We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15 friends = good time”
Review of Iberostar Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Mojito
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hola ! Just came back from Iberostar Mojito Cayo Coco Cuba . Went with 15 friends , most of us for the 11th. time and 15 times in Cuba . Our vacation started out on the wrong foot as our 9.00am. flight with Sunwing was rescheduled to 10.30pm. OK so we got taxi vouchers to go home and back and a voucher for a meal at the airport plus a $150.00 reduction on a next trip with Sunwing if taken within one year . Our tired group checked in at Mojito around 3.00pm. 15 minute ride from the airport .One person was at the reception desk and all was done quite fast . Most of us were given the rooms we had requested in the block ( block 21 ) requested and reservation for the 2 specialty restaurants . Rooms were very clean and a mini fridge had 2 soft drinks and a big bottle of water . There is a safe in your closet . The room has 2 king size beds . We all met every morning at 8.00 for ceasars or capuccino before breakfast . Breakfast is served at the buffet restaurant ( Los Portales ) which opens around 6.30am. They also serve lunch ( 12.30 ) and supper ( 7.00pm. ) . Good choice of food . Try the basa fish , SUPER . The 2 specialty restaurants are Gourmet and International , which is served at the same place , El Malecon . This is on the way to the beach . The snack bar , La Sirena ( next to the main pool ) is also good for lunch and is open 24hrs. The beach bar closes at 5.00pm. so does the pool bar .There is an adult pool , a cigar lounge ( closed ) medical service , Games at the beach , bocci etc , pool games , dancing lessons qua gym , and different pool games . Lobby bar closes at 1.00pm. and the disco is open from 11.00pm. to 2.00pm. A must see is Wilbur the bartender who juggles loquor bottles , great show . The main pool guy , Alexander , walks around making sure you don't run out of liquor . The night shows start at 9.30pm. and are very good with super dancers . Grounds are very clean . Hotel needs more restauration but it's better than it was before . There is a flea market on the right side ( highway ) of the hotel . A 10 minute walk will lead you to a yellow building . If you want seats reserved on the beach , tell the beach boy in advance . Some of our friends took the glass bottom boat ride and did some snorkeling . Others did the jeep and speed boat thing and just loved it . No more bank , which is a bummer when you need change . We could get some exchange at the lobby desk but only if you were lucky . There is a bank at the airport . You can walk on the beach for a long time , both sides of the hotel . No jellyfish . If you go , bring facecloths ( none in Cuba ) , bug spray in case , vinegar for jellyfish , in case , toilet paper ( not for your room ) . If you can , leave the bug spray to the night beach guards . A/C was good , no problem with toilet etc... The following is for Manager Santiago Ortiz . Bottom railing in block 21 is very loose . Someone will get hurt . LOCALS take advantage of your generosity . The invade the buffet restaurant , cut in front of tourists in the food lines , empty trays of food like bread , cheese , cold cuts etc... At the beach bar , some come from between the Tryp and Mojito hotel and get lots of beer without having a bracelet . Sorry but we pay to come here and don't need to see empty food trays at breakfast . You have a great staff and we love them but .....If anyone needs more info regarding this good hotel , e-mail us at sheilaboucher@sympatico.ca

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bremag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
You have made a very thorough review about the resort talking about almost every service and about the facilities as well. We have done some restauration since we started here, for instance, we made full renovation of the buffet, of the show area and some at the Malecón restaurant as well. The Mojito bar is new. Yes, we know we still need to do some more.
We do have face clothes, but on request.
Unfortunately, we have had some locals, who also pay, misbehaving in restaurants and bars and we have been taking measures to avoid this to happen again. For sure, we need to keep on searching the beach area where people from outside sneak sometimes.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,670)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Mojito
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 3,670 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned was there Sept. 7 to the 14th. $950 from Moncton, New Brunswick via Toronto.

Weather: never traveled this time of year before so was nervous, weather was great. Over cast one afternoon and sprinkled rain a couple of times. It was the calmest wind I ever experienced at the beach, lucky or normal?

Staff: Great staff with Dianne "Hey Miguel are you going to dance with me tonight?", Mandy, Miguel and Alexander making sure your mug was always full.

Entertainment: High energy shows, very good productions. I liked that the disco was open immediately after the show. Ran 11pm to 2am.

People: I would guess resort at 15 to 20% capacity. Still met great people like the Cape Breton ladies, quite a few people from Toronto area, 2 girls from Australia, the "Jersey Boys" and possibly the most beautiful looking girl on the planet from Ottawa.

Excursions: The Cave, 25 pesos which included drinks and live band. Catamaran, 80 pesos which took you to Palar? Beach, perhaps the nicest beach you will ever visit.

Beach: tides I never experienced south before, this beach was much better than the Tryp's since their beach literally disappeared. Very warm clear water and sand.

Rooms: On the run down side but clean. Lots of water pressure and hot.

Positive: Low season meant you got lots of attention, drinks, pool side shade and beach shade. Those would be tougher when full. 12 minutes to the airport, 20 to The Cave and 35 to Catamaran.

Didn't cover everything. Any questions I could answer email, ms03softail@gmail.com

Room Tip: Building 20 was near everything except the disco, good choice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear such good comments about our resort and staff. At the end your satisfaction is our main goal and if you are willing to come back then, much better.
We have a plan to start changing progressively all our rooms. We started by changing all bed covers and curtains which are completely new. Then we plan to work on furniture, decoration, new TV, etc. We have also been making emphasis in services areas, improving food, drinks, and entertainment show as well and yes, our beach is a nice one. In Cayo Coco, it is the best, no doubts.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

the one who complain have probably pay for a 3.5* and are expecting a 5* service. Hotel is clean (no stain on towels or bed sheets) had plenty too eat and tasty. long walk to the beach, so if you can not walk go somewhere else! mosquitoes when no wind so bring our repellent. staff is friendly and people too! 1 problem with an Italian woman who was disrespectful with everybody except herself! (cubain visitors were respectful so smile and people will talk with you.
I will go back for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suetreoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Your review was short but very meaningful and positive. Thank you for your words for the staff, as we said before they are our best asset. We keep on working on renovations and trying to have all our guests very satisfied. Yes, since we started here we have worked hard to make the food more varied and delicious since we know this has been an issue in Cuba all the time and it seems to be we are on the right way.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from the Iberostar Mojito on Saturday, Sept. 14. Overall experience was very good - people are super friendly and helpful; food was some of the best we have had in Cuba (have travelled approx. 9 times to Cuba); beach is beautiful; grounds are a work in progress - always trimming and tidying up; rooms are clean and sufficient - we were in Bldg. 20 - close to lobby, main buffet, pool; short walk to beach. Cigar Lounge - nice place to go for a before/after dinner drink. We did not try the a-la-cartes as the buffet was sufficient for us - always lots to choose from - we did not go hungry! Snack bar had a sufficient offering for lunches/snacks - the pizza is actually quite good; my husband enjoyed the chicken and hamburgers. Rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors do not have balconies; 1st floor there is a terrace. We were on 2nd floor and I did miss the balcony - however, certainly not a deal breaker! Ana at the front desk very helpful and pleasant. Alexander at the pool - great bartender - always there to bring you a drink!! All the wait staff very pleasant; did not encounter a language barrier - their English is quite good; knowing a bit of Spanish is always helpful too. The weather was actually very nice the week we were there; mostly sunny with a few clouds, no real amount of rain - all in all a very nice week. Would I go again - most certainly!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oscark5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
You are among the many guests who depart very happy from the hotel. Iberostar Company has started here with the compromise to make this resort one of the best in Cuba. We are working on many fields to continue with the improvements. As may have realized our staff is our best asset and this is a very good starting point. Yes, we agree with you. It would have been nicer to have balconies in all rooms on upper floor but this was let us say, a failure, from the architecture.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

horrendous resort very dirty rooms if you look well... after asking for clean pillows we were told they are all the same and that's it !!! it seems incredible that Iberostar has put their name on this dump.... food is cuban standard and weekends are like the zoo with locals... long walk to the beach that is there only if there is no high tide otherwise can't even put down a chair on the sand... (ok... maybe one line max but no place for kids to play)
Management pratically absent
please email if you need more details.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank elocin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We do not agree with your review, but at the same time we are glad that you expressed your feelings so that we can keep an eye on every service. We do not agree with you that rooms are dirty. This is a generalization, perhaps you found some issues in yours which we would have corrected should you had let us know while you were here. Very unfortunate piece of information from the person who told you all the pillows are the same. If they meant the same kind, perhaps, but not the same as dirty as one can infer from your words. This is non-common sense anyways.
Yes, when there is high tide the strip of sand gets quite narrow, but this happens in a short period of time. The sand is very thin, the water is transparent and the whole area is very clean.
There are very nice and very bad Cuban clients as from all nationalities.
Food and Beverage Manager, Chef and General Manager live in the hotel 24 hours a day 7 days a week. There is always a management member on guard duty from 5:00pm till 9a.m. next day and most of the management team available from 9:00a.m. to 5:00p.m. we walk the hotel up and down and are always accessible to talk to any client.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

this is my 14th time to cuba,3 times to holguin,2 times to varadero,1 time to santa maria and 8 times to cayo coco and as i am consired cayo coco is number 1.i travel by myself for the first time and all the staff was excellent at the main bar,buffet,snack bar and the ana at the reception desk was a caring and loving person and make my stay was enjoyable.they the cleaners kept the lobby and the bathrooms very clean and my room was at 1903 best palce not far from the lobby,main buffet and the 24 hour snack bar and the piazza were awesome,hands up to the guy who prepares and bakes them.you never go hungray there.the groundskeeper keeps everything neat and tidy.the small private is awesome and if your a beach person it is a far walk but that wasnt a problem for me considering i am not a beach person.the only thing there isnt a bank onsite,you have to change your money at the front desk and they dont fill your frig every other day,i was there 7 days and it was only done the day i arrive on the 31st of august.also no coffee makers in room.beds were very comfortable and pillows were awesome too.this is a good resort for someone travelling by them self easy to get around.15 minute walk to the flea market or you can take the train for 2 pescos and they even wait for you.i was there form the 31st of august to the 7th of sept 2013.

Room Tip: the 1900 block is good because its near the 2 pools and buffet restaurant and the lobby.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your holidays very much. We always work for your satisfaction. When you said the walk to the beach is a bit far you forgot to say, “but it is worthwhile” isn’t it. Not to boast but our beach is the best all around. Yes, our success is mostly due to our workers. They are really warm and professional and they have kept our reputation up since we started here as Iberostar. We still have a long way to go but we are working on renovations to make our resort even more beautiful.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just came back from Iberostar Mojito in May/June of this year and I must say this place is pretty good. It’s a smaller resort but the shows at night were Vegas like amazing and the food....awesome! Found that at night the mosquitoes had a hay day biting away, so good thing I brought my bug spray and applied it thick. This resort sits along a water river area where the mosquitoes flourish…there are staff walking around always spraying the facility to kill them off, don’t let this steer you away though…here is also a restaurant within the water as an a la cart but be weary because if you go to late the mosquitoes will get you here while you eat..drinks here are amazing especially by the pool bar in in the lobby, the nightclub is banging every night and good times were had here for sure made some great friends!! The walk to the beach is quite the walk though as the resort has bungalows on the water river spread out everywhere like bora bora, these bungalows were under renovation at the time I went so they were all vacant. You have to walk down a bridge to get to the beach which is absolutely beautiful. The beach is very small in width so there is not much room to sit especially since the beach lifeguards if you can even call them that, are always savings seats and cabanas for people in order to get some extra cash…at few times they even brought there families and the beach bar would bring over drinks for them and they would sit there all day like they were tourists its crazy! The hotel says that you cannot reserve chairs on the beach but this is no way enforced at all…if you don’t get out early and get a chair by the time 10:30-11am rolls around consider towels on every chair reserved and you out of luck..people do this early morning and don’t even show up till the afternoon, it’s a downer for sure and the lifeguards do nothing about it! This also happens around the pool as well btw so FYI! You will have to pay your way to get your way at this place in tips for sure! Regardless I pulled my weight around and had to be an [--] to get what I wanted for my spouse and I but hey…whatever lol. This resort is pretty good for a quiet getaway for sure if you get a great price. Rooms are cozy and well taken care of and there is even log type cabins you can get as well. I have never been to any other hotel in Cayo Coco as this was my first time. Overall I would say besides the issues a resort cant be perfect in every way there is always going to be something…this resort is pretty good…and as for the reputation Cuba has for its food, I’d say in all my years to Cuba which is about 10 now ant many resorts and the one time here at Cayo Coco, the food at this place tops it all by far. If you have a good crew of people with you or even a couple you’ll have a good time here for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJLAROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Yes, this is our rainy season and we have mosquitoes usually when it is a rainy day or when it is clouded and quiet (not windy). We spray a lot but it is impossible to eliminate them all. It is a pity some people book their chairs by the beach by placing a towel on it and never come back or come back many hours later. We do have a lot of chairs for everybody, what we do not have are shade places for everybody, we have increased them though and have tried to survey the beach area more often. Everywhere you go when you tip people appreciate it, what should not happen is that the service is based on tips and this is something we have in mind all the time. Generally speaking we have a very professional staff.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.9 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,136 reviews
18.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mojito

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: £75 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mojito 4*
Number of rooms: 690
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing