation at the Sol. It was great having the choice of two beaches, especially on a windy day since the public beach to the left never got too windy. The staff were truly amazing and friendly, the variety of food was excellent and the entertainment was very good. Our favourite part of the entertainment was that there was always live music in the evenings...in the lobby, at the pool bar, in the a la carte restaurants. There was usually even someone at the beach restaurant in the day time. I love hearing the local music of the country I am visiting. It adds to the pleasure of our vacation. We also LOVED our two singing waitresses at breakfast! They always had a smile on their faces and their service was top notch!
My only disappointment was the room that we were given on the night that we arrived. I decided to pay for an upgrade to a deluxe ocean view room when I booked since I didn't want the aggravation of having to move rooms. It was dark when we arrived so I couldn't really see the view. In the morning I was extremely disappointed. We could see a glimpse of the ocean just passed the road, a fence and trees. When booking, I saw a map of the hotel layout and we were definitely NOT in the deluxe ocean view part of the resort. When we asked for a room change, they accommodated us, no questions asked and were very pleasant. BUT, we had to pack up and store our luggage in a room behind the reception desk, come back at 2:00 when the room was available and unpack again. If we hadn't paid for the deluxe ocean view room, it would not have been a problem but because I paid over 300.00 for the upgrade, I was annoyed with the hassle of switching rooms!
However, the resort was wonderful, the staff were amazing, the beaches incredible and I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a reasonably priced vacation. Just make sure you are getting a deluxe ocean view room if you booked it!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kellywkellyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for all your nice comments and for recommending our hotel to other tripadvisor readers.

I am also glad to read that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you would definitely return to our hotel.

If that´s the case please do not hesitate to contact us in order to take personal care of your reservation and make sure you will receive all the ad values that as returning guest you are entitle to.

Sincerely,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We arrived for our 5th visit at Sol on march 27th 2014. We were greeted by many staff members and taken to a separate area to collect our room keys etc and enjoyed a lovely glass of champagne. Dianalees was very friendly as always and made us feel very welcome. We were assisted by staff with our heavy cases up to our room which was very helpful. Henry is always very willing to assist us and very friendly. We went straight to the pool bar where we were greeted by Orlando and the rest of the Dream team with our usual drinks and the animation team came and asked if there was anything we needed. Our room was lovely looking out on to the ocean. Our first room had a problem with the aircon but as soon as it was reported someone came to look within minutes. Unfortunatly it couldnt be fixed immediately so we were moved straight away to another room only a few doors down and just as nice. We were very pleased with the service. The food was better and more available although we would have liked the beach bbq to be available on the left beach. The hotel was clean and tidy as always. The disco was good but needed dancers and staff in there teaching dancing and getting everyone up and enjoying themselves. We used to enjoy our holidays alot more when staff were able to get involved. Poochy and Orlando, Junior and yoel are always very helpful. Paris, yaz, Rudy, Yordanis, Jordan, Yompe, Micheal, rene, are wonderful entertainment and very friendly. They make our holiday wonderful everytime we go back. Our holiday would not be the same without them. The dancers are fantastic. I have seen shows in other hotels but Sol always win. Elio, Pablo, Leo, Yudi, Yenny, and The new dancers are incredible and without them the shows would not be the same. We only wish they could join us for an hour or so at the disco. Bring back the discotech. They work incredibly hard and dont get the credibility they deserve. As for security the was two members of security we met who were wonderful. They regularly asked if we were ok and were always to hand if needed. Thanks to Alex and Ricardo for making us feel very safe in the hotel. Once again thank you all for making my 5th visit the best holiday ever and see you all in September. Love you all!! Christie Woods and Family xxxx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank solsnumba1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear customer,

I would like to express our appreciation to your nice words about your stay with us, but mostly about our staff. I will forward your review to Poochy, Orlando, Junior, Yoel, Pariz, Yaz, Rudy, Yordanis, Jordan, Yompe, Michael,Rene, our dancing team, it is always a pleasure for them to know that our guests recognize their job and efforts.

We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy your vacations with us, and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's my fifth time in Cuba, first time in this resort. I'd like to say I am very pleased, had a fantastic time and would definitely recommend. I would like to mention that I also completed a diving course whilst I was there at SSI, it's internationally recognised, diving centre allocated in Hotel Tryp Cayo Coco, instructors name is Osvaldo great guy. Like I already said, would definitely recommend! Lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Leon,

Thank you very much for all your nice comments and for recommending our hotel to other tripadvisor readers.

I am also glad to read that you had an enjoyable holiday and that you would definitely return to our hotel.

If that´s the case please do not hesitate to contact us in order to take personal care of your reservation and make sure you will receive all the ad values that as returning guest you are entitle to.

Sincerely,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,102 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,117 reviews
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing