We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but no balconies”
Review of Iberostar Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iberostar Mojito
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value but no balconies”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I returned about a week ago from two weeks at the Mojito. This was not the resort I booked but we were all transferred here. The resort is good value, the care shown for the guests was great. Cleanliness was evident everywhere as a priority with no mold to be seen. The rooms were large, even if a bit rough. My only disappointment was the lack of balconies. The beach was good but a bit far away for some although that did not bother me. The pools were very good but the limited shaded spots would be a problem in high season. The mosquitoes did prove to be a problem in the last few days and my bug spray did not seem to make a difference. My catamaran trip was great but pay attention to the very strong current. I traveled alone but met great people to spend time with while there. The pool bar with 24hr sandwich service was really appreciated in the wee small hours. Oh, the gym was one of the best I have run into. I really did enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We see you enjoyed your stay very much and that makes us happy. Yes, it would have been nicer if they would have built balconies from the very begging. To include them now is very difficult. We do spray for mosquitoes but it is impossible to eliminate them all, so we do advise you bring your bug spray. We do care for our guests since you are our reason to be.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and it would be nice to see you back to our resort. We would not spare efforts so that your next visit would be better than the previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    1,425
    564
    315
    206
See reviews for
940
1,357
121
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from this hotel on Monday/ Spent 1 week with husband and another couple. We found it to be very good value for what we paid. 665.00 pp for 1 week. The beach was a fair distance away but that's not that important for us. The food was decent but there could be more variety. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The shows and activites were very good and we enjoyed the nightly bingo games!!! The only downsides were as follows. Not enough public washrooms-too far apart from pool and beach. Tiles very slippery when wet-my husband took a spill. Also too much mould in the pools,they really need to scrub those tiles and grout.Also if you read earlier reviews-they mention that the toasters are working properly, well this is still the case-one toaster still not working while we were there. Had a good time, not sure if we would return.

Room Tip: we were in block 21-maid service was very good-thank you Daisy !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 553suebee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We see that generally speaking you enjoyed your stay. We do will take a look at the pool since we have never had problems with the pool. They are really in good conditions, but if you saw something we will look at it. We have public washrooms close to the beach by the pool and lobby, in the a la carte restaurant and at the Cigar bar; where else would we need another washroom? We will take a look at the toaster again. It is good to see the the positive and the negative points.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and it would be nice if you reconsider to come back to our resort. We would not spare efforts so that your next visit would be better than the previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Visited this resort week of Sept 14-21. I found the staff helpful, food was fine, grounds well kept, no problems with my room in block 20. However, that long walk across the lagoon boardwalk was just too far for me, and the beach bathrooms also too far away. This is the first resort in Cuba I have stayed at (been to Cuba 8 times) that has not had a beach grill as well as a bar. I travelled on my own and felt safe as usual. It was a little disconcerting to have the hotel grounds workers get into line first at the buffet at times; this was the first time I have seen this happen. Not that they shouldn't have lunch, but they cleaned out the seafood stew before the tourists got there. The adults-only pool was nice and quiet. I would wonder how this resort handles high season however, as the it was hard to get a chair at the beach after 10:00 a.m. The high tide made it almost impossible to walk by the chairs, but that is not the fault of the hotel of course. I did visit the spa down the road one afternoon, but while the massage was nice, I felt like the workers were waiting for me to finish near the end (was waiting on my mud bath to dry) so they could go home since I was the only one there in the afternoon. ALso, I did not find out about the new market until leaving for the airport; there were no advertisements about it at the hotel as far as I could see, and the Air Canada rep did not tell us about it. I would skip this resort next time, and I have never said this about a hotel in Cuba before.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Over60now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
There are a few points we would like to clear up. We do have a bar by the beach open every day from 10:00a.m. to 5:00p.m. It is true we do not have a grill there but by the pool. Our workers have a separate dining room for the three meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, so you may have seen other people, perhaps representative, but not our workers. Very exceptionally one of them can go at a certain time. The beach is a bit too far since you have to cross the lagoon. We have to say that when the golf car is not busy taking luggage of people arriving to their rooms, it can be used to move to the beach. We are increasing the shade by the beach. We have no problems with the chairs.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and it would be nice if you reconsider to come back to our resort. We would not spare efforts so that your next visit would be better than the previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just got back from Iberostar Mojito ... Me and my Husband really enjoyed ourselves , since it is the low season it was really quite wich we really enjoyed , only 15 minutes from airport , check-in was really fast , safe in room wich is really easy to use , mini fridge wich they put 2 soft drinks every 2 days but big bottles of water they give everyday , had 2 king size beds ,service was excellent , food was really good ( For Cuba ) Drinks were really good also , we were in block # 18 wich was right next to Adult pool and next to Buffet area also , our room was clean and very big , we had a problem with the shower head told the front desk and was repaired within 15 minutes " AMAZING " The shows at night are very elaborate , Everybody at the hotel was very nice , there is a little souvenir shop " EL TEBENQUE " on the beach between the Mojito and the Tryp wich you must go see , the man's name is Osy he has great things for sale at great prices even better then the flee market , he can even personalize your'e gifts , you write on a piece of paper what you want him to write and he engraves it ... Leather -wood etc. no extra charge , and he has 3 puppys and a few kittens that he takes care of ♥ So if you have a few food scraps bring them to him he will be very happy , Well loved the Mojito will be returning for sure .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We are very happy to hear you fully enjoyed your stay and will be willing to see you back. We love what we do and giving our best service brings our clients back. We can only say that we keep on working on all spheres to become a better resort and the preferred in Cayo Coco and Cuba with the passing of time.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I spend few days in these place last month and we really enjoyed the hotel and the staff ,the food was okay for the price we paid,the activities team and shows were amazing ....I ll recommend the hotel to anyone and we ll go back again somtime..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Well, very short review but very nice. Our staff is here to make you enjoy your stay the best way possible.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal , canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hola ! Just came back from Iberostar Mojito Cayo Coco Cuba . Went with 15 friends , most of us for the 11th. time and 15 times in Cuba . Our vacation started out on the wrong foot as our 9.00am. flight with Sunwing was rescheduled to 10.30pm. OK so we got taxi vouchers to go home and back and a voucher for a meal at the airport plus a $150.00 reduction on a next trip with Sunwing if taken within one year . Our tired group checked in at Mojito around 3.00pm. 15 minute ride from the airport .One person was at the reception desk and all was done quite fast . Most of us were given the rooms we had requested in the block ( block 21 ) requested and reservation for the 2 specialty restaurants . Rooms were very clean and a mini fridge had 2 soft drinks and a big bottle of water . There is a safe in your closet . The room has 2 king size beds . We all met every morning at 8.00 for ceasars or capuccino before breakfast . Breakfast is served at the buffet restaurant ( Los Portales ) which opens around 6.30am. They also serve lunch ( 12.30 ) and supper ( 7.00pm. ) . Good choice of food . Try the basa fish , SUPER . The 2 specialty restaurants are Gourmet and International , which is served at the same place , El Malecon . This is on the way to the beach . The snack bar , La Sirena ( next to the main pool ) is also good for lunch and is open 24hrs. The beach bar closes at 5.00pm. so does the pool bar .There is an adult pool , a cigar lounge ( closed ) medical service , Games at the beach , bocci etc , pool games , dancing lessons qua gym , and different pool games . Lobby bar closes at 1.00pm. and the disco is open from 11.00pm. to 2.00pm. A must see is Wilbur the bartender who juggles loquor bottles , great show . The main pool guy , Alexander , walks around making sure you don't run out of liquor . The night shows start at 9.30pm. and are very good with super dancers . Grounds are very clean . Hotel needs more restauration but it's better than it was before . There is a flea market on the right side ( highway ) of the hotel . A 10 minute walk will lead you to a yellow building . If you want seats reserved on the beach , tell the beach boy in advance . Some of our friends took the glass bottom boat ride and did some snorkeling . Others did the jeep and speed boat thing and just loved it . No more bank , which is a bummer when you need change . We could get some exchange at the lobby desk but only if you were lucky . There is a bank at the airport . You can walk on the beach for a long time , both sides of the hotel . No jellyfish . If you go , bring facecloths ( none in Cuba ) , bug spray in case , vinegar for jellyfish , in case , toilet paper ( not for your room ) . If you can , leave the bug spray to the night beach guards . A/C was good , no problem with toilet etc... The following is for Manager Santiago Ortiz . Bottom railing in block 21 is very loose . Someone will get hurt . LOCALS take advantage of your generosity . The invade the buffet restaurant , cut in front of tourists in the food lines , empty trays of food like bread , cheese , cold cuts etc... At the beach bar , some come from between the Tryp and Mojito hotel and get lots of beer without having a bracelet . Sorry but we pay to come here and don't need to see empty food trays at breakfast . You have a great staff and we love them but .....If anyone needs more info regarding this good hotel , e-mail us at sheilaboucher@sympatico.ca

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bremag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
You have made a very thorough review about the resort talking about almost every service and about the facilities as well. We have done some restauration since we started here, for instance, we made full renovation of the buffet, of the show area and some at the Malecón restaurant as well. The Mojito bar is new. Yes, we know we still need to do some more.
We do have face clothes, but on request.
Unfortunately, we have had some locals, who also pay, misbehaving in restaurants and bars and we have been taking measures to avoid this to happen again. For sure, we need to keep on searching the beach area where people from outside sneak sometimes.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned was there Sept. 7 to the 14th. $950 from Moncton, New Brunswick via Toronto.

Weather: never traveled this time of year before so was nervous, weather was great. Over cast one afternoon and sprinkled rain a couple of times. It was the calmest wind I ever experienced at the beach, lucky or normal?

Staff: Great staff with Dianne "Hey Miguel are you going to dance with me tonight?", Mandy, Miguel and Alexander making sure your mug was always full.

Entertainment: High energy shows, very good productions. I liked that the disco was open immediately after the show. Ran 11pm to 2am.

People: I would guess resort at 15 to 20% capacity. Still met great people like the Cape Breton ladies, quite a few people from Toronto area, 2 girls from Australia, the "Jersey Boys" and possibly the most beautiful looking girl on the planet from Ottawa.

Excursions: The Cave, 25 pesos which included drinks and live band. Catamaran, 80 pesos which took you to Palar? Beach, perhaps the nicest beach you will ever visit.

Beach: tides I never experienced south before, this beach was much better than the Tryp's since their beach literally disappeared. Very warm clear water and sand.

Rooms: On the run down side but clean. Lots of water pressure and hot.

Positive: Low season meant you got lots of attention, drinks, pool side shade and beach shade. Those would be tougher when full. 12 minutes to the airport, 20 to The Cave and 35 to Catamaran.

Didn't cover everything. Any questions I could answer email, ms03softail@gmail.com

Room Tip: Building 20 was near everything except the disco, good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear such good comments about our resort and staff. At the end your satisfaction is our main goal and if you are willing to come back then, much better.
We have a plan to start changing progressively all our rooms. We started by changing all bed covers and curtains which are completely new. Then we plan to work on furniture, decoration, new TV, etc. We have also been making emphasis in services areas, improving food, drinks, and entertainment show as well and yes, our beach is a nice one. In Cayo Coco, it is the best, no doubts.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
5.9 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,163 reviews
4.5 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mojito

Property: Iberostar Mojito
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mojito 4*
Number of rooms: 690
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing