We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach too far for me”
Review of Iberostar Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Mojito
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beach too far for me”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Visited this resort week of Sept 14-21. I found the staff helpful, food was fine, grounds well kept, no problems with my room in block 20. However, that long walk across the lagoon boardwalk was just too far for me, and the beach bathrooms also too far away. This is the first resort in Cuba I have stayed at (been to Cuba 8 times) that has not had a beach grill as well as a bar. I travelled on my own and felt safe as usual. It was a little disconcerting to have the hotel grounds workers get into line first at the buffet at times; this was the first time I have seen this happen. Not that they shouldn't have lunch, but they cleaned out the seafood stew before the tourists got there. The adults-only pool was nice and quiet. I would wonder how this resort handles high season however, as the it was hard to get a chair at the beach after 10:00 a.m. The high tide made it almost impossible to walk by the chairs, but that is not the fault of the hotel of course. I did visit the spa down the road one afternoon, but while the massage was nice, I felt like the workers were waiting for me to finish near the end (was waiting on my mud bath to dry) so they could go home since I was the only one there in the afternoon. ALso, I did not find out about the new market until leaving for the airport; there were no advertisements about it at the hotel as far as I could see, and the Air Canada rep did not tell us about it. I would skip this resort next time, and I have never said this about a hotel in Cuba before.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Over60now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
There are a few points we would like to clear up. We do have a bar by the beach open every day from 10:00a.m. to 5:00p.m. It is true we do not have a grill there but by the pool. Our workers have a separate dining room for the three meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, so you may have seen other people, perhaps representative, but not our workers. Very exceptionally one of them can go at a certain time. The beach is a bit too far since you have to cross the lagoon. We have to say that when the golf car is not busy taking luggage of people arriving to their rooms, it can be used to move to the beach. We are increasing the shade by the beach. We have no problems with the chairs.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and it would be nice if you reconsider to come back to our resort. We would not spare efforts so that your next visit would be better than the previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    1,439
    571
    319
    209
See reviews for
953
1,369
122
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just got back from Iberostar Mojito ... Me and my Husband really enjoyed ourselves , since it is the low season it was really quite wich we really enjoyed , only 15 minutes from airport , check-in was really fast , safe in room wich is really easy to use , mini fridge wich they put 2 soft drinks every 2 days but big bottles of water they give everyday , had 2 king size beds ,service was excellent , food was really good ( For Cuba ) Drinks were really good also , we were in block # 18 wich was right next to Adult pool and next to Buffet area also , our room was clean and very big , we had a problem with the shower head told the front desk and was repaired within 15 minutes " AMAZING " The shows at night are very elaborate , Everybody at the hotel was very nice , there is a little souvenir shop " EL TEBENQUE " on the beach between the Mojito and the Tryp wich you must go see , the man's name is Osy he has great things for sale at great prices even better then the flee market , he can even personalize your'e gifts , you write on a piece of paper what you want him to write and he engraves it ... Leather -wood etc. no extra charge , and he has 3 puppys and a few kittens that he takes care of ♥ So if you have a few food scraps bring them to him he will be very happy , Well loved the Mojito will be returning for sure .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We are very happy to hear you fully enjoyed your stay and will be willing to see you back. We love what we do and giving our best service brings our clients back. We can only say that we keep on working on all spheres to become a better resort and the preferred in Cayo Coco and Cuba with the passing of time.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I spend few days in these place last month and we really enjoyed the hotel and the staff ,the food was okay for the price we paid,the activities team and shows were amazing ....I ll recommend the hotel to anyone and we ll go back again somtime..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Well, very short review but very nice. Our staff is here to make you enjoy your stay the best way possible.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal , canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hola ! Just came back from Iberostar Mojito Cayo Coco Cuba . Went with 15 friends , most of us for the 11th. time and 15 times in Cuba . Our vacation started out on the wrong foot as our 9.00am. flight with Sunwing was rescheduled to 10.30pm. OK so we got taxi vouchers to go home and back and a voucher for a meal at the airport plus a $150.00 reduction on a next trip with Sunwing if taken within one year . Our tired group checked in at Mojito around 3.00pm. 15 minute ride from the airport .One person was at the reception desk and all was done quite fast . Most of us were given the rooms we had requested in the block ( block 21 ) requested and reservation for the 2 specialty restaurants . Rooms were very clean and a mini fridge had 2 soft drinks and a big bottle of water . There is a safe in your closet . The room has 2 king size beds . We all met every morning at 8.00 for ceasars or capuccino before breakfast . Breakfast is served at the buffet restaurant ( Los Portales ) which opens around 6.30am. They also serve lunch ( 12.30 ) and supper ( 7.00pm. ) . Good choice of food . Try the basa fish , SUPER . The 2 specialty restaurants are Gourmet and International , which is served at the same place , El Malecon . This is on the way to the beach . The snack bar , La Sirena ( next to the main pool ) is also good for lunch and is open 24hrs. The beach bar closes at 5.00pm. so does the pool bar .There is an adult pool , a cigar lounge ( closed ) medical service , Games at the beach , bocci etc , pool games , dancing lessons qua gym , and different pool games . Lobby bar closes at 1.00pm. and the disco is open from 11.00pm. to 2.00pm. A must see is Wilbur the bartender who juggles loquor bottles , great show . The main pool guy , Alexander , walks around making sure you don't run out of liquor . The night shows start at 9.30pm. and are very good with super dancers . Grounds are very clean . Hotel needs more restauration but it's better than it was before . There is a flea market on the right side ( highway ) of the hotel . A 10 minute walk will lead you to a yellow building . If you want seats reserved on the beach , tell the beach boy in advance . Some of our friends took the glass bottom boat ride and did some snorkeling . Others did the jeep and speed boat thing and just loved it . No more bank , which is a bummer when you need change . We could get some exchange at the lobby desk but only if you were lucky . There is a bank at the airport . You can walk on the beach for a long time , both sides of the hotel . No jellyfish . If you go , bring facecloths ( none in Cuba ) , bug spray in case , vinegar for jellyfish , in case , toilet paper ( not for your room ) . If you can , leave the bug spray to the night beach guards . A/C was good , no problem with toilet etc... The following is for Manager Santiago Ortiz . Bottom railing in block 21 is very loose . Someone will get hurt . LOCALS take advantage of your generosity . The invade the buffet restaurant , cut in front of tourists in the food lines , empty trays of food like bread , cheese , cold cuts etc... At the beach bar , some come from between the Tryp and Mojito hotel and get lots of beer without having a bracelet . Sorry but we pay to come here and don't need to see empty food trays at breakfast . You have a great staff and we love them but .....If anyone needs more info regarding this good hotel , e-mail us at sheilaboucher@sympatico.ca

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bremag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
You have made a very thorough review about the resort talking about almost every service and about the facilities as well. We have done some restauration since we started here, for instance, we made full renovation of the buffet, of the show area and some at the Malecón restaurant as well. The Mojito bar is new. Yes, we know we still need to do some more.
We do have face clothes, but on request.
Unfortunately, we have had some locals, who also pay, misbehaving in restaurants and bars and we have been taking measures to avoid this to happen again. For sure, we need to keep on searching the beach area where people from outside sneak sometimes.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned was there Sept. 7 to the 14th. $950 from Moncton, New Brunswick via Toronto.

Weather: never traveled this time of year before so was nervous, weather was great. Over cast one afternoon and sprinkled rain a couple of times. It was the calmest wind I ever experienced at the beach, lucky or normal?

Staff: Great staff with Dianne "Hey Miguel are you going to dance with me tonight?", Mandy, Miguel and Alexander making sure your mug was always full.

Entertainment: High energy shows, very good productions. I liked that the disco was open immediately after the show. Ran 11pm to 2am.

People: I would guess resort at 15 to 20% capacity. Still met great people like the Cape Breton ladies, quite a few people from Toronto area, 2 girls from Australia, the "Jersey Boys" and possibly the most beautiful looking girl on the planet from Ottawa.

Excursions: The Cave, 25 pesos which included drinks and live band. Catamaran, 80 pesos which took you to Palar? Beach, perhaps the nicest beach you will ever visit.

Beach: tides I never experienced south before, this beach was much better than the Tryp's since their beach literally disappeared. Very warm clear water and sand.

Rooms: On the run down side but clean. Lots of water pressure and hot.

Positive: Low season meant you got lots of attention, drinks, pool side shade and beach shade. Those would be tougher when full. 12 minutes to the airport, 20 to The Cave and 35 to Catamaran.

Didn't cover everything. Any questions I could answer email, ms03softail@gmail.com

Room Tip: Building 20 was near everything except the disco, good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear such good comments about our resort and staff. At the end your satisfaction is our main goal and if you are willing to come back then, much better.
We have a plan to start changing progressively all our rooms. We started by changing all bed covers and curtains which are completely new. Then we plan to work on furniture, decoration, new TV, etc. We have also been making emphasis in services areas, improving food, drinks, and entertainment show as well and yes, our beach is a nice one. In Cayo Coco, it is the best, no doubts.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateauguay quebec
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

the one who complain have probably pay for a 3.5* and are expecting a 5* service. Hotel is clean (no stain on towels or bed sheets) had plenty too eat and tasty. long walk to the beach, so if you can not walk go somewhere else! mosquitoes when no wind so bring our repellent. staff is friendly and people too! 1 problem with an Italian woman who was disrespectful with everybody except herself! (cubain visitors were respectful so smile and people will talk with you.
I will go back for sure

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suetreoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Your review was short but very meaningful and positive. Thank you for your words for the staff, as we said before they are our best asset. We keep on working on renovations and trying to have all our guests very satisfied. Yes, since we started here we have worked hard to make the food more varied and delicious since we know this has been an issue in Cuba all the time and it seems to be we are on the right way.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from the Iberostar Mojito on Saturday, Sept. 14. Overall experience was very good - people are super friendly and helpful; food was some of the best we have had in Cuba (have travelled approx. 9 times to Cuba); beach is beautiful; grounds are a work in progress - always trimming and tidying up; rooms are clean and sufficient - we were in Bldg. 20 - close to lobby, main buffet, pool; short walk to beach. Cigar Lounge - nice place to go for a before/after dinner drink. We did not try the a-la-cartes as the buffet was sufficient for us - always lots to choose from - we did not go hungry! Snack bar had a sufficient offering for lunches/snacks - the pizza is actually quite good; my husband enjoyed the chicken and hamburgers. Rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors do not have balconies; 1st floor there is a terrace. We were on 2nd floor and I did miss the balcony - however, certainly not a deal breaker! Ana at the front desk very helpful and pleasant. Alexander at the pool - great bartender - always there to bring you a drink!! All the wait staff very pleasant; did not encounter a language barrier - their English is quite good; knowing a bit of Spanish is always helpful too. The weather was actually very nice the week we were there; mostly sunny with a few clouds, no real amount of rain - all in all a very nice week. Would I go again - most certainly!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oscark5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
You are among the many guests who depart very happy from the hotel. Iberostar Company has started here with the compromise to make this resort one of the best in Cuba. We are working on many fields to continue with the improvements. As may have realized our staff is our best asset and this is a very good starting point. Yes, we agree with you. It would have been nicer to have balconies in all rooms on upper floor but this was let us say, a failure, from the architecture.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.9 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
18.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,966 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,190 reviews
4.6 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mojito

Property: Iberostar Mojito
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mojito 4*
Number of rooms: 690
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing