We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit!”
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second Visit!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed from 7th to 21st May 2014.
Staff were as friendly and helpfull as ever.

Food was great with plenty of variety.

The quality of the musicians over there is very high from the Classical guitarist in the International Restaurant to the Jazz band in the Lobby Bar.The Dancers and the shows they put on were very good also. I also enjoyed the archery and the shooting competitions.
The rooms are not perfect but I believe they are refubishing them so all in all I would highly recommend the Melia Cayo Coco!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Loyal Customer,
We are so glad to read that your second time with us has also been an enjoyable experience.
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
We will certainly extend your very nice words to our staff.
I am very glad to know that you have encountered our food and services to a high standard and you were pleased with our offer.
With regards to your comment on standard of room, as we have previously stated here, renovations are constantly ongoing in our hotel, we have already finished in 2013 with our water bungalows to start with our standard accommodation as scheduled during 2014-15.
We are very proud of the quality of our musicians, dancers, and the rest of the entertaiment staff. The guitar player in International VIP Brekfast and the Jazz Band in the Lobby are awesome. Many clients send excellent opinions about their performances.
Thank you very much for all your compliments, and please, choose us again. We will be very glad to meet all your requests to make sure you have another positive experience in Cuba.

With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,225
    1,384
    362
    114
    77
See reviews for
546
4,249
108
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My partner and I haven't actually stayed here yet! Were booked to visit in August for our HONEYMOON and were really excited! Lovely pictures and good reviews! Looking forward to relaxing and having some quality time away from our hectic lives at home! See you in August!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidAGreenall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We will be delighted in providing you with a wonderful holiday experience, so please, contact us to look after your requests to make your stay in Meliá Cayo Coco one to remember.
Please use the email jefe.cac.mcc@meliacuba.com to coordinate all the details of your honeymoon as well.
We remain at your service.

With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the Melia Cayo Coco from 14th May - 28th May this was our 3rd visit in a year, and we had the most wonderful time. We stayed in a lagoon room which has everything you need. My husband likes to fish in the evening, i relax on the sunbed on balcony watching the beautiful sunsets. This hotel has amazing staff from the management , waiters, bar staff ,maids and gardeners, We have made plenty of special friends and they welcome you back like family Pool and beach brilliant, with plenty of shade and towel service by the pool. The food is excellent in the buffet and all a la carte restaurants. Entertainment great. That is why this is our NO 1 HOTEL what more can i say !!FANTASTIC!! we will be back. .

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RITA135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Loyal Customer,
What a fantastic review! I have so much enjoyed reading all your comments on your recent stay in our hotel.
Thank you very much for reviewing your positive experiences on this site.
We are so proud to read the comments from such an experienced traveler, and a third timer with us. We are very glad to know we have been up to your expectations again.
We will certainly share your very nice words with the staff.
We are working hard, and so we will, for our mainly goal is your satisfaction and it takes a lot of extra efforts and commitment.
We are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future so please, drop us a note with your requests, as we will be delighted in looking after them.

With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a wonderful place, we had a thoroughly wonderful holiday at this hotel with our friends. The food, ambiance, staff, are all the best BUT most of all as a Disabled person in a wheelchair it is JUST FANTASTIC. The pool is accessible the room was the best I have had in a long time Walk in shower, clean comfortable & a pleasure to be in Loved Loved Loved it. The staff in the dining room were so helpful & the entertainment staff are just wonderful.

Room Tip: all the rooms looked good to us, & they are renewing the furnishings so will look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Customer,
I am so glad to read such a fantastic review!
We always take good care of all our clients. You can be sure your special needs will be always well attended.
I fully agree with you. We receive many good opinions from our clients for the food, ambiance and our staff.
Yes, we are working hard, and so we will, for our mainly goal is your satisfaction and it takes a lot of extra efforts and commitment.
Please, stay well and come back again.
Receiving such special customers like yourselves would always be a tremendous pleasure for us at Meliá Cayo Coco.

With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hubby and I have just returned after 2 weeks at the Melia Cayo Coco. We got off to a really sorry start - we were initially given room 6121 - this room is very dated - in need of a complete makeover - the taps and all stainless fittings in the bathroom are coroded and need replacing, the paint work is flaking, bedding stained, walls stained, the whole room is dark and tired - not at all a 5* room - more like 2*. We asked to be moved - and were given the key to room 9711 which we were keenly told is a better room and nearer the amenities - Nope - exactly the same as room 6121 but a stinky horrible smoking room, with loads of fag ends on and around the patio area (this was also laid with cracked and chipped tiles)...the curtains ponged..Not happy..back to reception where we were told that was the only room available for that night and that we might have a chance of a change the following day...Not good enough Melia...in the end the only way to get an acceptable room was to pay to 'upgrade' to the Lagoon rooms. $490.00 pesos lighter and we were in room 3111. This room did have issues - stained mattress, tempramental A/C and a lock on the patio door that is hanging off..but by now I had given up..and put up with it..The Lagoon does at certain areas does have a horrible poopy pong....I get the feelling that if you are a regular and return year after year you get preferential treatment - we all pay the same - this does sway your decision about whether to return or not.
Moving on tho'.......The food in the Buffet restaurant is very good - the Italian is Ok, the International was nice, the Caribbean is not worth making a booking for in my opinion - very bland and uninteresting - we actually saw people leave and go and eat in the Buffet.
Lots of Sunbeds around the pool, even ones in the shade - the pool on occasion did look a bit cloudy and in need of a clean - there are tiny little yellow crabs in the bottom of the pool so be careful where you put your feet. I would've liked a swim up pool bar - there is a 'Pool Bar' but this is by the pool - with a seating area outside and seats and tables inside for snacks. The staff at this bar are very friendly - Jordan was very friendly and efficient, as was Joel and the others. The beach bar is a nice cool retreat with a breeze blowing through most of the time..the only let down was the barman - he just gave the impression he couldnt be bothered, disappeared frequently - was not at all friendly..hey ho...The beach was lovely - again masses of sunbeds available - some Palapas covered, some partially covered, others not... the sandy beach is not very wide, but this is nice because you dont have far to walk to cool off..the beach is cleaned of the weed every morning...you can walk safely along the beach - to the right as you come out about 10mins walk is a Lobster shack selling freshly bbq'd lobster - $15cuc and $2cuc for a beer so not expensive...The entertainment team are really enthusiastic - Emielady is a real asset to the hotel - she ooses personality and works really hard along with the others - if you want to do stuff during the day you can - if you don't want to they don't push..we did a painting, played bingo twice, and had a rum tasting session - and that was it...we only went to one evening show and that was very well done - but not our thing..The bar in the lobby area is where we spent most evenings - local cuban singers - some of the waiters were good and attentive others weren't - it does boil down to tipping I'm afraid - be prepared to tip to get service and not the other way round tipping after good service...take mozzie spray - you will need it - the hotel does spray the vegetation and a bi-plane flies over the lagoon area spraying occasionally..Wi-Fi $4.50 pesos an hour but hit and miss where you get it - stay in the lobby..
Hubby and I have thought about this, and although the food is good - the hotel is dated and in need of a bit of a refurb in places, and if you dont do any of the trips you could in all honesty be sat on any nice beach..and I dont think we will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised room..at the time of writing this avoid room 6121 and 9711 if you are a non smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NavyBoyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Dear NavyBoyMum,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on our hotel. We have carefully revised the matters you make reference to in your review and you can rest assure that actions have been taken to rectify wrong doing.
We hope this negative experience does not deter you from staying with us again in the future, when we will be striving in providing you with improved services.
Looking forward to seeing you again in Meliá Cayo Coco,
Francisco Silva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A wonderful 10 days at this resort hotel - food staff service ambiance facilities and location were all stunning superb, I am running low on superlatives! All I can say is "hasta luego".
We adored our time with you, thank you for making us feel so special and welcome, especially the lovely room maids - muchos gracias x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NessMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Nessmill,
I am so glad to know you were very much impressed with our facilities and services. Thank you very much for your wonderful review and all your compliments. I have had the pleasure of sharing all your remarks with my team who constantly strive on provide you with great memories during your time with us. We hope to see you again in the future so please, email us your preferences for us to look after your next time in Meliá Cayo Coco with pleasure.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just got back from the Melia Cayo Coco today; we have had another fantastic time. We were upgraded to a lagoon room and had no trouble with any part of it; there was no odour from the lagoon while we were in the room or on the balcony but a just slight one when walking over the paths to the room….this wasn't overpowering, just a mild odour. The lagoon isn't stagnant as it is salt water and full of fish.

Once again I have to say it is the staff that really make’s the Melia Cayo Coco, we were welcomed like visiting family members, this is our second home and we hope to return later in the year.

We didn't do any trips as we have done most of them on previous visits, so we just alternated between the beach and pool area and had a really chill relaxing holiday, we tried all the themed restaurants again but preferred the Italian and the international. Unfortunately this time we didn't like the meal provided at the beach restaurant….there was nothing wrong with it, it looked ok and was cooked properly, we just didn't like the taste.

For the first time to Cuba my wife needed the attention of a doctor, she got bitten and her whole lower arm swelled up, the doctor here was superb; she gave my wife an intravenous injection and a course of tablets. It came to 96pesos…around £50 and it was worth every penny, my wife's arm was fine within 48hrs.

To conclude we both love this place and the staff and will definitely return, plus Maria the Thomas Cook rep is a jem.

Gerry & Ann.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GardnerJoe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear GardnerJoe55,
We are so glad to read we are considered your second home! Thank you very much for all your contributions by so generously commenting on your most recent stay with us. You can rest assure we have shared all your remarks with the staff; we know they make the difference with their outstanding service. We are already looking forward to pampering you again at the Meliá Cayo Coco so please, go ahead and make your booking, we will be delighted in serving you.
With warmest regards,

Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
6.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,121 reviews
19.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,188 reviews
5.3 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing